Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Communication Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Communication Science by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,407 ratings
329 reviews

About the Course

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Top reviews

ZK

Mar 05, 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS

Feb 21, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 325 Reviews for Introduction to Communication Science

By Narendra P M

Jun 04, 2020

Nice

By MILIND L T

May 28, 2020

NICE

By S. R

May 16, 2020

The best thing about this course is the graphics used in the lectures. The course was informative, of course. But the lectures were kind of boring and it's very difficult to pay attention when the teacher himself or herself seems distant and not interested. The worst thing is the distribution of the lectures. There was too much load per week. This clearly was an eight-week course! There is a quiz where none of the given options is correct! I tried them all but never had the correct answer.

Otherwise, I enjoyed learning the course, I got to know about new things. Thank you all.

By Friederike S

Mar 09, 2019

The content of the course is good for an introductory course. Sometimes important concepts are only briefly mentioned, while a lot of time is spent on less important things. Self-evaluation with the weekly quizzes is limited, because the given answers are hidden. You only know which question you got wrong, but not which was the wrong answer. This is completely useless, when the question was "Which statement is true" but the statements are not shown - How do you know which part you have to study more thoroughly?

By Yu S

Sep 06, 2015

The course is all comprehensive about models and concepts of communication science, however the break-down into small lectures turn out to be too brief in my opinion to develop rich understanding of the subject. It would be more conducive that lecturer expands more on the cutting edge study and research, to give people a sense of the finding of the field and its benefits.

By Vabis E D

Aug 14, 2015

The videos lacks clarity, not loud enough and at instances it's ungrammatical.

Certainly, there ALWAYS WILL be scope of improvement and although, it was moderately enlightening, thank you for producing this course (quite credibly flexible)

By Nedyu Y

Jun 01, 2019

The course gives some basic overview, but personally could not see the benefit, consequently it was not very useful for me. Lector uses very theoretical and distant language, which makes the content kind of boring.

By Pritom D

May 29, 2020

I praise for the method that has been applied on this course.But personally i have some dissappointment on it.It should be more effective on the lectures.

But i really praise about the system of quiz. Thank you.

By Anick-Marie B

Sep 07, 2015

I'm leaving because I can't keep up with an 8 week course given in 4 weeks, and even less if the course keep on refering to the 8 weeks time frame. A pity, I loved this course.

By Taylor R

Nov 08, 2015

This is a brief overview, basically food for thought. I liked the small portions this course was broken into, it made it all the more accessible.

By Marios

Apr 17, 2018

G

r

e

a

t

b

a

c

k

g

r

o

u

n

d

i

n

t

r

o

d

u

c

t

i

o

n

a

n

d

e

x

p

o

s

i

t

i

o

n

t

o

n

e

w

i

n

f

o

r

m

a

t

i

o

n

.

H

o

w

e

v

e

r

,

m

a

n

y

o

f

t

h

e

q

u

e

s

t

i

o

n

i

n

t

h

e

t

e

s

t

s

w

e

r

e

b

a

d

l

y

o

r

n

o

t

c

o

v

e

r

e

d

a

t

a

l

l

d

u

r

i

n

g

t

h

e

v

i

d

e

o

l

e

c

t

u

r

e

s

.

By Alessandra A

Feb 19, 2018

It's a very intresting course with which you can learn the basic mechanism of communication and the development of this important science

By Terry C

Jun 06, 2017

Interesting course - but "padded out" to fill the four weeks. Study aids would be nice (e.g. copies of PowerPoints used in instruction)

By Sumaya A A S

Oct 25, 2020

الكورس طويل و نظري

معلومات جيده وجديدة بالنسبة لشخص لم يختص في العلاقات العامة و الاعلام

ولكن حجم التطبيق صغير

By alex s

Jun 26, 2017

Quizzes too hard and don't make sense and too many of them. Maybe quiz, paper or final exam.

By Mohammed S

May 10, 2020

I would prefer it if there was more feedback in the quizzes and more challenging questions.

By Graciela G

Aug 07, 2017

It was ok, good enough to get into MOOCs

By B S

May 29, 2020

Very lengthy......horrible

By Jimmy D

Dec 03, 2016

course out line. please

By Manish U

Sep 07, 2020

Too tedious

By Navid N

Feb 13, 2016

While course uses a genie method for presentation the content, Quizzes are just made to accomplish one goal: to make sure you have memorized every small detail haven said in the course. Even if someone memorizes the details like specific names and dates, for how long he/she is going to keep it in mind? 2 days? On week?

By Sasanka P

Jul 26, 2020

V

e

r

|Very long training and this is not help to my professional career

By Angela M

Sep 22, 2015

I founded so basic, I didn't feel engaged to continued.

By Yago S F

Aug 28, 2020

Terrible. The classes don't flow well, since there are thousands of midroll quizzes that completely takes you out of the experience; most questions in the tests are error-inducing, meaning that they usually ask you "what x is not" or "this is false: the mais purpose of x is...", and as communication experts, it is shameful that they did not expected people to fail tests because our brain registers first positive then negative stimuli. The tests were also overly long and often addresses non vital info in its questions instead of the content itsel (as an exemple, the test may ask what year x theory was created, but does not ask what x theory conveys or in what scenario it applies). Overall, its a pretty bad course. I just finished Yale's course on basic psychology with professor Bloom and I must say that I actually learned a lot more about communication on a course that IS NOT ABOUT COMMMUNICATION than is this one. Shameful, simply shameful.

By Panos T

Nov 15, 2015

The structure of the lectures is not really effective.