Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
stars
915 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 221 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Prashanth

Aug 01, 2018

I wish there was a text book we could refer to. Also I wish there were more concepts from real world architectures as well :)This course is already great though

By Ted T

Aug 10, 2016

The best open course topic I have ever seen. It's very helpful for career development to go into the technical details of all modern cloud technology trend!!!

By Rodrigo M

Apr 14, 2018

I'm really enjoying this course. The topics discussed by professor are interesting and build the base to understand many current systems we use nowadays.

By Aditya K

Jun 09, 2018

Liked the course very much. Only suggestion is if the speaker could speak a little slower. This will allow the listener to think alongside.

By Anakot K R

Dec 24, 2017

Enjoyed the course. Brought back my ability to program in c++. The programming assignment was sufficiently challenging to achieve that.

By Saket B

May 22, 2020

Content wise course is great but it would have been even better if the assignment used latest c++ aur some other language like python

By Lee F

Feb 08, 2019

This is one of the best internals courses I have taken. If you want to understand the cloud at the protocol level, take this course!

By Shambhu R

Aug 08, 2016

Professor Indranil Gupta is apt in his explanations.

Course Material is highly relevant. Good foundation course for cloud computing.

By Animesh P

Jun 23, 2020

Amazing Course. Assignments are tough. The Programming Assignment is challenging, especially if you are new to C++. Enjoyed it.

By Pradeep K T

Dec 06, 2016

Great course giving very good basics. The questions were also challenging and ensured that we go through the content in earnest

By Kartik M

May 29, 2020

It was a challenging but interesting course overall!! Recommended for anyone who wants to dive in theory of Cloud Computing!!

By Shehenaz S

Mar 26, 2019

Good details on concepts. Revised it multiple times. Crash course on distributed systems. Thank you for offering, Professor.

By Jacek K

Feb 07, 2017

This course was fantastic! I really appreciate taking part in it! It also was a good remainder of C++ pointer arithemtic.

By Srinivas K

Dec 01, 2016

Excellent Faculty, Clear and concise. The material covered is current and concepts are illustrated with clear examples.

By Swapna I

Jun 26, 2017

Engaging hands on course. Wish there was a specialization catered to the real world out there for Distributed Systems.

By Sherin T G

Aug 17, 2019

This course is well structured and the assignments and questions are challenging enough to master the concepts

By Srinath D

Aug 31, 2018

Exceptional Course - well worth the effort! I come back to the course everytime I need a refresher.

Thank you.

By Do H L

May 20, 2016

Thank you for starting this exceptional course and the advanced specialization in cloud computing again.

By Shyam S

May 06, 2019

It really taught me a lot. Must take if you really want to know how big data technologies really work.

By Tarun S

Sep 08, 2016

I wanted to understand what "Distributed systems" are all about, this course is the best resource IMO.

By Radhika R

Jan 26, 2017

Excellent course material, the coverage, and the articulation. You can reduce the pace a little bit.

By Maxim D

Aug 12, 2016

This course is a wonderful introduction to distributed and cloud computing. Definitely go for it.

By Prabhu

Dec 13, 2018

The best course I've done through MOOC technology, Subject has been treated with great detail.

By Xiaoli C

Apr 16, 2018

I like this class, although the last homework and the final project need to be refined.

By Liu X

Nov 27, 2018

Although the course is difficult, you can benefit from doing your homework yourself.