Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
31,617 ratings
7,337 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

TS
Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

AA
Mar 25, 2020

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 7,407 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Pritam B

Feb 6, 2021

This course is awesome. It increased & strengthen my base knowledge of Networking, how things works. Exams and Quiz are designed such a beautiful way that while looking for answers you do go through study material once again (The best way to make sure that trainer revises important topics once again before moving ahead to next topic of course). Assignment of 3rd week gave a tough struggle, I had to go through both previous 2 weeks material to submit that assignment but during submission of this assignment only, I realized the beautiful innovative concept of course design as mentioned earlier.

By Anthony R

Jul 10, 2019

I've always felt like networking was my weakest skill set. I understood the basics and could diagnose basic problems but I honestly lacked the fundamental knowledge needed to diagnose systemic problems that major companies or business users may face. This lack of fundamentals also hindered me in other fields like cyber security. I think this is a fantastic course and out of all of the Google Professional IT Certification courses I believe this one was the most valuable to me and will make a significant difference in my ability to troubleshoot and effectively resolve common issues.

By Михаил Н

Jun 6, 2021

The coolest thing in the course is a simple and intuitive visualization of complex technologies. I believe that Google did a great job on all the main topics, I learned something new for myself and consolidated the already existing knowledge. Lack of strict control, but at the same time a strong motivational program developed by Google allows you to really remember and apply the material covered! The only thing I would like to add: more interactive tasks in a playful form, I am sure that many would like the simplified analogue of the Cisco Package Tracer, GNS3 or EVE-NG.

By Svetoslav B

Feb 17, 2020

I liked the course at it basic, all the small bits to the large ones, but there is place for improvement, how are we supposed to learn all the acronyms and remember every single one of them, I know we are supposed to, but sometimes it's confusing. The questions, there were a lot of confusing ones that didnt make sense to me, even at this last part I got two identical questions with the same result using the same answers but different words, need a fix for that. All and all I enjoyed listening to the Elections and getting most of it from the lector itself. Will recommend!

By Rebecca G

Apr 6, 2021

This is a great program that has a lot of different components to keep you alert and on your toe's, with a mix of video's, reading, and hand's-on experience, your mind will always be engaged. It will put thing in a neat and organize layout so it's easy to follow. You have an almost unlimited source of reading materials and any questions you have starting out will surely be answered along the way. Tasks that seem so advance become easy and the process of hands-on training helps you retain the information long after the program is over. I really enjoyed the experience.

By Christina J B

Oct 25, 2020

I can just say that at the beginner level this is really hard material to comprehend, they assume some parts of the network bits that you understand, which as you will notice that is not the case, now for someone who has some network background this might come off more familiar.

For me, it was difficult to understand and grasp the technical aspects of the content.

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

By Antony J

Aug 14, 2020

This is a very dense and comprehensive course covering essential foundational material in networks. The presenter does an excellent job of explaining the material with enthusiasm. This course has met all my expectations and I am looking forward to the next course in the series. The key piece of advice I would give learners when taking The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking is to actively learn, making sure to take notes and practice explaining the more complicated material such as the 5-layer model in your own words. This is a challenging course.

By Jim O

Sep 3, 2020

I learned that Networking isn't scary, way above my head, and unlearnable. I am A+ certified and have avoided Network+ like the plaque. Maybe now I will try it. This is no small thing for me!

This was a challenging and enjoyable experience. I learned a lot. I gained more knowledge in Networking with this course than in my A+ certification.

Victor did a good job conveying the course material. The videos were engaging. I would recommend this course to those who want to gain a solid foundation of Networking concepts.

So, that's my experience!

By Eduardo M

Mar 31, 2018

this course was more difficult than the first course. Overall , I would say the only thing that could be improved would be to somehow let us know what are the most important subjects to learn to help preparing for the quizes . sometimes i dont know what specifically are the key topics. i could be wrong but it seems like sometimes the intro video doesnt always highlight what are the most important subjects to learn. the course itself is becoming more challenging. hopefully this leads to that 30/hr job they said this will prepare you for .

By Ashley A

Feb 18, 2021

This course was very informative! It was packed with so much information, but they did a really good job at breaking down the information in a way that makes more sense. I really enjoyed that they included a lot of visual and interactive aspects, to help you better understand how and why things work the way they do. It's A LOT of information, and can sometimes feel a bit overwhelming, but it was so worth it! I learned so much taking this course, and have already begun to apply some of the course material to some smaller scale tasks.

By Erin B

Feb 25, 2019

I absolutely LOVED this course! It was interesting throughout, although I seemed to light up particularly in the troubleshooting section as well as where we're headed next in terms of cloud services and IPv6. I had to spend some extra time getting the practice of subnetting. I searched for other explanations with sample problems to ensure I really grasped it. The course was written well, and Victor delivered it masterfully. I am extremely appreciative of my newly gained knowledge, and am excited to build on it even further. Thanks!

By David E T

Jun 21, 2019

I found this course vigorous and stimulating, yet satisfying. Having had some educational experience in some of the subjects of this course, I found there was more to learn. I learned much more about IPv6 and dealing with shrinking the address down to a lower common denominator. It had me scratching my head for a little awhile. Still, I'm grateful for learning more after coming in than what I had before coming in.

I'm looking forward to the upcoming courses so I can improve myself and become a better tech.

Thank you so very much.

