Chevron Left
Back to Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
4,166 ratings

About the Course

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

Top reviews

GP

Aug 12, 2020

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

AT

Jun 9, 2020

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,359 Reviews for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

By Parimal C B

Jul 6, 2020

The course is awesome, it has helped me to be confident in presenting any topic now. I would recommend this course to people who wanted to learn how to present not only in virtual age but also in person-to-person communication. Thanks to Prof. Ivan Wanis Ruiz for the wonderful course.

By RondaKae K V

Oct 26, 2020

Very beneficial. One Caution, If you do not know how to make or use a U tube channel (private mode), you may want to figure that out while doing coursework. It is a requirement of submission for final. You also need ability to make a video and a powerpoint. Otherwise, fabulous class!

By Nader R

Apr 12, 2021

"Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age" taught by Ivan Wanis Ruiz, is an awesome course for anyone looking to:1. Run meetings people are excited to join2. Create impactful presentations that resonate3. Improve your communication techniques for your virtual (and in-person) teams

By Zach T

Jan 5, 2023

Great Course for anyone who is interested in learning how to effectively communicate in a digital realm. The professor explained each topic well and he even had me at my toes in listening to how he communicates. This course is a one of a kind course in which I do not regret taking.

By Darina S

Jul 10, 2020

I think this course will be useful not only for managers or CEO but also for people who want to know how to communicate with others. It has different interesting methods and strategies not only for managing the team but also ordering a coffee or motivate your friend not to be late.

By Utkarsh N

Jun 28, 2020

This course will be really beneficial to boost your communication skills. Mostly for those who are giving presentation in office and for those who want to be a good public speaker. you can also learn different techniques in this course to which will help in your day to day life.

By Yasheel J

Jun 1, 2020

Ivan Wanis Ruiz is a very engaging Instructor. He has presented complex situations in a very simple way with clear examples to help understand the applications. This course is very worth spending time on, to read the notes, pratice, understand and review. Totally recommended.

By Marianna

Jul 26, 2020

Amazing course! I've learned so much and this seminar is the reason that I want to study further about Communications and Marketing. The professor is so passionate with what he's teaching you and captivates your attention from the 1st minute! It was a unique experience for me!

By Alonso Q Y C

Jun 8, 2020

Ivan is a person you love to hear, he has mastered the art of communicating through a neuroscience and psychology research. Really worth it if you want to upgrade the way you relate with the people around you. He uses sale company examples, so that could be a plus to someone

By Abdulvakhab I

Jun 8, 2020

I want to thank you for this excellent course I've learned lots of great communication strategies. I also noticed that through this course I've changed, now I'm looking to the same things from different point of view. I can't wait to apply all learned communication tools :)

By kkukielka@griddynamics.com

Sep 8, 2022

Incredibly useful and educative content - the best part comes in the end of the course. I don't regret time spent on this course as it gave me valuable tips how to make my communication and presentations more interesting and how to get the audience attention. Thank you!

By Joao L P

Jul 11, 2020

This is a great course to help in understanding verbal and non-verbal communication. I was very pleased from the moment it started and its speaker is very effective. Great tips on communication strategies and good tips for whom has to do presentations. A must do course!

By Tina P D

Apr 29, 2020

My experience with the course was very positive and good. The course is an enjoyable experience due to the excellent delivery style of the instructor Ivan Wanis Ruiz wherein he displays live examples in every course video on how to hold the attention of one's audience.

By Sandra

May 25, 2020

I enjoyed the pace of this course. I learned a lot, it was quite informative. The only thing which kept me back was actually posting a video of myself on YouTube. I think we should have been given an option

of not posting our face. Thank you so much for this course.

By Mansi B

Apr 10, 2020

This course is amazing. It helped me a lot and made me realize the things I was lacking earlier and didn't even know. I have learned ample of things from this course and will definitely use all the skills that I have learned in my professional career. Thank You !

By Shubham J

Nov 24, 2021

This is nice session it is more beneficial for us. communication strategies for virtual age is most important in anyone future. Thank you the University Of TORONTO to providing such excellent information and we will use those all key point in our daily routings.

By Antonio B

May 31, 2020

In general, an organization is based on the subject and treatment according to a given decision logic.

Using the best form of communication can allow for continuous improvement. This course made me realize this. I did a good job and deserved the positive result.

By Paula R J

Dec 8, 2022

I

loved this course. Ivan has transformed the way I

will give presentations in the future. It was a really well designed course, great material, knowledgeable and fun presenter and very time efficient. Thank you Ivan and U of T for giving us this opportunity

By Yasmin M

Nov 21, 2022

Amazing course! Ivan is a fantastic teacher; this course is intense, fast-paced, packed with learning, entertaining and USEFUL! I've already put the learnings to use with remarkable results...buy-in to proposal, for example. Ivan makes learning a joy!

By Rafael A

May 10, 2020

This is a very good way to understand the way we communicate in the actuality, I learned a lot and the instructor is great , I am looking forward to came back and continue growing in the different fields that you offer thank you it was a great experience.

By Silvia C

Mar 23, 2021

El curso es muy bueno realmente recomendable y se aprende mucho!, creo que al elegir la opción gratis ya no deberían aparecer las pagadas y dar el curso como 100% a excepción de que uno solicite la compra, así uno también puede estar seguro que completo.

By Sarthak P

Jul 14, 2020

It was really worth opting this course because there is a lot to learn from here and yes it is totally based on today's world and will help you to deal with it.

At last I'm really thankful to coursera team to make this course free of cost.

Thank to all !

By Veronica N S A

Nov 18, 2021

An exceptionally well curated course to become an expert in Communication Skills with fun activities to complete and the best part is peer graded assignment. The trainer Ivan is awesome and throughout the course he kept it engaging. Great course !!!!!!

By Jacklyn L

Jun 27, 2020

A very good and hand-on course. You can't pass unless you practice what you have learnt. I gained a lot of information in this course and it really challenge and push my limit. Thank you Instructor, University and Coursera for giving me an opportunity.

By Manassa S

Aug 19, 2020

Excellent course!! Didn't even feel like I was doing a course because it was that enjoyable 😆 Prof. Ruiz's expressions and quirks made it so much fun! Not to mention the tons of useful information given concisely! Thank you so much for this course 💜