Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,273 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

AM

Mar 29, 2020

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

Filter by:

7451 - 7475 of 9,624 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Bradley R

Apr 25, 2022

There is a few areas that need updating one is talking about wpa3 and the various network channels in used today, in todays world 2022 we now have dedicated channels for hosiptals emergency response etc. also that wpa3 has been put into used but has serious security flaws like wpa2 I feel another video could be added to specifically talk about these flaws and major hacks.

By Saulet Y

Jun 12, 2019

Too much information :) Can you imagine if a Professor comes to a lecture with only 1 - 2 slides and then reads everything from papers. Would you be excited? I don't think so. I believe this course can be improved by adding more slides and examples. Additionally, it would be beneficial by adding labs. For instance, how to create networks, or how to settings the routers etc.

By John B

Jan 17, 2021

Good course. It can be difficult if you have no experience with these concepts. I recommend getting the A+ Certification all in one for dummies book, it can be found on amazon, and using it as a companion to these courses. It helped me to better understand and get through the course. Also go back and re watch the video's if you don't fully understand something. Good luck.

By Kenessa D

Nov 4, 2019

This was a tough one. I feel that I am just scratching the surface of what a true IT Professional needs to know in the realm of networking. Cabling, Routers, Switches, IP addresses and so much more are all a little bit clearer to me now. I hope that I can take what I learn here and become more equipped for the IT networking world. Can't wait to configure my first network.

By Aaron M H

Jul 10, 2019

I want to give thanks to the instructor of this course! His articulation and consistency over the vernacular and nomenclature was very well received. I feel quite informed. The only thing I would add is more quikilabs. Similar to the first course, I believe everyone needs alittle more hands on experience, performing some of the command lines expressed in this course.

By Njoroge N

Jul 3, 2022

They aren't kidding when they say you have to be a self-led learner to be successful! There were several instances when I had to look up concepts discussed in external resources. However, I believe the course made a good attempt at organizing content that loops back to itself in crazy ways. The instructor was lively so I found it easy to follow along. Would recommend!

By Alex A G

Dec 5, 2020

This material is difficult, but this course lays out material as you need it. Understand the concepts as they come, ask your questions, the go on the course and you will most likely find your answer. Take your time. It's a deep dive. I just wish this had a more hands on approach, but there are many resources available, and this course points you in the right direction!

By Glanson L

Jan 25, 2021

Would like a bit more interactive work to actually show how the computer networking works. I used a lot of outside applications to get this to make sense in my brain. So checking Mac and Ip addresses of my laptop and game system to make sense of how things are working. I am a tactile learner so understanding the information then using it in the field is very helpful.

By Jenn B

Aug 12, 2022

Directions in week 6 graded assignments on IPv6 need to be made more clear. The directions are written in such a way that it makes you think that you have to copy address, paste into field, and eliminate zeros. This does not work. You have to manually type this out. Also, one address in particular with repeating zeros is very tricky and requires trial and error.

By M&Z R

Jun 22, 2021

Great video presentations of all of the intricacies of computer networking and breaking it down into easily digestible "bites" HA! But I wish there were more of 2 important things. More cloud puns. You guys could have really done far more. Practical hands on work, or more than just theoretical talking points would have helped me absorb the info faster and better.

By David A

Jul 3, 2022

Besides the part of the week 6 IPv6 compression test, This hasn't been a bad learning experience. I hope the bug in the test doesn't mess up the whole course and make it so that I am unable to pass the Bits and Bites certificate.

Update: The bug has been fixed and I thank those involved, that fixed it I am happy that I didn't fail the whole course because of it.

