Chevron Left
Back to The Strategy of Content Marketing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Strategy of Content Marketing by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
3,946 ratings

About the Course

This course is a partnership between the leading content marketing authority, Copyblogger, and UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education. In this course, you will learn the core strategies content marketers use to acquire and retain customers profitably. Specifically, you will learn how to develop, organize and implement a content marketing strategy, analyze and measure the effectiveness of content marketing, write compelling copy, use a strategic framework when writing, and build your professional brand and authority through content marketing. You will also learn how to put the ideas presented to you into action and build your own personal brand through content marketing....

Top reviews

SM

May 27, 2020

For those who want to start your content marketing journey, you may want to take this course. It focuses on touch base points but also goes into further details on what you need as a content marketer.

JC

May 25, 2020

For those who want to start your content marketing journey, you may want to take this course. It focuses on touch base points but also goes into further details on what you need as a content marketer.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,282 Reviews for The Strategy of Content Marketing

By I P S A W

Sep 20, 2020

good

By Prasanga N D

Jul 27, 2020

good

By Purnima b

Jul 25, 2020

Good

By AJIT K

Jul 23, 2020

good

By Keertivardhan S

Jul 14, 2020

Good

By DEBASISH B R C

Jul 12, 2020

Good

By Atyushraj Y

Jul 6, 2020

GOOD

By Ashutosh S

Jul 5, 2020

Nice

By jay

Jun 23, 2020

GOOD

By Kanimozhi V

Jun 22, 2020

Good

By Marcho R

Jun 12, 2020

Good

By Vajinepalli s s

Jun 9, 2020

nice

By I G S

May 25, 2020

good

By Het S

May 18, 2020

Best

By Sheikh M A

May 17, 2020

best

By Vito A

May 17, 2020

good

By ADIL R

Apr 25, 2020

meci

By Fhareza A

Sep 22, 2020

wow

By SEBASTIAN V A

Feb 2, 2023

.

By Sihle

Aug 17, 2022

n

By Anna

Jun 30, 2020

Generally a useful course and I liked the presenter. I know nothing about marketing so it was a nice introduction that's not too specialist but goes into enough depth to actually be useful (some coursera courses tend to be too vague and common sense based that renders them useless, this was not the case here).

The course overall created a favorable impression of UC Davis. I was actually offered to do an exchange with you last year, but declined as I was unsatisfied with the academic programme and the rude treatment I received from your staff, both admin and academic. Finding out about the pepper spray incident on campus and attempted cover ups by the uni was also pretty shocking. I would never study at a uni that treats its students that way. But after taking this course, It's nice to know that UC Davis has at least some decent staff who are friendly and have decent teaching skills. If you ever read this UC Davis, treating your students poorly affects your uni brand so please take lessons from the courses you teach and apply them in practice.

To improve: the podcast/downloading additional materials was very inconvenient, which is ironic, considering how the course emphasized the importance of clarity and and 'easy' customer experience. In this case, I am your customer and you're pitching your course to me; I wasn't impressed. Structure could also be improved. Some terms used also lack clarity eg acceleration. Perhaps it's a convenient 'A', but the link between expanding my network and acceleration of business is a bit too far fetched, which is again ironic, considering how the course emphasized the importance of matching words to the message you're trying to convey. More clarity would be nice. Tbh I expected a bit more critical reasoning skills from a presenter with a history degree ;)

Overall, however, not a bad course.

By FLORENCE R

Jun 8, 2020

This is a solid grounding in understanding the basics of how online content is optimized to market your services, products and you as a brand.

There are some technical weaknesses in that doing this course via your smartphone means you miss some of the cues for the additional materials - ironic since optimizing for mobile is one of the basics of content marketing. That's a bug I hope will be fixed.

Many of the videos feel very similar and become "meta" in that they are discussing how to build content that will market you yourself as a content marketer. It would have been more helpful to have a throughline of examples that are real world.

And finally -- this course is a few years old and does NOT cover the importance of Instagram or the rise of influencers as part of the tool kit. The course is very highly focussed on written content, no discussion of video or audio or how those elements work in content marketing in 2020.

But if you are a freelance writer or consultant who needs to market themselves to sell your services -- this is a good grounding you can utlize for yourself. Will it teach you how to navigate digital/programmatic marketing or create a campaign using social media platforms? No, you'll need to find that elsewhere.

By Alexandra M K

May 3, 2020

Pros:

*Good for people with a basic knowledge of marketing.

*Various topics are covered.

Cons:

*A lot of reading, which is quite repetitive at times.

*Course hours stated are not accurate when you take all of the reading/audio into consideration.

*Assignments could be explained better and with examples.

I have given the course 4 stars based on the fact that when I enrolled, it was free. So, I would say that for a free course it is pretty good and there are some useful topics, including headline writing/keyword research/empathy and experience maps. Overall, I have some good takeaways to explore. However, the repetitive and extensive reading made the course a lot longer than expected and a little tedious at times. I would have also appreciated more detailed instructions for the assignments and more examples of work throughout the course e.g. empathy maps/how to include the "7 As". It would also be useful for people like me, who are just starting out, to have more info on whether to trust stock photos, including free trustworthy sites and free keyword research tools, etc.

By Sharon H

May 15, 2020

I've learned a lot which I'm definitely going to put in to practice. This course provided a lot of usable information and whitepapers which is great. It really felt like a good quality course. A few critical notes: The workbook for the empathy map is vague, why don't you use a real empathy map as an example? A lot of people I've reviewed really had no clue how it was actually supposed to look or what they were supposed to be doing. The criteria used to grade peers is also different compared to what you're supposed to do in the assignments, I didn't like that either. You work hard on an assignment only to find out you get points on a lot of different stuff not mentioned in the criteria before you send in your assignment. Something that also annoyed me was peer reviewing, you get either lucky someone understands what they're supposed to be doing or you're screwed and you have to send in your assignment again to hopefully get a good grade. Overall a good course but could improve a lot with a few little tweaks.

By Ariel

Apr 20, 2020

This class was fantastic! I really appreciated the free pdfs and exercises. Ms. Simone's voice was so calm and soft while delivering powerful words. She went in-depth with content marketing and explained each segment really well and clearly. I will definitely review the content she presented once more!

One part that would have been wonderful or rather a bonus if she would have talked more about making your content portfolio and establishing your personal brand on your own website some more. And I wish we had access to the podcast/ interview with her colleagues. Other than that, I am well pleased.

The ethics and copyright section was crucial due to the online world we live in now. I am happy she covered this and emphasized to not lie when it comes to content. Followed by giving credit and permission when it comes to photos. This is very important and can save you a headache. (And money)

After taking this course, I am more confident about creating my own website and content. Thank you, Ms. Simone.