By Gena L

Feb 21, 2021

While I absolutely loved the instructor and his way of explaining the content, I did find the information to be very challenging and not always shown in a way that would easily translate into where and how to utilize the information in real life scenarios. However, there was lots of valuable takeaways and it did shine a lot of light onto the intricacy and detail that goes into computing and the behind the scenes of transmitting even the smallest piece of data. Take lots of notes and study often, the graded assessments are tough!

By Adan N

Jul 17, 2020

This course was very good in explaining to me all of the technicals and complicated intricasies that go into computer networking. Wow, I was just blown away by how complicated yet seamless computers talk to each other. From the 5 layer application model, to the differences between TCP and UDP, to WPA2 vs WEP, to Adhoc Networks, to Frequency Channels that Mobile devices operate on, it was incredible in closing a lot of information gaps I had. This course, although very tough in some parts, was very good! I highly recommend it.

By Luis S

Sep 15, 2020

Well designed course. I enjoyed watching the videos and the instructor inspired confidence and enjoyed "the blue skies and the clouds". If you are new to the field, all the terms (protocols, packets, datagrams, traceroute, nslookup and the like) will seem overwhelming but all pieces fall into place at some point. Just keep practicing and don't give up. Soon you will find yourself translating the terms when you see them in your daily life.....Now I know what that MAC address mean in my printer....Kudos Victor Escobedo.

By Alice C

Nov 17, 2020

As a largely self-taught computer professional (training and systems operations) I was really happy learn all this information about networking, which I knew very little about, and which seemed to me like an arcane and mysterious field. This was a great overview. While I may not ever delve more deeply into the depths of networking (i'm more interested in moving into software development than networking) I feel better having learned this information. It was taught clearly, and the diagrams were very helpful.

Thank you.

By Anastasia M

Feb 15, 2020

I work in Tech Support and lots of things I heard before, but I was missing the understanding of the physical and transport layer stuff. I really liked this course, it was not hard for me, but still very useful. Taking a CompTIA certification is not necessary for me, so I saved a ton of money by taking this course, which covers only what I need. Also, I found out that no one on my team heard of the Test-NetConnection command for Powershell. I will coach them and we all will be working a little bit more efficiently.

By Noah B

Mar 20, 2019

So far, the difficulty has been upped by a notch and providing a challenge but it is rewarding in the sense that I am really challenging the knowledge I'm obtaining and making me want to comprehend it in the fullest. I am opening Pandora's box of knowledge and seeing where my cap off point is. I like the challenge and what it brings forth to the plate. But, I know there's more to be uncovered and more to know so it is very much rewarding and gratifying once I put all the pieces together and complete the puzzle.

By Calasanz R Z

Feb 12, 2021

When I dive in on this learning journey, I programmed my mindset that it would not be easy. But it is worth investing my time to learn it. And the most important thing is I am enjoying this learning journey. And by the way, just to share with everybody, it is not about reaching the destination, it is all about the journey of having fun. :) A great course, and I am grateful and thankful for Coursera and Google. I am so excited for the next button to click on my next learning journey :) Try it and have fun!

By Dheepak J

Aug 18, 2019

This is a great course that is tailor made for students and professionals aspiring to ramp up on their networking skills. Networking skills require quite a different mental mapping to understand how your thinking must be to understand intricate concepts. The history, current trend and the future evolution too have found a place in this phenomenal course - thanks to the efforts put in by the creators. There are inspiration videos embedded in between to boost your morale. Don't miss to check this course out.

By Kevin P

Jun 18, 2020

This course was well balanced in theoretical and practical aspects. This course definitely made my fundamentals strong in the networking field. It was difficult for me to understand some concepts like DNS resource record and DNS zones which I feel should be taken in more depth. The examples of the ping, traceroute, and other commands in the real world networking scenario would have been an absolute knowledge booster. Anyway, I am thankful to Coursera and Google for helping me to guide learn this.

By Michael M

Feb 1, 2021

I've taken a course like this once more about 15 years ago, and it literally took 3 months to teach a full class full of post adolescent kids how to understand this stuff and put it into practice. Because this portion was so heavy on technical details, I wonder if there is a more engaging way for students to really remember the material. Some of the projects could have included constructing IP Datagrams or Ethernet frames, or putting a network together from scratch. Otherwise, fantastic stuff.

By BHARATH M J

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to specially thank the instructor Mr. Victor Escobedo, who is the best course instructor I have ever come across on Coursera! The eternal smile on his face, friendly tone and frequent Networking puns make the course all the more interesting and easy. All the other Google employees who made special appearances in this course also seemed so cool, that made me wonder what an amazing experience it would be to work with such people around everyday.

Thanks a lot to , Google and Coursera!

By N R

Oct 16, 2020

I am always skeptical of online courses, but I would recommend this course to anyone, regardless of their career choice. The speakers are dynamic, the work is a great refresher and not too watered down, yet it also works great for someone who has no prior knowledge of computers or networking. Even if something drastic occurred and I couldn't use the certificate, it is well worth the time and money to learn about the technology we use everyday. Thank you for all of your efforts Google Team!

By Sebastián F

Dec 31, 2020

I think it was a very interesting and technical course, it allows to understand how networks and communications work all in sync, basically it helps put a lot of concepts together. I suppose in the next courses we will see more of the troubleshooting and for example how to diagnose using DNS or some network configurations with examples. Though I think it would be useful to insert some real scenarios here as well. I think the example interview introduced in between is an awesome addition.