Chevron Left
Back to Computational Neuroscience

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Neuroscience by University of Washington

4.6
stars
945 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an introduction to basic computational methods for understanding what nervous systems do and for determining how they function. We will explore the computational principles governing various aspects of vision, sensory-motor control, learning, and memory. Specific topics that will be covered include representation of information by spiking neurons, processing of information in neural networks, and algorithms for adaptation and learning. We will make use of Matlab/Octave/Python demonstrations and exercises to gain a deeper understanding of concepts and methods introduced in the course. The course is primarily aimed at third- or fourth-year undergraduates and beginning graduate students, as well as professionals and distance learners interested in learning how the brain processes information....

Top reviews

JR

Apr 7, 2018

Extremely enlightening course on how Neuron's work and the science of computational neuroscience. Even if you don't want to get into the complex mathematics you can get a lot out of the course

AG

Jun 10, 2020

Brilliant course. For a HS student the math was challenging, but the quizzes and assignments were perfect. The tutorials and supplementary materials are super helpful. All in all, I loved it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 224 Reviews for Computational Neuroscience

By H R S S

May 18, 2020

Excellent course! The field of comp neuro was brough to life by the instructors! The exercises really helped in understanding the content.

By JABADE A M

Sep 21, 2021

A well curated course on an equally interesting topic! I've caught an interest for Computational Neuroscience after this experience.

By ANGELOS A

Dec 14, 2018

Very interesting course,

exciting subject!!!

Very chalenging in math, tutors have deep knowledge of the topics.

Congratulations!!!

By Soumyadev P

Aug 27, 2021

This course was a really great primer to the field. I found some of the math hard to follow, but I would definitely recommend this!

By Syed S A Z

Dec 31, 2016

An amazing course for people with a computer science background wishing to explore the world of human brain from CS perspective.

By J N

Jun 24, 2021

Awesome course! Introduced me to mathematical modeling of neurons, basics of neuroanatomy and the main concepts of the field.

By Abbi D

Jan 12, 2021

Excellent course! Extremely interesting. Great lectures and the quiz format of evaluation was perfect for this online class

By Haseeb U R

Jul 26, 2021

one of the best course of Coursera. Best teachers are there easy to understand and this course is easy for all departments

By Julia G

Apr 23, 2020

Fun! I think if this course is practiced with dilligent coding, it is a great tool for learning computational neuroscience

By Katarina V

Dec 16, 2020

Interesting introduction into the world of computational neuroscience. Great lectures and useful supplementary material.

By STEPHEN D A 2

Nov 11, 2021

This course helps me to enhance my interest in Neuroscience and Brain computer Learning. Thanks to course coordinators.

By Jack S

Aug 7, 2020

Excellent course, great lecturers, quizzes were challenging but fair. My only complaint is that I wish there was more.

By Saeid S S

Mar 19, 2022

As an idea, I can say that more basic programming can be added, such as calculating the fairing rate and so on.

thanks

By Keith R

Jul 2, 2019

Excellent Course! Very in-depth and informative! Exceptional faculty and extensive supplementary material as well!

By Find

Oct 6, 2020

quite an interesting and meaningful course for me. It gives me an insight into neuro and artificial intelligence.

By Paridhi K

Nov 30, 2018

Quite nice if you follow the recommended textbook - Peter Dayan - with it. The lectures touch important point.

By mahdi K

Jun 9, 2020

A really interesting, useful, and well-planned course. enjoyed it. I think I should review it one more time.

By Jose M A E

Oct 15, 2017

great content and teachers, delighted with addicional content for maths and the good vibe of everybody

By masih f

Apr 4, 2017

this course is perfect for who wants to get familiar with computational neuroscience general concepts.

By George G

Apr 6, 2021

Great course taught by top experts. I enjoyed the learning experience. Highly recommend the course.

By Richard B

Nov 10, 2016

Excellent overview of the different areas of computational neuroscience taught by engaging academics.

By Gustavo C M

Jul 31, 2020

An amazing course, carried at a good pace being understandable too, I will have to buy a nice hat!

By Prakhya S

Jan 20, 2020

Absolutely enjoyed learning about Computational Neuroscience. Well explained. Highly recommend.

By 潘宜城

Oct 24, 2018

nice course which teach me about what neurons can do and how can we model them with mathmatics

By Efren S

Dec 12, 2017

Just amazing! This course has made a great impression on me and rekindled my love for physics.