Chevron Left
Back to Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
1,055 ratings
316 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever heard that computers "think"? Believe it or not, computers really do not think. Instead, they do exactly what we tell them to do. Programming is, "telling the computer what to do and how to do it." Before you can think about programming a computer, you need to work out exactly what it is you want to tell the computer to do. Thinking through problems this way is Computational Thinking. Computational Thinking allows us to take complex problems, understand what the problem is, and develop solutions. We can present these solutions in a way that both computers and people can understand. The course includes an introduction to computational thinking and a broad definition of each concept, a series of real-world cases that illustrate how computational thinking can be used to solve complex problems, and a student project that asks you to apply what they are learning about Computational Thinking in a real-world situation. This project will be completed in stages (and milestones) and will also include a final disaster response plan you'll share with other learners like you. This course is designed for anyone who is just beginning programming, is thinking about programming or simply wants to understand a new way of thinking about problems critically. No prior programming is needed. The examples in this course may feel particularly relevant to a High School audience and were designed to be understandable by anyone. You will learn: -To define Computational Thinking components including abstraction, problem identification, decomposition, pattern recognition, algorithms, and evaluating solutions -To recognize Computational Thinking concepts in practice through a series of real-world case examples -To develop solutions through the application of Computational Thinking concepts to real world problems...

Top reviews

HB

May 18, 2021

This course is very dummy-proof. As someone who never learns about computational thinking, this course helps me to understand the materials and the cases provided in a very simple way. Thank you!

RK

May 10, 2021

though the peer review system might trouble you but it was a great learning experience reading others graphical organizers help me understand how there can be a different outlook to same problem

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 325 Reviews for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

By Sreeraj C R

Sep 27, 2020

Good

By Chethan. h b

Apr 30, 2021

Nic

By salavannagari p

Jun 17, 2022

so

By HILAL A S A

May 21, 2022

ok

By Sam b

Jun 15, 2022

g

By Inamullah K

Jun 25, 2021

e

By whitney r

Apr 12, 2022

Some aspects to this course were confusing, some were easy and simple, and some were actually quite difficult for me. The hardest thing for me was the final graded assignment. I'm sure I was actually really awful, partially because I am bad at test taking, and partially because I really could not come up with something that made sense. I truly thought everyone was going to use Covid as their final, so I decided not to use it for that reason. And I should have because it would have been alot better. But i did pass with a 97%, so that makes me feel a little less old! A pretty good course.

By Eleonora B

May 31, 2021

Good course for learing the basics, really friendly to one who knew absolutly nothing about this before starting (like me). A little boring, but it's to be expected by a course like this so I wasn't surprised and all in all it was pretty interesting. I really appreciate the easy explanation, the real life example and the final project.

By Ana P

May 12, 2021

Very interesting course, and the case studies helped by giving perspective on how Computational Thinking is used to solve complex problems. The final project was a bit underwhelming, since there was no example for one of the requirements, which led to a bit of difficulty understanding what was asked and how to grade it.

By Isabel C N d S

May 7, 2021

Great course for an introduction to computational thinking! I feel that I can add what I have learned in my life, changing my perspective about how to address real problems. But if I want to incorporate programming as well, I think I will need a more advanced course.

By Mohammed S M

Apr 19, 2021

Good case study examples that show how computational thinking helps solving problems. However, few instructors' language was a little difficult to comprehend, but overall a good experience and valuable information has been obtained.

By Kawin K

Jun 22, 2022

A great course to start off with a basic understanding of Computational thinking. Very good instructors. The final assignment could be a litlle more elaborate in my opinion.

By Bhagyoday M

Apr 22, 2021

This was a very nice course, I really enjoyed that course. I'm glad to took or enrolled for this course. I like the course and the quizzes in video and the practice tests.

By Yogyata C

Apr 19, 2022

It is cool and I have learnt so many things through this course . Due to this course my concept for algorithm is build strongly. Thank you for such a intersting course.

By Joseph F

May 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. I have learned the techniques to tackling problems (especially in a way that the computer will interpret) in this computer age.

By Jerome L

May 24, 2021

This course is great for those who have troubles how to solve a problem. The course teaches you how to break down a big problem and manage it step by step.

By Pankaj D

May 6, 2021

The course content was good and well explained. But I expected it to be more rigorous. Many videos had repetition of same content

By Mariya R

Jun 22, 2022

This course was very informative and I could learn many new aspects which can be used in our day to day problem solving.

By Adelaja D

Apr 18, 2022

this course is a course to take if you planning on escalating in your career to think like the computer

By Russell W

May 12, 2021

I enjoyed the course it gave a good foundation on to problem solve and to develop an algorithmic model.

By Mạnh P

Sep 12, 2021

help me how to solve a problem in a dynamic and resonable way!! i have a good time with that course

By Effah A

Jun 4, 2021

T​HIS COURSE MAKES YOU THINK AND ALWAYS FIND SOLUTIONS TO PROBLEMS.

I​ RECOMMEND FOR EVERYONE

By Jānis Ā

May 31, 2021

Having peer review is not most optimal, but otherwise quite interesting and useful content.

By Douglas R

Jun 5, 2021

great course, need to incorporate alittle bit of coding at the end for it to be complete

By Aditya P

May 24, 2021

Great course on computational thinking and its application in various diverse fields.