Chevron Left
Back to Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
1,055 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever heard that computers "think"? Believe it or not, computers really do not think. Instead, they do exactly what we tell them to do. Programming is, "telling the computer what to do and how to do it." Before you can think about programming a computer, you need to work out exactly what it is you want to tell the computer to do. Thinking through problems this way is Computational Thinking. Computational Thinking allows us to take complex problems, understand what the problem is, and develop solutions. We can present these solutions in a way that both computers and people can understand. The course includes an introduction to computational thinking and a broad definition of each concept, a series of real-world cases that illustrate how computational thinking can be used to solve complex problems, and a student project that asks you to apply what they are learning about Computational Thinking in a real-world situation. This project will be completed in stages (and milestones) and will also include a final disaster response plan you'll share with other learners like you. This course is designed for anyone who is just beginning programming, is thinking about programming or simply wants to understand a new way of thinking about problems critically. No prior programming is needed. The examples in this course may feel particularly relevant to a High School audience and were designed to be understandable by anyone. You will learn: -To define Computational Thinking components including abstraction, problem identification, decomposition, pattern recognition, algorithms, and evaluating solutions -To recognize Computational Thinking concepts in practice through a series of real-world case examples -To develop solutions through the application of Computational Thinking concepts to real world problems...

Top reviews

HB

May 18, 2021

This course is very dummy-proof. As someone who never learns about computational thinking, this course helps me to understand the materials and the cases provided in a very simple way. Thank you!

RK

May 10, 2021

though the peer review system might trouble you but it was a great learning experience reading others graphical organizers help me understand how there can be a different outlook to same problem

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 325 Reviews for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

By Vũ Q M Đ

Jul 28, 2021

This course is what I really need to understand what is Computational Thinking. I learned about all aspect of it. To who want to begin your road to Computer Science, this course is my recommend

By Abdulrahman A A A

Apr 19, 2022

Computational thinking is an approach to solving problems using concepts and ideas from computer science, and expressing solutions to those problems so that they can be run on a computer.

By Emmanuel O

May 28, 2021

The course helped me develop problem thinking skills and I appreciate the real life examples used in teaching the course. They made understanding the concepts much easier.

By Sushir M

Jun 15, 2021

I'd like to thank Coursera for this course which has helped me to solve problems using computational thinking as it s much more efficient than the traditional methods.

By Chisom B N

Jun 11, 2022

This course was so simplified and broken Down for anyone to easily understand. IF you want to improve your problem solving potential, this is the best stop for you.

By SRAVANI K

Jun 20, 2022

The course is really very helpful to me. Through videos and theory I understood very well about this problem solving and computational thinking course. computational

By Makane C

May 18, 2021

The course was a challenging and rigorous in nature. Scope oriented and prompt actionable thinking skills and logical design in solving real life problems

By Raymond S

May 11, 2021

It's an eye opening course that helps you get an in-dept understanding on how to effectively come up with a quantifiable computer solveable solutions.

By Guillermo d J C G

Oct 26, 2021

It helped me understand what algorithms are, how to create them and how to translate real-life problems into variables wich a computer can work with.

By Vaishnavi P

May 24, 2021

A very good course to begin with before starting programming and develop a problem solving ability and computational thinking useful for programming.

By S A H

May 10, 2021

The awesome course explained by lectures superbly. thank you, Coursera you give so many free courses to learn something new. thank you Coursera

By preethi S

Apr 2, 2022

This course helped understand how to approach a problem and it has even helped write better code, to plan, structure and modularise it well.

By Khulud B H

May 22, 2021

It was a great journey for me. Thanks to coursera for giving me an opportunity for achieving this.I am very grateful to Michigan University.

By Olukemi A

Nov 15, 2021

This Course helped improved my problem solving skills using everyday issues and be able to apply techniques learnt in a meaningful manner.

By Ayush B

Dec 27, 2021

Thank you for this amazing course , I really enjoyed during the course and able to learn lots of skills related to computational thinking

By Phillymina J

Jul 31, 2022

E​xtremely thorough and knowledgeable professional team. Appreciative with this Computational analysis allowing algorithim emphasis.

By Abhishek M

Sep 10, 2021

This course is really helpful to understand that programming is completely based on logical thinking not on remembering the syntax.

By Sakshi S

Mar 9, 2022

It is an amazing course whch gives you all detail information about computational thinking with number of projects as an example.

By Alvaro C F

Apr 19, 2021

Very interesting, it is the first course of this kind I took in my life and it was even better of what I was imagined. Thanks.

By Mustafa A

Apr 27, 2021

it's So much Excellent I Learn huge knowledge from this Platform, Thanks to Microsoft. Regards!

www,Facebook.com/MySalesWays

By Sharette D

May 8, 2021

A very thought out and properly designed course. Easy to follow and changes the prospective of how to approach an issue.

By Tabish A K

Aug 23, 2021

The course has helped me enhance my Knowledge on Computational thinking..

Thank you Coursera!!

Regard

Tabish Ahmed Khan

By Tichaona M

Aug 3, 2021

I​ think this is a well planned course and equipped me with skills I can apply in the real world, much appreciated

By Faramarz Y

May 26, 2021

This course will help you better understand complex problems. Divide them into sub-problems to get better results.

By Victory A A

May 24, 2021

Thanks so much for this course. This course has actually broadened my knowledge on how to solve problems everyday.