By Jakub J U

May 17, 2022

I am Network+ certified (passed by the first time), so my knowledge is well above the scope of this course in the Networking field. I found many topics which I knew earlier explained in a very pleasent and decent way. This guy is also a person with very positive attitude. The only downside is zero performance base questions (some routing, arp tables etc.) :-(

By Antoine F

Jun 16, 2020

Good course, I was pleased to be able to learn about the way computers and networks work. Sometimes the amount of information delivered felt a bit overwhelming when dozens of new word definitions were added for each video without being revisited later. That being said, I am very satisfied with the lecturer who managed to make such content engaging and exciting.

By Dario T

Jun 24, 2020

Prepárate para un curso muy técnico, no es fácil, sobre todo la segunda semana. Por momentos hay cosas que pueden ser explicadas de formas mas sencillas. Como todo curso vas tener que buscar información para complementar, pero no deja de ser un buen curso. El que da la clase la da bien, mas allá de algún problema con los subtitulos que están un poco atrasados.

By Kaleb B

Jan 27, 2023

The instructor was charismatic and presented the information well, but there was not enough practice to apply the skills as they were taught. Was very lecture-oriented and a ton of information to remember without practical applications to solidify it. More hands-on practice and feedback other than the short quizzes at the end would add a lot to this course.

By Jason N

Feb 23, 2018

I wish the videos went into more detail and used more diagrams to show what is happening, especially during the subnetting section. I like the videos, but I feel like I'm often forced to do a lot of my own research to figure out how to solve problems. I wonder if that is by design? I know many IT specialists have to research problems before solving them...

By Chris F

Sep 12, 2020

This was a changeling course, it is one that I strongly recommending to take in small bites and try not to get overwhelmed with everything thrown at you. The one thing that I think would help make this course better is adding some labs as challenges for testing the commands you learned. I.e troubleshooting network configuration, identifying address etc..

By Paul G

Feb 22, 2022

A wide range of content presented digestibly for the most part. I found only a couple of points where I felt I needed to go beyond the course content to properly understand the topic. One of these was IPv6 compression. The problem was that this is also a large part of the quiz at the end of the course. I would suggest revising that section for clarity.

By HARRY K

Nov 18, 2020

The course was good , some of the quizzes & labs were difficult & should of included some way to practice these subjects even before a quiz or test was given. Other than that, the course was simple & interesting at the same time. I'm very glad to participated in the course & an learning a lot more about the subject & continue learning, moving forward.

By Jamie B

Oct 1, 2020

The content was more challenging than the first course. So overall I was happy with that. I think the quizzes are just a little derivative but if you look at them like a study tool, they can be very helpful at analyzing where you need more support. I don't know that the discussion prompts are too helpful, though often people can be a great resource.

By C M

Dec 29, 2022

It was a difficult course because it was so much terminology and very little hands-on application. I think it would be helpful to try to apply some of what we learn. I appreciated some of the quizzes like where we condensed the IPv6 addresses. Maybe some more drag and drop type things would help users learn where things go in the packet and such.

By Abdulrhman M

Oct 1, 2020

This course was a bit hard for me, especially after the very easy first course. But after going back to the videos again and again and researching the topics I struggled with, it became a lot easier. And I became more familiar with the information in this course more than the first one.

The course was different and harder, but a lot more enjoyable.

By Angel N

Sep 8, 2020

There was a lot of information here that just hurt my brain. The practical/quiz exercises didn't seem to match up with what we were told - or maybe I just don't know how to take notes? It felt like I missed some of the information from the lectures in the test - may be the way the question is phrased or how my notes refer to those parts is wrong?

By Mohammed A A

Jun 8, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course and learned so many new things! It's a lot of information which took me quite some time to process. I'm only giving it a 4 star rating cause of the difficulty of the subject and how I had to go back again to review the materials. Not that it was poorly explained rather it could've been broken down a bit further.

By Vishal S

May 3, 2020

Course is well organised, a fun to learn adaptive learning helps to grasp concept more effectively. But not enough questions are solved for students to practice. Moreover, enjoyed networking puns too :) Excellent platform for beginners to learn about Networking. I felt if some simulation tools were introduced then it would have been much better.