Chevron Left
Back to Construction Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Project Management by Columbia University

4.8
stars
3,281 ratings
807 reviews

About the Course

Construction Project Management introduces you to Project Initiation and Planning. Industry experts join Columbia University professor, Ibrahim Odeh, to give an overview of the construction industry. Professor Odeh teaches the fundamentals of the Project Development Cycle while guest lecturers discuss Lean Project Delivery method and Lean Design Behaviors. Technological advances, such as Building Information Modeling, will be introduced with real world examples of the uses of BIM during the Lifecycle of the Project. The course concludes with Professor Odeh discussing the importance of project planning and scheduling and an opportunity to develop a Work Breakdown Structure....

Top reviews

DC

Jul 21, 2020

I thought it was a great intro coming from my Architecture background and looking forward to the other classes. I did think the information was occasionally repetitive but overall it had a great flow.

SC

Apr 20, 2020

Excellent course for Construction Managers in Training. Gives you integral highlights on every area. Also update the technological tool to increase efficiency on the activities involved in projects.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 789 Reviews for Construction Project Management

By MdSaif

Aug 04, 2020

Construction Project Management (CPM) is a great course if one is beginning or wants to get into CPM. I learnt lot of nitty-gritty associated with trade. the course comprehensively highlights the importance of Risk assessment, even setting up canteen involves risk was clearly described. Basics of Work Breakdown structure, logical sequencing of tasks etc can be learned.

Thank you for curating such a course.

By Alfred e

Mar 21, 2019

Covers the subjects in good detail. I appreciate having instruction from people actively working in the industry. They were able to provide real world insight into the subjects being covered. The in-course quizes were a good check on knowledge retention. however, the instructions on the projects at the end of the course are unclear and do not reflect the vocabulary used in the videos.

By SMITA P

Jan 25, 2020

The course is helpful to understand the role construction manager, bonds and types of project delivery in a holistic way. It is well designed to describe the CPM in a simple and easy way also. However, providing reading materials along with each video would have been more helpful for people who want to learn more about a specific topic suiting to their interest.

By Ritwik S T

Oct 15, 2017

A good course with good information. Too much focused on building construction. Suggest a more common approach which includes other constructions including refinery / petrochemicals also. Material is still quite useful and connection can be seen to other construction types, exercises are bit challenging when one is not from building construction.

By Walid B

Feb 12, 2020

For a junior profile as I, it is a very well and rich program that is presentend here. The course is great and the speakers have a lot of qualities. The only "problem" is that sometimes, the course is only focused on construction in the USA, even if that point can give a great vision, it's not always adapted to the rest of the world. Keep going.

By Siying R

Aug 04, 2018

It is great to have practitioners as the presenters for the class.

The last bit of the assignments are confusing after listening to the lecture. Luckily the classmates helped out to clear the confusion. It is a good design to push people to interact with each other.

It would be great if the teacher gave feedback to the discussion topics.

By Shivam A R

Apr 03, 2020

Really helpful course and an extensive learning platform with enabled practical knowledge of construction project management field alongside it applications in the industry. Apart from the traditional book based learning learnt lot of new things with their significance when it comes to the real world implementation of construction.

By Dawood H

Apr 29, 2020

This course is great even for a Business Manager dealing with Architects, Property, Facilities Management.

Over all it provides insights and the Big Picture or 360 view from top of the construction landscape without going into depth. I would recommend to anyone who wants to have an overview of the construction contracting business

By Thomas M

Jun 21, 2017

I was impressed with the quality of this course but I'd like to see more detailed examples of Work Breakdown Structure. I think that this will be covered in greater depth in future courses, but it was hard to know what the peer-reviewed assignments were actually asking for without being able to see the grading rubric.

By Dylan C

Feb 24, 2020

I Really enjoy getting multiple teachers opinions on the same topics, I find it really helps the major topics sink into my head (contracts especially)

I found there was a few topics that could be eliminated such as BIM only because it seems to be a really complicated process that would most likely need its own class.

By Charles O

Oct 08, 2018

this course has really been helpful and instructive in my career path as an architect looking to fully understand the construction industry and its many facets. I do however feel that some of the information contained within the course work should be updated to reflect this current year 2018.

many thanks

By Mikk T

Sep 29, 2017

I found the course interesting as I am tipping my toes into the construction technology part. the course uses for most of it guest lecturers who are leaders from the industry and it is interesting. At times I would have wished a little bit stronger content but in general the course was good.

By Mitul P

Apr 12, 2020

well detailed and nicely organized. I love the fact that there are subject matter experts teaching the classes, though some of the information does get a bit repetitive between different presenters. There is some fluff that I think they can remove and stay focus on the topic.

By Ayman H

Jun 02, 2020

Excellent all encompassing course, only reason for 4 stars ( it deserves 4.5) only retains to the fact that some items pertaining to US rules and regulations need to be memorized which isn't useful if you are working outside of the US.

Much obliged for wonderful course.

By Daniel D H

Apr 07, 2018

There is a lot of information abouts bonds, and many of us foreign students don't use bonds at all. In the lectures they say that they orefer talking about bonds rather than about assurances, but for us it would be better to have assurances (or, why not, include both).

By Czarina B

Jun 26, 2020

A wonderful summary of common and best practices in Construction Management. As a practicing professional in a 3rd world country, I have now been exposed to new procedures and techniques that will solve many of the Construction Management problems in our country!

By Sokratis E

Jan 06, 2018

This was a very interesting introductory course. It contains a huge variety of information that opened new horizons for me. The most interesting part had to do with lean management. I knew nothing about it before and I'm already interested to learn more!

By Chukwuemeka D M

Jul 07, 2020

ThIs is very good for beginners. A good way to introduce beginners into the world of construction management. I will recommend that more practical learning examples or tools be introduced which makes for better understanding of what is being taught.

By Roopak P

Apr 26, 2020

Taking one simple project as an example and explaining the whole procedure of CM in a Single topic would have been a better way of ending the course with a Glance.... Any how it was really helpful of get ting to know the basic concept. Thank you.

By Ahmed A

May 01, 2017

it was very useful course specially that content about construction technology trends and the guys delivered it very simple and covered almost most of construction management topics. can't wait to the next course from columbia university

By Kat M

Mar 15, 2019

This course provides very academic information on project management, which I appreciate. I would have benefitted from more real-world examples peppered throughout, but overall it is very informative and covers a broad range of topics.

By Ricardo M T L P

Aug 07, 2017

Final assignments very interesting but with very specific and few evaluation. I think the guidelines should be more helpful, stating the need to refer all the technical aspects such as concrete formwork withdraw and concrete curing.

By Nicola G

May 08, 2020

Very beneficial if you want a glance into construction project management or need a review of some topics. Some modules are unnecessarily long (the BIM one especially). I really enjoyed the Lean theory module.

By YOUSEF E Y K

Jun 20, 2020

Good introduction to Construction Management, although it's not for beginners as the course states as you need to need to have some experience in the field in order to easily comprehend the discussed topics.

By Horacio B

May 15, 2017

Es un curso que me permitió afirmar mis conocimientos, adquiridos en el correr de los años y me mostró metodologías formales para cosas que hago. Me interesó mucho el BIM, que recién está llegando a mi país