Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Communication Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Communication Science by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,488 ratings
345 reviews

About the Course

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Top reviews

ZK
Mar 4, 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS
Feb 20, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 341 Reviews for Introduction to Communication Science

By Arvind C

May 18, 2020

Proper crash course for beginners into communication science. Fun and funny at times. Although needs time to unpack most of the information packed in this, still works as a precursor to heavy lifting required for communication science.

By Kadri A

Dec 27, 2015

Intresting and well structured course to give an overview of communication science, inc the history of it. It is not a hands on course to learn something to do but a good introduction course. I did it before going deeper into PR.

By Rong T

Jul 31, 2016

Good course. I would like it better if there are more depth in theories and analysis/examples used in lectures are more reflecting social media and the use of more cutting edge innovation in communication technology.

By Carl M

Aug 17, 2015

Great course, very well presented. I had never really thought about communication in science terms and this course has been very valuable in bringing my knowledge up to speed

By Charles R

Apr 17, 2018

Very interesting course ! Helps understanding main approaches to Communication Science and how mankind perceived the importance of communication through the time.

By Eva A

Aug 15, 2015

I didn't like the fact that you could not earn a statement of accomplishment but only a verified certificate.

Other than that the course was pretty interesting.

By Alexandra F

Oct 25, 2019

The teachers are really great !! The drawings help quite well. The content was easy to understand and enought for an introduction classe. Thanks a lot !

By Tatia Z

Sep 11, 2015

It is a really nice introductory course on Communication. Includes the basic concepts and helps to influence, tools and channels used in communication.

By Tran V T

Mar 28, 2017

This course is good, however, it seems to much academic without practical experiences or exercises for learners to practice skills and knowledge.

By Itziar F A

Jun 18, 2017

It's a good general course on communication science. Now, I'm looking forward to learn more about social media in a practical point of view.

By Kira B

Jan 1, 2016

Helpful introduction basic theories and approaches in the Communication Sciences, which were explained clearly for those new to the field.

By Babu

May 1, 2020

Great learning and challenging experiences. Learnt about many aspects that I see in daily life. Really glad I took part in this course.

By Alejandro C

Oct 6, 2016

Muy puntual y sintético. Cumple con las expectativas. El único defecto es la falta de subtítulos en español en algunos vídeos.

By 易海菲

Dec 5, 2015

老师真的好帅!!大大的眼镜,盯忽闪忽闪地看着你,萌得酥了!!传播学的入门,难度一般,偏理论,需要认真做笔记,不然过几天就会忘。手绘漫画风的课件很有趣,给的例子也很生动。第一次的MOOC课程 很开心~

By Talha T

May 14, 2020

I have learnt a lot of thing.

Thank you very much MOOC & University of Amsterdam.

Thank you sir.

By Dr. K S R M

May 14, 2020

it was a very good opportunity to enhance my knowledge in the field of communication. Thanks

By Κωνσταντίνος-Ελευθέριος Γ

Oct 11, 2015

i think its a good way to introduce someone with little experience to communications science

By Nishakar K

Apr 30, 2020

Excellent in Online mode of learning.

i have great experience with coursera.

By John P S

Dec 5, 2017

A highly relevant study of communication from an European perspective.

By MAHESH S

Apr 19, 2020

It was a good informative and learning session. Thank you very much

By Elizabeth N C

Jan 22, 2021

This course is very interesting just to know the theoretical bases

By Deleted A

Sep 16, 2016

I love the example stories, very simple and effective. Thank you!

By Yashasvi K

Aug 22, 2020

All the topics were taught in an interesting and concise manner

By Rasha E

May 16, 2020

Great introduction to the key concepts of Communication Science

By Joyael J

May 24, 2020

This course tells about mainly 'science' of communication