Chevron Left
Back to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,140 ratings
389 reviews

About the Course

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

Top reviews

J

Dec 18, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AW

Feb 3, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 392 Reviews for Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

By Ibrahim E

Nov 20, 2019

If there is one thing I learned from this course it is that learning how to code does not always mean thinking computationally. Practically speaking, this course has content that can be applicable from day one. If you are interested in knowing how the story began or understand programming from the roots, this is the place to start.

By Ingrid L

Sep 21, 2020

This was an excellent course. I thoroughly enjoyed the real-world examples, and ample opportunities to practice and test each module. I learned a tremendous amount, and would recommend this course for anyone interested in logical thinking and problem solving; not just for science, but in many other areas of academics, and life!

By NGUYEN D V A

Jun 4, 2022

Computational Thinking for Problem Solving, provided by Upenn, is one of the best courses I've taken on Coursera. Everything from lecture notes, presentations and exercises is well designed, especially lectures. Both of them are excellent in teaching. I hope that they will provide more similar courses like this in the future.

By Suren H A

Jan 18, 2022

Great course. Very well structured and articulated which makes it easy for a beginner to grasp. I highly recommend doing this course first before getting into any beginner programming course as it teaches the thought process behind thinking computationally before you get into the weeds of a specific programming language.

By Peter S

May 6, 2021

I was happy with this course. Lots of great content and challenges. For the Python programming part, which is week 4, I would have appreciated more study materials and guidance. Also, the course takes longer to complete than estimated. But, in any case thank you UPenn, it was fun, engaging and insightful.

By C D

Nov 25, 2018

Excellent! Best computational thinking course and introduction to python that I've ever come across. I never imagined I would be able to grasp the concepts of Algorithmic complexity but was finally able to get it and so much more through this course. It covers all the essentials and is very well done.

By Caleb M

Nov 26, 2021

T​his course is fantastic! I am taking these courses as a preperation to the Penn MCIT offered through Coursera and this course was a great introduction to the thought process behind writing algorithms. This course also teaches you valuable skills in python that can be applied in everyday scenarios.

By Anne

Jul 5, 2021

This course noticeably expanded my approach to problem solving. I especially like how the courses uses real world problems, and then gives you the conceptual tools to be able to solve these problems on your own. The labs and peer reviews are a great addition to make sure you really know your stuff.

By Akash K B

Sep 23, 2019

The teachings that i experience here is way too different from Indian online education system .

Coursera is more developed and skill enhancer to the one who is beginner and want to learn with minimum pressure in a different way.

Thanks to Coursera (Computational Thinking for problem solving).

By EDGAR V

Oct 19, 2019

This was a great class to improve analytical thinking and problem-solving skills. I enjoyed the opportunity to learn a new logical way to see the world and to rewire my thinking process. Thank you for a compelling and engaging class. I look forward to keeping learning about computer science.

By Michael L

Jan 18, 2019

An amazing course that teach the way of computational thinking behind our works of programming. It may not be the best and absolute way to analyze for every problems and difficulties, but at least it provide a way which how we use this sort of thinking to simplify and focus on the problems.

By Edward W

Jan 13, 2020

Very well thought-out course. I have some experience with Python from other courses which definitely helped, but I found this course very interesting in 'stepping back & seeing the bigger picture' i.e. how to think about problems using algorithms. Highly recommended, I learnt lots.

By Sam B

Mar 16, 2019

Great Introduction to thinking about how to think about and structure basic coding structures like loops. I've learned syntax several times, but never quite understood the practical meaning behind it. The flow charts in this course are awesome for developing a great understanding,

By Jeremy R

Jan 4, 2021

Fantastic course! I'm not a CS major but I've been in the industry several years and still took a lot from this. The way the breakdown in "computational thinking" was described was fantastic and is certainly something I will carry forward in my future problem solving endeavors.

By Kathleen O

May 29, 2020

Really useful course if you are learning to code or if understanding how the coding process works would help you in your job or study. Generally teaches good problem solving processes too. The presenters are engaging and the activities are interesting. Good job, Penn.

By Monica C

Jan 3, 2021

This was an incredibly helpful course and thorough introduction to Computational Thinking for Problem Solving. It was both challenging and rewarding. Because of this course, it inspires me to continue learning in this area and pursue opportunities in this field.

By Miguel S M

Sep 28, 2019

Very thorough starter course. I especially loved the composing algorithms , translating to pseudocode and coding into python exercises in the final week. While occasionally tricky, thinking through an exercise and finally solving it is satisfying. Thank you Upenn!

By Minh L

May 7, 2022

I really love this course and the fact that, this really helps me to visualize why I need to be good at Computational Thinking. It's not only for CS majors or any IT majors but it also can help to maximize and automate IRL problems that I will face in the future

By jamcinty

Aug 28, 2020

Great course! Ive got a degree in economics as well as nursing and wanted to get my feet wet as I'm thinking of switching careers. This course was fun and definitely a little challenging at the end. I would recommend it and can't wait to pick my next class.

By Carmen M

Nov 16, 2018

To think what a difference just a few weeks can make… thank you for awakening a desire in us propelling us forward into the world as computational thinking evangelists!

Know that you will be challenged, but true satisfaction awaits at the end-- priceless!!

By Yan L

May 28, 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

By Mouad B

Jul 9, 2020

This course really gave more confidence to write code, i even discovered that i can solve problems and detect bugs in my code with a little time and focus, one of the best courses i have taken online, and would recommend to everyone, literally everyone

By David R G

Jan 13, 2019

The coding challenges were tough for me. I have some python experience from prior to the course but I’m really just still beginning to learn it. I don’t find coding to be intuitive yet, but I enjoy figuring out how to use it to solve a problem.

By Darran W

Aug 15, 2019

Great introduction and application of computational thinking and dabbling in Python, the pacing was gradual to build upon the complexity required, and the instructors were both engaging and intellectually honest for this introductory course.

By Yongchao Q

Jun 22, 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)