Chevron Left
Back to Reliable Google Cloud Infrastructure: Design and Process

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Reliable Google Cloud Infrastructure: Design and Process by Google Cloud

4.7
stars
5,363 ratings
558 reviews

About the Course

This course equips students to build highly reliable and efficient solutions on Google Cloud using proven design patterns. It is a continuation of the Architecting with Google Compute Engine or Architecting with Google Kubernetes Engine courses and assumes hands-on experience with the technologies covered in either of those courses. Through a combination of presentations, design activities, and hands-on labs, participants learn to define and balance business and technical requirements to design Google Cloud deployments that are highly reliable, highly available, secure, and cost-effective. This course teaches participants the following skills: ● Apply a tool set of questions, techniques, and design considerations ● Define application requirements and express them objectively as KPIs, SLOs and SLIs ● Decompose application requirements to find the right microservice boundaries ● Leverage Google Cloud developer tools to set up modern, automated deployment pipelines ● Choose the appropriate Cloud Storage services based on application requirements ● Architect cloud and hybrid networks ● Implement reliable, scalable, resilient applications balancing key performance metrics with cost ● Choose the right Google Cloud deployment services for your applications ● Secure cloud applications, data, and infrastructure ● Monitor service level objectives and costs using Google Cloud tools Prerequisites ● Completion of prior courses in the Architecting with Google Cloud Platform Specialization, Architecting with Google Kubernetes Engine or have equivalent experience ● Basic proficiency with command-line tools and Linux operating system environments ● Systems Operations experience including deploying and managing applications, either on-premises or in a public cloud environment New! CERTIFICATE COMPLETION CHALLENGE to unlock benefits from Coursera and Google Cloud Enroll and complete Cloud Engineering with Google Cloud or Cloud Architecture with Google Cloud Professional Certificate or Data Engineering with Google Cloud Professional Certificate before November 8, 2020 to receive the following benefits; => Google Cloud t-shirt, for the first 1,000 eligible learners to complete. While supplies last. > Exclusive access to Big => Interview ($950 value) and career coaching => 30 days free access to Qwiklabs ($50 value) to earn Google Cloud recognized skill badges by completing challenge quests...

Top reviews

MB

Sep 11, 2020

Thanks Phillip! Excellent feed back after practice, always show new way how!\n\nReally good material, is a real open door for a Google concepts! Is a way to start to thinking in Google Cloud Architect

RI

Aug 28, 2019

It was a wonderful course were I got to understand principles involved in business logic, determining youreaSLA, SLI and SLO and so many other design principles relevant for an end product scale.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 555 Reviews for Reliable Google Cloud Infrastructure: Design and Process

By S. D

Jul 26, 2019

I've finished it, yet coursera keeps demanding that I finish the "Intro to Qwiklabs", which was covered 5 courses ago. Yet I did that anyway. Twice. Yet still marked as incomplete. Coursera receives and 'F' on this course.

By Roberto

Oct 07, 2019

Boring

By Gabriele P

Aug 08, 2018

I have found this course a real mess! It looks like a collage of several courses, so that subjects are not explained straightforwardly. Moreover, the instructor Jason Baker speaks too fast, moves too often back and forth through the slides, digresses too often from the main subject, so that it is not easy to follow him. Instead, I would strongly suggest you to use non-native American speakers, such as Philip Maier.

By balkrishna

Sep 28, 2019

Presentation is not good it seems like they were just reading ppts

By Peter S

Nov 27, 2018

Very interesting course. Helped me a lot to understand how to build reliable architectures.

By Kannan A

Jul 29, 2019

One of the best courses, in fact the best course I've ever taken. Absolute gem of a course, top class materials. I learned so much about how to architect your infrastructure, designing, backup, recovery, capacity planning etc. It's a shame that I had to rush through the course as I reached the end of billing cycle, I'll definitely purchase this individual course and slowly go through each video to properly understand it. This course set the bar so high like google does.

By Hardik A P

Apr 15, 2018

Even if you don't want to focus on google cloud, this course explains overall best cloud design practices and process very well and in depth. Along with lectures, actual application example takes us from monolithic single process to full micro-services based architecture. Very good course for cloud infra design and architecture.

By R. P

Mar 20, 2020

need to add templates for designing SLO and SLAs. I know you want students to use their brains and create their own. however, I am working with real customers and you have the chance to set a standard approach with new Designers. You have the chance to let users grow toward best practices. a template or workbook would be the best thing to drive excellences and continued study. I hope to create a database of Cloud Design Partners to structure my learnings over the next 5 years. it would be great if you had one to provide for your students.

