Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
835 ratings
201 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

DP

Oct 07, 2016

This instructor is fantastic. He is exceptionally thorough and his delivery is very good as well. This is a course definitely worth taking if you are interested in learning more about the cloud.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 194 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Shengwu Y

Apr 28, 2018

Materials are long and the cause content is very rich. Chandy Lamport is nightmare...

By Thibaut C

May 28, 2017

Really good, however having to write the assignment in c++ is a downer.

By Derek Z

Apr 08, 2018

Very very tough class. The notes are very intensive for each lecture.

By Jerry Z

Jun 27, 2016

It's a great course, but the assignments are kind of annoying.

By Arseni L

Jan 01, 2020

Course is great, but some lectures feel slightly outdated

By shivam p

Sep 10, 2017

This is by far the best course i have seen in courseera

By Xiangzhen S

Oct 19, 2016

Very difficult programming assignment if not an expert.

By Xiuyu H

Dec 27, 2019

Nice quiz and assignment! Interesting teacher :)

By kim g

Feb 21, 2019

Covered the basics of cloud computing very well.

By Suresh V

Apr 24, 2019

To the point videos and very good assignments.

By Shyam S N

Dec 23, 2016

Good introduction to the concepts.

By nikhil n

Nov 09, 2016

Nice Course with Nice Tasks.

By Weidong X

Sep 08, 2019

Great course.

By Nguyen Q L

May 23, 2019

Good Course !

By THOMAS V

Jan 14, 2019

Comprehensive

By Patrick S

Jun 04, 2017

High quality lectures are brought down by a terrible programming assignment and unresponsiveness by staff regarding the assignment.

The professor has very good step-by-step explanations of the algorithms as well as detailed notes. Although it may seem abstract or unrelated, the content is very relevant to the state of cloud computing.

...now to the assignment... The assignment has unclear instructions, a bad C++ (not 11) code template that can even prevent you from running the code due to hard-coded buffer sizes and not actually using sizeof() properly, and a lot of the ugly code is in regions you are not allowed to modify. Expect to spend more time ( > 3x as much) trying to figure out the template than actually trying to apply the concepts of the course.

By Nandhini

Jul 08, 2017

The course was very interesting and the assignment was good.

I had trouble submitting the assignment though I finished it a month back. The submission was tougher than the assignment and the course itself. I have only windows OS, and the assignment materials are for Linux and Mac users. I had to use Cygwin to compile and run grader script. Submission didn't work from cygwin. I would have rated this course 5 if not for the trouble that I encountered for submitting the assignment.

By Rachana N A

Dec 03, 2016

The concepts are explained very well. The only issue was the Programming assignment, which could have been more descriptive. Also, they could've given us the option of choosing a programming language.

By Tao Z

Feb 26, 2017

The course contents are composed of some superficial concepts of cloud computing. And the code framework for programing assignment written in c++ is probably the worst kind of code I've ever seen.

By Bingqing M

Sep 24, 2018

I do like the material and lectures but the huge problem is there is no TA or platform like Piazza to ask questions. I think it would be nice to just have a TA or advisor to answer questions

By Ben N

Jul 08, 2018

This is not about cloud computing but distributed systems. Feels like a bait and switch. This is not what I was looking to learn (because I've already done that!)

By Darko C

Sep 15, 2019

Homeworks are too much work, Proving that you know concepts should be done few times, not 5 times for each one.

By Aman S

Jul 06, 2018

Nice overview of all the cloud concepts but lags in difficulty level for beginners

By Raul K

Dec 08, 2017

It is alright. I was expecting some higher quality though. I do not recommend it.

By mogahed m k y

Mar 22, 2020

I don't have more time to study but it will be in future