Chevron Left
Back to Converter Circuits

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Converter Circuits by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
947 ratings
188 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5701, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces more advanced concepts of switched-mode converter circuits. Realization of the power semiconductors in inverters or in converters having bidirectional power flow is explained. Power diodes, power MOSFETs, and IGBTs are explained, along with the origins of their switching times. Equivalent circuit models are refined to include the effects of switching loss. The discontinuous conduction mode is described and analyzed. A number of well-known converter circuit topologies are explored, including those with transformer isolation. The homework assignments include a boost converter and an H-bridge inverter used in a grid-interfaced solar inverter system, as well as transformer-isolated forward and flyback converters. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand how to implement the power semiconductor devices in a switching converter ● Understand the origins of the discontinuous conduction mode and be able to solve converters operating in DCM ● Understand the basic dc-dc converter and dc-ac inverter circuits ● Understand how to implement transformer isolation in a dc-dc converter, including the popular forward and flyback converter topologies Completion of the first course Introduction to Power Electronics is the assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

AG
May 22, 2020

A really good course on converter circuits. The way Dr. Erickson synthesized inverters from buck converters was eye opening. Many lectures overlook such basic aspects of power electronics synthesis.

SK
Jul 14, 2018

The course has intensified my interest towards the field of Power Electronics. One won't find such systematic and lucid teaching anywhere else. I am grateful to the instructors of the course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 182 Reviews for Converter Circuits

By Shounak K

Jul 15, 2018

The course has intensified my interest towards the field of Power Electronics. One won't find such systematic and lucid teaching anywhere else. I am grateful to the instructors of the course.

By Ibrahim A D

Jul 17, 2020

Good and straight forward. This is what education should be like. A more rigorous way of teaching does not necessary convey valuable information. Thank you and please keep it up

By AlfredoPérezRojas

Jul 25, 2020

The course is heavy, you should plan your timings in order to complete tests. You'll get a lot of practice using capacitor and inductors and transformers as well as switches.

By ouyangfan

Mar 3, 2018

This course very useful,because I have learned the topology of the electronic circuit ,and I needed to reviewe the knowledge I learned when I solved the quizzes,which

By Abhinav K

May 8, 2019

The 2nd course in the specialization is more detailed and explained thoroughly. Tough quizzes, great assignments! And Dr. Robert Erickson is amazing as usual!

By Scott S

Sep 7, 2017

Professor is concise and clear. Problems are challenging and what you learn in this course is excellent and directly applicable to real work design work.

By Luciano B

Apr 12, 2018

Very interesting course. All these dynamics involving converters are awesome. Congratulations for the course. Now heading for course 3. Thanks a lot.

By El M B

Jun 17, 2020

Very Very interesting course,

Thank you Dr. Robert Erickson,

Thank you Coursera

The most pleasurable thanks go to Ibn Zohr University, Agadir, Morocco

By Marcelo A B

Jun 2, 2020

Work with isolated and non isolated converters. Analyze converters in CCM, DCM and define the limits between the two operation modes. Good course.

By ممدوح ع م ع

Oct 14, 2019

Good thing we learned a lot during that stage and look forward to completing what we keep from those courses to complete the specialty thank you

By Shatrunjay P

Apr 13, 2016

This course was very knowledgeable. I found a great opportunity and a platform to learn something. Everything was awesome. And, I learned a lot.

By Gilbert G

Jul 26, 2020

This course is challenging and is everything that I expected, I really like how Dr. Erickson lays out the subjects, I definitely recommend it.

By Swastik A

Jun 20, 2020

The course was very helpful especially the Switch Realization part. It will be good it was told how to find the area of a waveform in LTspice.

By Abdul B

Jul 30, 2018

This course is so awesome it have blown my mind. Thank You Coursera. Thank You University of Colorado for bringing such a great course to us.

By Muhammad A A Q

Jan 31, 2021

A real Hard Course designed for professional people. If you are good in Circuits, do come, but if you are weak... You may Get in TROUBLE!!!!

By Giovanni F C G

Feb 17, 2020

It was a bit complicated that part 1 of this course, but now i understand a lot of thing about converters. I'm going to the next one!

By Nishchay K

Jun 5, 2020

Tricky one, makes your brain work really well to get the solutions and once you start getting stuff, it gets thrilling to solve more!

By Lionel M

Jul 29, 2018

Course materials are clearly explained. While the quizzes are really tough, they help you consolidate all the learning you have done.

By Abdul R

Jan 14, 2017

Very helpful course. This course has helped me in getting a good insight into Power Electronics. Thanks alot Dr. Robert Erickson.

By Ramesh S

Dec 10, 2019

I love the course but difficult in understanding. so need to review again and again for deep understanding by managing the time.

By PALISETTY P S

Oct 21, 2019

Very good course. In order to complete assignments, one should genuinely work. Will get too know much better about converters.

By Shubhangi T

May 6, 2018

Learnt a new converter topology "forward converter", the quizzes were of nice level I enjoyed learning !

Thanks professor !

By Javier A L C

Jun 8, 2020

Great course! It was really interesting for me. Learned a lot and got to remember old concepts. Totally recommended.

By David M

May 15, 2017

this class is great! highly recommend if you want to increase your knowledge of most commonly used DC-DC typologies!

By Shaun L

Jan 10, 2018

I loved how it wasn't so easy, but at the same time, very doable. The lectures are great, too. An amazing course!