Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Company of the Future

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Company of the Future by University of London

4.8
stars
3,143 ratings
1,092 reviews

About the Course

The aim of the course is to provide you with a comprehensive framework for understanding both the traditional principles of management inside companies today as well as the alternative principles that are becoming increasingly important. It provides both theoretical and practical perspectives on the nature of management in today’s organisations....

Top reviews

KK

May 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Lots of information. The professor knows what he is talking about and he is very interesting to listen. Most of all, I enjoyed the case studies in the end of every module.

SS

Aug 13, 2020

It was a great course which help you to gain knowledge about how to run the company in a good manner and the readings are in a good quality as well as sir. julian birkinshaw was explaining so clearly

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,099 Reviews for Managing the Company of the Future

By Subhra C

Jul 25, 2020

Great

By ANOOP K R

May 6, 2020

great

By Juan S

Apr 11, 2020

Great

By MD A S

Apr 4, 2020

Great

By Tornike K

Jun 21, 2017

super

By Eka C

May 24, 2017

super

By Purushothaman R

Nov 24, 2021

Good

By Aftab J

Jul 2, 2021

nice

By Ma. R D G

Apr 29, 2021

good

By luciayeung

Nov 18, 2020

nice

By May

Nov 17, 2020

well

By BASIM N

Sep 11, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Jun 14, 2020

good

By Francisco J G I

Apr 19, 2020

good

By Nikos K

Apr 11, 2020

!!!

By NAGARAJA R

Jan 4, 2022

5

By Nikunj N

Jun 9, 2021

By Roberto L

May 16, 2018

E

By Sorana S

Jan 21, 2021

The course was great and well explained. One thing I don't like is that peers have to review your course. I had the unfortunate luck where one peer that doesn't even know me to deliberately mark me down for my assignment rating me a 1 stating I made little effort when in fact I was quite prepared which was proved when others reviewed my assignment. I have tried to make a complaint but there is no contact or anywhere to do so. The online chat guy was of no help and kept telling me can't change my mark. My point wasn't about my mark but that I have been deliberately marked down to fail me and provided screen shot where most questions I got a mark of 3 each and the last one which is for the overall course mark gave me a 1. Mathematically it doesn't add up. Nothing I could do about than resubmit the assignment, however if the University embarks on such method to allow peers to grade then they are ultimately responsible and are required to ensure students are not targeted and maliciously marked down. other than that I have thoroughly enjoyed the course. Sadly it was all gone down the wind by the malicious action of one peer.

By Miguel I

May 12, 2020

I have been working in leadership for +20 years and your thinking is that leadership cannot be learned if not by practice. However, when you come back to the classroom you realize about the importance of "zooming out" your experience, how you gain leverage when you contrast your day-to-day experience with "contemplating" the overall picture in an holistic way. Leadership is not about complex theories but about wait and reflect what is going on beyond your reality. To me, it has been a great opportunity to think relatively where I am relatively to the overall leadership management and where my Company is in this fantastic journey. Provided the current environment we are suffering (Covid-19 outbreak), this new challenge can be catalyzed as this view will be even more needed in the post-covid-19 "new normal"

By Paul V

Jun 13, 2017

Very interesting, it's highlight a lot of situations from our professional lives.

However, I had some reserves/doubts here and there. For instance I'm wondering how many companies mentioned as using a modern management (and used to be a startup) have actually thought to that kind of management. I'm not sure that they have really intellectualized that, they probably did it in a more natural way. I was working in a (used to be) startup and managers were researchers basically without any great competencies in management, so it was a no-management by default, with a lot of good things, but bad too.

By Rob H

Jun 6, 2020

This course was well-pitched, interesting and varied. Julian brings it nicely to life and has a passion for the subject matter. It would be good if it could be given a small makeover for a post-Covid19 world, as the original MOOC was created a few years ago now. Some of the examples of management practice have developed further since the course was written and that extra perspective would be valuable. However, I would thoroughly recommend this course as a stimulant to thinking about how to approach management. It is broken up into easily digestible chunks but covers much ground in doing so.

By Olivia D

May 18, 2020

While the concepts are not completely unknown (eg motivation etc), this course was holistically combined alot of various management concepts and provoked alot of thought regarding management in the future. Although, this course may not have been developed in 2019/2020, it is very relevant (even more so) today's world as many organizations are looking at alternative ways to manage teams and alternative management styles needed.

The lecturer is engaging, the material is easy to understand and he provides many examples to illustrate the concepts discussed.

Highly recommend!

By Henry T

Apr 29, 2020

Prof Julian is knowledgeable, I gained a lot of insights on the drivers, the management models, as well as how we can adapt to be the company of the future. I like how Prof Julian provides all the example in case studies so that we can relate instead of just a bunch of theories. The only small improvement that can be done is on how the way the material is presented. Instead of the traditional "classroom style stand and talk" in the video, perhaps Prof Julian can get video editor to do post-editing to make it more interesting.

By Flavio L

Nov 18, 2018

It's a new point of view about company's management. All material is clear and linked to the subject and Julian has a very straight to the point didactic approach. The single point I would recommend to improve is about the forums of discussion: A separation of the student's interventions by classes by period could be helpful to improve the interaction among ourselves. It happens sometimes to see posts from 1, 2 years or even older and no exchanges could be possible.