By Mohamed A C

Apr 11, 2020

Excellent course, very in depth, it really drives home the importance and the spirit of the design part of cloud architecting .

It teaches the best practices to use to garantie SRE.

One small downside, if you're taking the Cloud Architecture with Google Cloud professional certificate, this course may seem a bit more complicated than the previous courses, and a bit older, it's around august 2017 i think.

I also really miss the lab walkthrough and the grading system in labs.

By Ruthuparna K

Oct 13, 2019

I enjoyed the course so much. It was very practical oriented and focused on real world problems. The instructor covers cloud application design concepts and best practices very well. It was the perfect course to do at the end of the architecting with google cloud platform specialization, as it bundles together everything that have learnt so far and provides a platform to use the technology in practice.

By Juan S

Jan 02, 2020

The labs on this course are extremely helpful to understand the content covered in previous courses. In addition, the thumbnail application example allows students to see how different solutions in GCP can solve a single issue. It was interesting to see the different solutions proposed to some of the challenges by other students in the discussion forums.

By Gunjan M

Jun 07, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. I am working in DevOps since last couple of years on Azure and Openstack environments. This course give me a very good understanding about Google cloud. Labs are quiz are very good, some are really very tough which will really check your knowledge.

By Varun R G

Jul 24, 2020

This is one of the best courses in the ACE Specialization. It combines and revises the topics from all the previous courses, and sums it up in a very good way. It also adds additional topics that weren't covered and wraps this all in a fun, practical and hands-on workshop.

By Antony J

Sep 14, 2020

A really enjoyable conclusion to the "Architecting with Google Compute Engine" specialization. I get the most value out of the practical labs hosted by Qwiklabs, and I would like to thank Philipp Maier in particular for his consistently excellent and clear instruction.

By Muthyala C R

Dec 26, 2018

This is the most amazing course in specialization and also most important. This course simplifies the design process in GCP and can be applicable in other domains as well. It is a great stepping stone for developing scalable apps from ideation to production.

Excited!!

By Rohit A

Mar 14, 2019

This course taught the importance of Good design and resilient architecture. The approach take to gradually improve the logs application through the course was amazing. It really helped to know what kind of improvements one can do while working on the design. Kudos!

By Rohith K R

Jul 12, 2020

This is the Best course of the entire specialization where we are not just taught the concepts of cloud computing, but actually giving us insights on how to analyze a task and a client need and give custom solution based on it and all... This is a Perfect thing.

By Kenny C

May 16, 2018

This is my favorite course in the Architecting with Google Cloud Platform Specialization because it's the most relevant, consistent and structured course among all 6 courses. The info, TOI and knowledge embedded thru out this course are great.

By Pritish U

Jul 22, 2020

Course is beautifully designed, specially the worksheet for the course is very useful to design the reliable Google cloud Infrastructure. The monitoring and Alert check labs are useful to understand the how monitoring works in the GCP.

By Olaleye O

Jul 31, 2018

Very detailed training materials. A comprehensive design principles that one can adopt for full production environment. This training completely answered all my architectural design questions and it improved me deployments strategies

By Michal K

Jan 04, 2018

This course is the most valuable part of specialisation. Prior courses are rather prerequisite components description. I enjoyed this one the most. It was practical and had expected level of difficulty, that could still be higher.

By Julio C A E

Sep 16, 2019

Fue muy interesante, revisamos muchos posibles escenarios de la vida real y aplicamos diversas soluciones de la plataforma, ahora tenemos una idea mucho más clara de como utilizar las herramientas de GCP en nuestros proyectos.

By Dennis v d P

Jul 05, 2018

Good pace, a lot of topics covered but in a good structure, also by relating it to an example application. I especially enjoyed the enthusiasm and wittiness of Jason Baker, making the video lectures entertaining and pleasant.

By Chris R

Jun 07, 2018

This is a very fast paced course covering all much of the SRE concepts and is a perfect follow on for the other 5 courses in the architecture series. This consumed a lot of my time in the two week period, but worth the work.

By Jonathan H

Apr 05, 2020

Great course to make you think and integrate all of the learnings to date in the architecture track. This class makes me think as a cloud architect that I need to also take the developer track to really get my skills down.