Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
31,617 ratings
7,337 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

TS
Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

AA
Mar 25, 2020

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 7,395 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Alfred C

Aug 7, 2019

The amount and way the information was presented was amazing! They made some very complicated concepts understandable for ordinary people to understand. Obviously, you won't be able to remember and digest everything in one go, which is why taking great notes is essential if you want to get your money and time worth. Simply watching this and nodding along without any prior knowledge to networking will be ineffective in understanding the material. Overall, would recommend to anyone.

By Elizabeth B

Feb 9, 2020

This course was a bit more difficult than it's predecessor, but that was to be expected. Overall I found this course both amazingly informative but also interesting. Like the previous course the instructor took the time to explain things in simple laymen terms before using esoteric terms. The course did not feel rushed nor was the information so dense that it was overwhelming. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is a beginner but would like to know more about networking.

By Curtis W

Nov 10, 2020

Fantastic! Instructor was awesome. Tons of information to digest. I definitely will be referring back to this course for refreshers. I just can't wait to see how I apply this in the real world! I'm excited! Google, if you're getting this messages, you got yourself a dedicated IT person in the making! Please please please get me my first shot in a professional role or maybe a company you recommend! Thank you so much for building this course. I'm excited to learn more!- Curtis

By Kirill S

Jun 5, 2020

Informative, with links to great resources. An easy listen with pretty clear explanations of the materials. There were some moments in the quizzes where wording made it difficult to understand what was being asked, but otherwise very good! I would suggest adding some of those interactive quizzes as practices during lessons (the broadband one is a great example, it was rather difficult to do because I didn't get a visual demonstration during the lessons.

Thank you very much!

By Tatiana P

May 7, 2019

4.2.2.1-4.2.2.6... having literally taken up the mystery challenge up the stack to demystify Level 3 (OS & You: Becoming the Power User) and another hop to Level 5 (IT Automation: It's Not That Scary (both completed, 100%), - it was time for untangling of TCP/IP "Layered Affair" encapsulation/de-encapsulation: Level 2 completed on Cinco de Mayo, 100%.

Hats off to Google's fun+mental team for "deep diving" into rock solid 6 weeks of The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By LAXMAN K

Sep 25, 2020

I have learned many things in the college before. All the information i have got so far in this course is not new for me. But, it was amazing to have this course and i really enjoyed it. In the college i had to take all the fundamental credits along my interest one, which was annoying and some how i could not keep up with technology. No complain but found really what i was looking for long time ago.

thank you google and coursera to make it possible for me and many others.

By Dorde J

Oct 3, 2020

In my opinion, it is important to understand Computer Networking in general, and even if you are not an IT savvy. Also, when you look at the fact how billions of people around the globe are interconnected with computers, smartphones and other devices you will realize why this is an important skill to have. Computer Networking will give you fundamental knowledge about the networks and you can apply it in your home or even in your office/corporate or virtual environment.

By Shehroz Z K

Sep 26, 2019

Went into this thinking it will be a extremely technical heavy course, which it did end up being. But they do it at a pace where you slowly start talking the technical jargon and feel like you are part of the learning process. I enjoyed this course very much, I actually currently work in technical support and this course definitely has helped me assist customers with their static ip issues and also helping my friend setup their minecraft server via ip passthrough.

By Ryan W

May 7, 2019

Excellent informative course. My only complaint is in the structure, not the material. I wish they wouldn't so easily allow retakes so that you're more incentivized to really master the material. That said, this course was fairly technical, but in a good way. I truly feel like this course really teaches you all of the important things you need to understand about networking and gives clear explanations. The instructor is well spoken and easy to understand.

By Theo R

Nov 25, 2019

I couldn't give less than 5 stars.. Google offered a quality course that teaches the basics of networking and how the Internet works. It covers all the mains subjects related to network so one can start going deeper and investigating further.. Cheers guys keep up with the great work !

Awesome course for who wants to start from the beginning without any knowledge and also for people who have taken different intro courses and want to consolidate their knowledge..

By Philip K

May 6, 2018

This is a vast improvement over the first course, and I really appreciated the scope and depth of information here. If I had one gripe, it's the sections in the later weeks that discuss command line network troubleshooting functions without letting us use them. I understand that the command line stuff is coming in the next course and would be difficult to work in here - maybe an in-browser applet that would reproduce the functionality on a fictitious network?

By Christopher A

Apr 23, 2018

This course was slightly harder than the first one. I didn't understand at first why I was learning so much about data transmission until near the end of the course. Taking this course will really help you appreciate how complicated the protocols and established services are to building a network and making the internet work as a collaborative whole. This takes understanding networking to a way higher level, and is worth it for anyone pursuing a career in IT.

