Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
36,632 ratings
8,320 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

AY

Dec 30, 2020

The course had some ups and downs, but it was a good challenge and I did it! I learned so much and I never knew I could do this kind of course. I have gained so much knowledge now from when I started.

TS

Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 8,402 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By SUVAJIT M

Mar 28, 2020

Very informative and very helpful and I wish to learn more from the respected teachers and my fellow learners too, I want and have urged to learn more in the upcoming lessons, keeping in mind not to offend anyone in this process of learning. Have a nice day & stay safe.

By Klayton f

Mar 6, 2019

This was a very helpful course! I thought I used to have a relatively good understanding about networking but my after completing this I realize my knowledge was very basic before! Thank you for covering networking in depth, to the point, and keeping it interesting!!! <3

By Mik-Tricia M

Nov 30, 2018

Technical and challenging but I never felt more confident in the knowledge I've gained from it all. I recommend to supplement this course with your own research, you will not only gain a deeper understanding, you'll also feel like a pro by the time you finish the course.

By Rafiq E M

Apr 28, 2018

Very technical and semi-difficult concepts to grasp. I feel like this is very intense for a 2nd Course within the 6 Course program, but this is still a good course to go through and make sure you get a great understanding of networks and the Internet, among other things.

By Eli G

Sep 2, 2020

Very in depth but had to use other resources to really hone the knowledge required to understand exactly what was being talked about but pointed me in the right direction and spent a lot of time understanding this and at the end, I did learn and gain a lot of knowledge.

By Usha G

Jun 16, 2020

Very useful course. everything explained very well. for students more reading is need. But some concepts are not very clear. so provide some notes on basic concepts for those are not computer science background. i am really interested to continue this course next level.

By Gavriel A G

May 3, 2022

The course was definitely challenging, but being able to understand the overall from the foundational aspect helped me through this course. I think if the course can provide more hands on examples and visualization I feel I would be able to grasp the concepts quicker.

By Julia G R

Jan 31, 2021

I feel a huge sense of accomplishment after making it through the networking course. Google/Coursera take a lot of really challenging topics and break them into bite-sized pieces that allow you to build a foundation for learning more. I look forward to the next course!

By Marcia S

Aug 3, 2020

Kudos to Victor, he did a very great job in teaching this very technical course, he was very articulate, interactive and engaging. The course lay out was very easy to follow. I had no background in IT and I learned so much about and passed Computer Networking. Wohoo!!!

By Michael-Jon R

Feb 15, 2018

This is a really awesome course, it definitely is a lot more in depth than I originally thought it would be. Being more in depth made it somewhat more difficult as I thought I knew a lot more than I actually did. Very interesting and I definitely recommend this course.

By 吴俊鹏

Jul 30, 2019

I learn overall about the Internet working, even though I remember. I will relearn this lesson as long as I get through all of the lesson, because i want to have a overview about this lesson first and everything good thing will be learn for a few times to remember it.

By Kegan R W

Oct 18, 2018

Loved the coarse vary informative lots of info to download but I look forward to getting to the next coarse and learning even more I really enjoy learning from people who are like me and this coarse seems to have plenty of geeky interesting people showing us the way.

By Scott M

Apr 22, 2018

This was a really intensive six weeks but the course presenters helped break it all down and help me learn what was required. I do not have a strong networking background but I have found that I'm more interested in this aspect of the field than I had once believed.

By Mary H R T

Dec 7, 2020

This is a jampacked technical course but still digestible for stay-at-home moms like me who do not have computer science backgrounds. I highly recommend it, even if all you want to do is organize your own network at home. Be prepared to study smart and to work hard.

By Destini H

Mar 11, 2020

Awesome course. The supplemental readings are you friend as this course takes you head first into A LOT of information. It will weed out those who aren't committed to the specialization. I learned a ton in this course and can't wait to continue. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

By Hi

Jan 6, 2020

Very detailed and covered so much that I had learned from 20+ years of being a self learner of computer science, networking, and web development. Structured in an orderly fashion and with videos that are not too lengthy to stay focused on the materiel being taught.

By Stephen V

May 8, 2018

this course has expanded my knowledge and understanding of computer networking from the perspective of an IT Support Specialist and has provided me with applicable skills to become a more effective and marketable technician. thank you google and thank you coursera!

By Sharon B

Jun 26, 2021

I have completely enjoy the course and available learning contend. Resources were made available for individualized study. The student forum provided additional resource for occasional questions or help with roadblocks. Looking forward to next course. SB Jun 26,21

By Dani W

Mar 9, 2018

A lot of in depth info on networking. I have a much better understanding of the building blocks of networking as well as a better grasp on how all the parts work together. Victor is great. His personality throughout the course videos really helped keep me engaged.

By John W

Oct 5, 2021

This was a great overview of networking. It glossed over some things that are useful, but is a fantastic starting point if you know very little about the subject. I'm very glad that I took it, and have a good idea of what parts I need extra research to master.

By JOSÉ L R E

Sep 8, 2020

Honestly, this course was very difficult for me because I had to learn many concepts and abbreviations, however the use of the internet, communication networks and the cloud are important aspects to take into consideration if we want a job related to this field.

By Sayma B

Sep 6, 2020

I had no idea how in depth it would be! The course discusses really deep material but in a clear and simple way for a beginner to understand. I'm really grateful for that. The teachers are all really nice to listen to as well, which makes it all the more easier.

By Eric H

Oct 25, 2019

Great presentations and very detailed concepts presented in a straightforward and uncomplicated way. Presenters were clearly enthusiastic about IT and IT concepts and made it fun and make you feel like it is a possible career route for people switching careers.

By Grégoire L

Aug 28, 2019

Very good overview of networks. One thing I was expecting to understand slightly better would have been on how to setup a smart network. What should have been chosen for what purposes. How do multiple access points with the same name work. Else perfect training.

By Bishal G C

Aug 15, 2020

This Course is Awesome. even if it was quite tough to understand I got all fundamental knowledge behind how network works, how distant computer can communicate with each other, how a connection is established with key knowledge of the technology involved in it.