Chevron Left
Back to Collaborative Robot Safety: Design & Deployment

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Collaborative Robot Safety: Design & Deployment by University at Buffalo

4.7
stars
182 ratings
59 reviews

About the Course

As robots evolve and increasingly interact with humans, enhancing the safety of personnel working with these “collaborative robots” (cobots) is vital. This course equips you to assess the safety of a collaborative robot workcell and prevent the chances of injury or harm. It imparts industry-endorsed safety standards, technical report recommendations and best practices from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), Robotic Industries Association (RIA) and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Learners are introduced to similarities and differences between traditional robots, cobots and conventional machinery before delving into risk assessments, causes of robot accidents and collaborative applications. Material also includes key design techniques for reducing collision forces and a methodology for safety testing. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises. To learn more, please watch the overview video by copying and pasting the following link into your web browser: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-NU710WjM0....

Top reviews

MK
Nov 10, 2020

excellent course , and this course really enhance my knowledge and give me new area for deeply study of cobots . I thank full to all professors and his team . regards

VP
Jun 11, 2020

It was an excellent knowledge gathering exercise. The course was well structured and there is good level of guidance for learning and implementation in the course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 59 Reviews for Collaborative Robot Safety: Design & Deployment

By Marcio S M

Jun 11, 2019

Great course, highly recommend!

By Mustafa N

Oct 5, 2020

everybody should take this

By SAMYUKTHA S

Jul 21, 2020

I REALLY ENJOYED IT

By Ram P P

Jan 10, 2021

Very informative.

By Surya P M

May 4, 2020

Best Experience

By Steveen D B M

Sep 22, 2020

Great course

By MIHIR R J

Jul 31, 2020

Nice Course

By Anand R

Aug 10, 2020

Nice one..

By Flt L G R

Jul 16, 2020

THANKS...

By Cherian j k

May 20, 2020

Excellent

By Alan W

Oct 6, 2020

Awesome

By YASH N S

May 12, 2020

COBOTS

By Pratim M

Jul 26, 2020

good

By Omkar . P

Jul 9, 2020

Good

By HANUMANTE J

Jun 1, 2020

Good

By Arina L

Jan 21, 2021

I have successfully reached the course's objectives. Thank you for the valulable material. Mr Carlisle and Mr Garman share their invaluable expertise. I feel more confident now about designing collaborative robot applications and performing the risk assessment.

This course can profit from a better lesson structure. At some points it jumps from one topic to another without a good connection. All formulas and diagrams should be presented in the videos. For example, the forward reflected inertia is a complex concept indeed, and only few of the students would go figure out the formula by themselves and fully understand it. The same goes for accident causes classification - the diagram must be in the discussion video, not in the end of the course.

The young lecturer (who did not introduce himself) has out-of-place intonations and hand gestures that are extremely distracting. It is hard to concentrate on the course content when your brain tries to process the lecturer's expressions.

By Patrick B

Mar 31, 2019

This was an interesting and engaging opportunity to learn about the safety standards and practices for cobot design, implementation and operation. During the course, I noticed quite a few mistakes (numerical and inconsistencies between respective questions and answers). If interested, I would be happy to point out these mistakes for your team via email. Feel free to contact me at pbarnes880@gmail.com in the case that you do not already have someone actively revising those mistakes.

By Carlos E

Feb 25, 2020

Great course! My only complain is that some of the extra videos and material make no sense or the links are broken. I would have liked to have a few practical examples explained about workcell design rather than papers as extra material.

By AndreA O

Dec 19, 2020

The course provides general safety principles for collaborative robots. I find it very useful to know which is the general framework, understand the basic safety elements and have notable references. Very good.

By NALAM M S

Nov 24, 2019

This course is quite good but only thing I felt uncomfortable is about standards taught as they are very tidious to remember

By Vladimir I

Jul 31, 2021

Good course, a lot of useful and helpful information, but it is quite superficial and lacks practical challenges.

By Gabriel F

Oct 1, 2019

Very good information, tests were not proofread, but everything else was very helpful.

By David M

Aug 9, 2019

This course provides an excellent presentation of useful information and methods.

By Kedar P

May 3, 2020

Please Provide more Visual notes and points like a slide show while speaking.

By Muslim A

Jun 24, 2020

Great Course and meet industry standards