By Ray

Feb 24, 2018

This course was very enlightening to me as a beginner! I have the basic knowledge now about the bits and bytes of nodes in a network. From designs, names, IP addressing to troubleshooting. Thank you very much for making the learning possible for a beginner as me. Btw, IPv6 is not foreign to me now! lol, I know how to interpret that long number now. At the most basic level. Ok, I have to go sign up for the next course now. Hope to finish this entire course!

By Marian O

May 25, 2020

This was a very intense course for me but with lots of practices and going over the course contents, I was able to complete it. The instructor, Victor Escobedo, was very clear in explaining the course contents and navigating through each module. The jokes made the course lighter to go through each module. I liked the many many examples that were provided and the visuals were great also. I'm able to finally say that I'm comfortable with computer networking!

By James P

Apr 10, 2020

I have been in and around IT world since 1988 - in many roles: as a user superuser help desk call center manager public school teacher - I learned so many of the things I THOUGHT I already knew. But waht I knew was just a surface understanding - ping google to see if network is up. Now I actually have seen how and why ping works - which is crazy I have been pinging for years - but had never popped the hood to see the engine of how it works until now. Thanks

By Timber S

Jan 25, 2018

This was by far the best of all the courses; it actually took you through a full rundown of all the technologies in use (excepting in depth coverage of things like bgp), and actually had up to date quizzes that were in far better states than the rest of the courses. The person explaining technologies in the videos also managed to do so in a way that actually conveyed information in a learning fashion, not just information dumping like a lot of the others.

By Teague H

Dec 4, 2020

The instructors get 5 stars because this was not easy material to digest, but they did a great job of explaining the material in the best way possible. The text of some of the videos is incorrect and seems like a human might need to comb through some of it to make it more accurate to the words spoken from the instructor. I didn't have an issue with it, but if you had a deaf student, who relied on those video texts, I could see it being a bit of a hurdle.

By Mayur G N

Oct 23, 2020

This course is great to start with Computer Networking. Though many practical things were no covered in this course, but this course is worth taking. You will understand basics of computer networking, how computer network works under the hood, how to troubleshoot common networking problems. Also will get to know about Cloud and IPv6 in detail and many more concepts. I get know more than what I expected. Thanks to Google and my Instructors in this course.

By Nicholas T

Nov 22, 2020

I learned a lot. This course helped me put together many of those bit and pieces I have gathered over the years that I have used computers for work and other personal pursuits. The material was very technical and dense. But I have gleaned a lot from it that I will use in my personal and possibly in future career pursuits. There was so very much very fascinating information hear. I am looking forward to taking the next several courses in this program..

By Lloyd W

May 18, 2020

I am at home now because of the Covid-19, and this is a great opportunity for me to brush up my IT skills I forgot few years ago.I have completed two courses in two weeks, and I am planning to finish the other three courses in next three weeks. If you are at home now with free time , this is a great opportunity to learn a new skills with this Networking course. I highly recommend. In the mean time I am studying for Comptia Network + exam. Thank You.

By ann m m

Apr 28, 2018

I loved this course. I thought it was so well laid out and the instructor was wonderful. I liked the way the instructor introduced concepts gradually and then kept building upon the knowledge I had gained before. Make no mistake, there is a huge uptick in difficulty from the previous course. If you are new(er) to this stuff, you will be poring over the material into the wee hours, just trying to understand. It's worth it though; keep trucking!

By Dale S

May 12, 2019

There is a LOT of technical information in this course, but it's fed to you in a sensible manner with pretty good explanations. You can always rewatch videos, pause to take notes, and even Google additional explanations if you don't understand how it's explained in the videos. This stuff is the basis of all networking and how networks work. Take your time, take good notes and watch videos as many times as needed to understand the concepts.

By John G

May 8, 2021

This is a lot of information. I did it in a 3 days, but I didn't have anything else to do. I'd recommend you take it in a bit at a time, and check the forums on here, or google, if you don't immediately understand something. You might have to review the videos multiple times as well. My favorite part were the networking puns they included. Humor helps people learn better. I think humor should be included in all classes, but that's just me.

By Deven E

May 18, 2020

Great course. I enjoy learning and the option to stop and take a break. Catch up and take notes. That is a really great option for note taking. highlighting the areas that are important then being able to print ... saves writing it down with my illegible handwriting. The instructors make me feel like its ok not to understand a concept at first. I can review the information and get additional readings to firmly grasp the concepts. Love it!

By Karen S

Apr 12, 2018

I learned a lot this course. At first I wasn’t understanding anything at all and it felt the instructor just rambled on. But throughout the course , the instructor kept reminding that its a lot of info to grasp & to relax and follow through. He did a lot of repetitive teaching & reminders of what was responsible for what. It really helped a lot and I could clearly and fully understand everything by the end.

GREAT INSTRUCTOR ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️