Chevron Left
Back to Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
1,064 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever heard that computers "think"? Believe it or not, computers really do not think. Instead, they do exactly what we tell them to do. Programming is, "telling the computer what to do and how to do it." Before you can think about programming a computer, you need to work out exactly what it is you want to tell the computer to do. Thinking through problems this way is Computational Thinking. Computational Thinking allows us to take complex problems, understand what the problem is, and develop solutions. We can present these solutions in a way that both computers and people can understand. The course includes an introduction to computational thinking and a broad definition of each concept, a series of real-world cases that illustrate how computational thinking can be used to solve complex problems, and a student project that asks you to apply what they are learning about Computational Thinking in a real-world situation. This project will be completed in stages (and milestones) and will also include a final disaster response plan you'll share with other learners like you. This course is designed for anyone who is just beginning programming, is thinking about programming or simply wants to understand a new way of thinking about problems critically. No prior programming is needed. The examples in this course may feel particularly relevant to a High School audience and were designed to be understandable by anyone. You will learn: -To define Computational Thinking components including abstraction, problem identification, decomposition, pattern recognition, algorithms, and evaluating solutions -To recognize Computational Thinking concepts in practice through a series of real-world case examples -To develop solutions through the application of Computational Thinking concepts to real world problems...

Top reviews

HB

May 18, 2021

This course is very dummy-proof. As someone who never learns about computational thinking, this course helps me to understand the materials and the cases provided in a very simple way. Thank you!

RK

May 10, 2021

though the peer review system might trouble you but it was a great learning experience reading others graphical organizers help me understand how there can be a different outlook to same problem

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 325 Reviews for Problem Solving Using Computational Thinking

By Kim T

Apr 30, 2021

Great course. Very easy to follow the course material and contains very interesting and diverse case studies.

By Geal

Apr 30, 2021

The topics were thoroughly discussed. The instructors made the learning process easy for beginners like me.

By Priya B

May 8, 2021

An amazing experience with this course. I learnt the basics of computational thinking. thank you MICHGAN!!

By Atharva P

May 26, 2021

The course is great for learning and practicing the fundamentals of logical thinking and problem solving.

By Alfredo M D

Jun 3, 2021

This course is very inspiring and has sown the seeds to continue advancing in other goals and knowledge.

By Sebastian B

Apr 26, 2021

It´s an ideal course that gives you the basic knowlogde of computational thinking. I really recomended.

By Md. N I

May 18, 2021

This is an excellent course. It will help us to use computational thinking about our daily life event.

By Claudio T

May 28, 2021

Gives you a great tool for structuring problem resolve algorithms, not only for software developing.

By Lourdes L L R

May 23, 2021

I like it, it was a course that gives me a tool very useful that help me to define future problems.

By sumeet k

May 26, 2021

One of the best course. I will recommend to every programmer to have a taste of this course once.

By Michael R N

May 9, 2021

Instruction was easy to follow and had content from different perspectives to keep things fresh.

By Upal C

May 22, 2021

A very important set of skills to learn. A good step towards data science or programming career

By Khánh Đ T

May 13, 2021

The Course is very useful for those who want to improve their ability to solve a math problem

By Sirikwan N

Mar 6, 2022

This course is good for beginner who interested in programming or computational thinking.

By Vladislav R

Aug 6, 2021

Class is nice though not very useful for me as I am experienced software developer.

By Muhammed E B

Mar 29, 2022

It was a good journey. It helped me to get core concepts of computational thinking

By Abdulwasiu A

May 28, 2021

this is one of best course i have ever took in problem solving thinking and logic.

By Diana F

Jun 19, 2021

Es un curso que permite refrescar los conocimientos de pensamiento computacional.

By Navid A

Apr 29, 2021

A very insightful course, Thank you Michigan University, Thank you Coursera Team.

By Yothin C

Jun 25, 2022

This couse teach me to practise thinking step by step and develop my creative

By tahmid t

May 25, 2021

An effective course with some unique tricks and analytical wisdom standards.

By ARAVIND K 1

May 2, 2021

I had a great time in learning this course with university of Michigan,USA.

By R G V

Jan 8, 2021

Excellent Course which can be applied in real time sceanrios in work place.

By Md. R I

Dec 13, 2021

I really learn something new from this course that I needed to learn most.

By RAM T G

Jun 8, 2021

Nice course, modules with examples which enables us to learn practically.