Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
33,382 ratings
7,639 reviews

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

AA
Mar 25, 2020

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

AM
Feb 18, 2020

Apply yourself to these terms and concepts and you will gain knowledge that is presented in a very understandable way. Watch and rewatch the course videos and I promise it will all start making sense!

Filter by:

7251 - 7275 of 7,697 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Jevante s

Aug 13, 2020

Many of the sections are missing the "Save notes" feature, which is personally, detrimental to my learning and understanding. It makes sections more time consuming and difficult to break down into something I can better understand.

By John L

Jun 28, 2018

The wireless channel on week 5's test wasn't clear about what a network with minimal overlap would look like based on its graphics. Maybe an example would help? I couldn't find a specific way to solve the problem that would work.

By hidenori n

Oct 11, 2020

Sometimes the reading materials explains very well and more helpful than the video. I think the slides should be presented longer than the face of the instructor, while the subject is explained, so we can trace the diagram more.

By Robertas T

Jul 22, 2021

A lot of pure theory to remember without real exercises. I feel like I have already forgotten a lot by the end of this specific course. At least I'll know what to search for on the Internet If I'll be working in Networking IT.

By Abigail M

May 24, 2018

The downside to this course was the lack of practical knowledge and application of material.

The upside was that the assignments were difficult enough to force you to understand what was being taught without being overwhelming.

By Roo M

Sep 30, 2021

The presenter was extremely irritating, many questions very badly written with ambiguous answers. The presenter should spend more time on clarity and ditch the ridiculous attempts to sound like my 15 year old pal!

By Peter K

Apr 12, 2020

Felt like some of the videos could have been slowed down so we could really ingest the material instead of it feeling so rushed and missing the little things that were talked about but yet were on the quizzes.

By Adam C

Jul 2, 2021

Over all, This course is presented decently, but there is so much to take in, i wish it was just a little easier to remember all the damn specs and acronym's and mambo jumbo. bloody hell, I'm not a computer.

By barrett r

Oct 18, 2018

Good basic information, did run across some conflicting information and was a little bland at times but that's the nature of networking basics course. Def would recommend if this is first intro to networking.

By Joel M

May 12, 2020

My only issue is that the information, especially in week 5, is very outdated. Knowing what I know of the current tech world, made it difficult to back date some of the answers to when the test was written.

By Darrell D

Jun 6, 2019

It's great stuff and really interesting, but there's just a lot of material. It would better if it was spaced out or broken up a bit differently...perhaps with more examples of how certain aspects are done.

By Angel L

Mar 13, 2018

A lot of this course had to be supplemented by outside material and forum discussions by classmates. A lot of the material you wanted to cover in quizzes and assessments were not well covered in the videos.

By Pedro O

May 30, 2019

Although the course has lots of interesting materials, I really think at least one qwiklab would greatly improve our skills in networking. Lessons are best remembered when applied in practical contexts.

By Wendell O

Mar 28, 2021

Made me realize how much i hate networking. 4/10 source material, 7/10 presentation. i'd've loved having qwiklabs (or however they're spelled) involving resolving and configuring networks on computers.

By Andrew P

Feb 20, 2018

The second week is overwhelming. People learn at different paces. Videos need to be broken up and explained more. People need to be available to talk to for help. More graphs and slow the lessons down.

By Edward A R

Apr 20, 2018

This course would be better done with the instructor writing on a chalk broad showing the step by step of things like subnetting. Which is complicated to understand without the step by step process

By Abhishek S

Apr 30, 2020

A lot of topics were covered and it's very difficult to grasp those topics via short videos. Either long videos or links to other good videos should have been shared in the supplemental materials.

By Kingsley U

May 27, 2020

I felt the course delivery was a bit mechanical. For a complex and abstract topic like Networking there sure was plenty of talking that felt more like reading from a script than actual teaching.

By Stephen P

Jul 5, 2021

Lots of technical jargon with limited explanation. I felt overloaded with vocabulary without a useful way of translating it into functionality. Overall a good intro course, but could be better.

By Alina

Nov 3, 2021

I​ wish the information in the videos would be more specific and more focused on what you should realy know. I wish it would teach you more on how to aply the concepts in real life scenarios.

By SureshKumar S

Jul 23, 2020

i thank coursera for studying and learning of networking of computers indepth i had gain lot of networking skills and it is very useful for apply in network field. i once again thankful to it

By Natalie T

Mar 18, 2021

Good content but it would be good with some examples of how it relates to for example a normal "home situation" i.e. give examples of how things work related to someones PC and home network.

By Stephanie D

Feb 16, 2021

Explanations were wordy. Week 2 was not presented in a way that a new learner could understand and retain. I spent a lot of time researching on other sites to try to cement this information.

By Paco F

Nov 20, 2020

focused too much on the bits needed more networks and cloud network as well as type on how to fix things as they happen. Yet the reading was helpful as well as learning from other students.

By Yahya A

Aug 22, 2019

The videos are really long and the amount of info is huge, also there was detailed explanation of topics that could be kept for advanced courses

Also the course need more practical examples