Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
34,420 ratings
7,834 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

DL
Feb 23, 2021

This course was amazing and helped me understand so much more about networking, things I never thought I would know or understand. Very fulfilling and I can't wait to use this knowledge going forward.

SK
Feb 18, 2021

This was really time-consuming but it was really worth learning. Although in the end, it seems to be very basic things, they would be essential through whatever you want to accomplish in the IT field.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 7,902 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By ATUL K S

Jun 6, 2020

I have forgotten 40% of it because it didn't showed much practicals knowledge it was like a lecture and we are hear in coursera to watch practicals to understand easily as this course contains lots of difficult word to memorize. So, please puts practical videos in this course to memorize

By Stefani H

Nov 18, 2020

A course that covers complex topics with a concise, easy-to-follow program. Even though I am also taking computer courses in a degree program, this course really cleared up some difficult concepts for me, and I am very glad I have this supplemental material to help me succeed in school!

By Hawra F A

Jul 24, 2020

First few weeks are TOUGH! But, it gets easier or maybe you get the hang of it. Fascinating to learn how everything works and really recommend if the computers and the internet seem like magic - this course shows you that it's not but with everything that goes in it it may as well be ;D

By Rebecca Z

May 14, 2018

Excellent introductory course. There is a lot of technical information, but it's presented in an easily managed schedule. As a beginner, I found the information presented fascinating. I have been happy with the courses in this program so far and look forward to the following courses.

By Ahmed F

Dec 21, 2021

G​reat course I didnt like that the final quiz for the TCP/IP five layer model was a writter explatination I would've prefered a lab or a pluging where i could do that not just write about it, aside from that the instructor is amazing and the material, quizes and labs are really good.

By Gabriel R

Sep 4, 2020

This is all new and exciting to me and I appreciate the fact that Google Coursera made this available and making it possible for me to be able to pursue this dream to learn more about computers and technology and have an opportunity to pursue a career in it an help other. Thank you!!!

By Sonya L

Dec 12, 2020

This course challenges and begins to transform a person into a confident hands-on IT professional. I did not really grasp how much I have learned, until after I began to naturally solve real-world IT problems that randomly happened while taking this course. I am anxious to learn more.

By Melanie N

May 12, 2019

The first course was lights on. This course was Dig Deep. My head actually filled up with knowledge physically. It was amazing. My thought processes are on a totally different level now technically. The instructors, videos, and interactive quizzes are spot on and not easy at all.

By Michael C O

Mar 2, 2019

It really was a great experience partaking in this course. I have read up on the Five Layer and OSI model in the past, but this course made the concept become real and easy to imagine. Thanks a lot Victor, for your positive energy and enthusiasm, it was really helpful and encouraging.

By Gabriele G

Nov 2, 2018

Deep analysis of all the different aspects of Computer Networking. Complex technical details made easy through examples and quiz. A must for understanding what lies behind every single action we do today with our connected devices and learning how to troubleshoot the potential issues.

By Kerrance M W

Jun 23, 2018

Once again, an awesome course that was very informative. The information was very deep and I will have to look over some of the information again for a "refresher". Overall the information and flow was again very easy to follow. I look forward to adding this program to my credentials!

By Howard A

Apr 1, 2021

I always wonder when I'll get a chance to just breeze through one of the topics in these courses. But I'm always learning something new, or becoming more comfortable with a topic I may have been shaky about. This course really expanded my view about subjects like IPv6, DNS, and more.

By Darleia J

Jan 11, 2021

I found the course very user friendly in that the segments are short and to the point. At first, I found his jokes and puns a little annoying since I was in a serious mindset and focused on learning in order to pass the course, but by the end I lightened up and found myself laughing.

By Kelly P

Oct 28, 2018

I didn't realise just how much I learned until I noticed I was able to troubleshoot my own network connection issues. After I fixed the issue I realised that something that once looked like gibberish, was now actualy something I could read and understand enough to fix what was wrong.

By Matthew C

Apr 11, 2021

Excellent presentations and graphics used to illustrate concepts. Quizzes and exams are actually engaging and reinforce what you know. Supplemental readings are full of extra knowledge that actually delve into a topic's history and descendant path (Internet Protocol > IPv4 > IPv6).

By Rick R

Sep 27, 2020

Can't pack much more into the short videos... Bits and Bytes, what an adventure in information highway in the networking sense. On line material and presentation much different that ole school books. The main narrator - techie, does a great and enthusiastic job with tough material!

By Rina

May 25, 2020

It was a very informative course and at times a bit exhausting but I'm glad I continued and learned a great deal. Thanks to Mr. Escobedo for his explanation and attention to details. Just one little thing I did not care for (honestly) the "jokes". Thanks again, on to the next one.

By Gabriel O

May 20, 2020

Excellent contents and fun learning combined to create this wonderful course. Prior to now, networking was always looking complex for me and I just shy away from it. At the end of this course I can now say I've learnt a whole about computer networks and my confidence has improved.

By Moliya S H

May 17, 2020

Hello, My Name is Shantanu and I am very happy to share my journey

By this journey I learned Bits and Bytes from basic to advance and I specialy thanks to Alex for teaching such a great manner. So, for that I want to thanks Team Coursera and Team Google IT Support. Thanks for that.

By Cameron L

Apr 30, 2020

I've taken part in the Comptia program "Test Out" which is supposed to be the top of the line computer teaching resource, but I know for a fact that 60% of what I was taught in this course wasn't mentioned at all in the before mentioned program. I am happy that I took this course.

By Edgar C

Nov 3, 2019

I learned a lot of new stuff about how networks operate and which protocols they use to transfer every bit of data to the user from a server. All the material looped back to previous lessons making it easier to relate it and understand the concept of how it works and what it does.

By Supachat C

Dec 12, 2021

Compare to part 1, this part is quite difficult. With a lot of unfamiliar technical term throwing on and on, sometime it need to review again and again. But this part give me more a lot of detail that I do not understand before. Even though I used to troubleshoot my home network.

By Ramon L O

Aug 10, 2019

I've worked on week 1 only but so far so good... I've been able to actually learn some other stuff I didn't know. I mean, the way the course and the practices are being explained one after the other have been explained clearly enough for me to understand and remember the course.

By Odey

May 20, 2019

The course was amazing, My friends warned me that the networking being very hard to understand but in this course, I've understood all the difficult terms and ideas while it doesn't matter how many times I replayed the videos :-)

Thanks for Kiron.ngo, Coursera and 216.58.211.110

.

By JD D

Apr 9, 2019

This course was really helpful to understanding how devices communicate through networks. I found it challenging at times but all the tools were there to develop a better understanding. I feel confident that I understand all the important and fundamental components of networking.