Chevron Left
Back to Converter Control

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Converter Control by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
558 ratings
117 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5702, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course teaches how to design a feedback system to control a switching converter. The equivalent circuit models derived in the previous courses are extended to model small-signal ac variations. These models are then solved, to find the important transfer functions of the converter and its regulator system. Finally, the feedback loop is modeled, analyzed, and designed to meet requirements such as output regulation, bandwidth and transient response, and rejection of disturbances. Upon completion of this course, you will be able to design and analyze the feedback systems of switching regulators. This course assumes prior completion of courses Introduction to Power Electronics and Converter Circuits....

Top reviews

TG
Feb 10, 2020

I am really happy taking this course. Challenging but the course really well structured so it helps a lot! My learning curve taking this course is huge. Thank you Prof. Erickson and team!

PC
Jun 25, 2016

The analysis and materials of this course are very useful. A great section. If the MATLAB script for calculating the converter Poles and Zeros can be provided will be even better.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 110 Reviews for Converter Control

By Hellenic S

Aug 3, 2017

Excellent Course!

By Ladislao O

Jul 3, 2016

Excellent course.

By Thai D N D

Feb 26, 2019

Great Course !!!

By PETER K J

Feb 12, 2018

Excellent Course

By abhilash p

Mar 17, 2017

Excellent course

By Vishwajeet K

Sep 2, 2018

Nice course....

By Frencell M

Mar 14, 2018

good course!!!

By Anant K V

Aug 13, 2016

Great course

By SURYA V

May 27, 2016

Good one !!!

By Julio E F

Apr 26, 2017

Nice Course

By Rubem P

Oct 31, 2017

Fantastic!

By Behnam M

Oct 9, 2019

Amazing!

By Akanimo I

Aug 21, 2018

Great

By Cédric L

Oct 12, 2018

V

By Miguel B A

Oct 2, 2016

E

By Vaishakh V

Mar 16, 2016

V

By Saar B

Nov 16, 2020

good practical course which give a unique insight in Switch mode control system.

the professor POV shows that a simple graphical construction of the transfer function can be sufficient and reduce the complexity otherwise needed to gain the same insight using exact computation.

furthermore a step by step explanation of how to contract a practical PID compensator is given .

I wish that the course would also contain a compensator explanation referring to the isolated (Flyback forward) converter using more practical topology (the control loop is isolated also).

By Kaushik M

Aug 12, 2020

The course was exceptional. I found this course assignments more interesting than the assignments corresponding to course 1 and 2. Overall a good way to understand the design aspects of Power Converters. Thanks to Dr.Erickson and his team.

I would also like to add that I have read Dr. Erickson's book- Fundamentals of Power Converters during my undergraduate studies, it was the most phenomenal book I have ever read to date.

By Andrew W

Apr 4, 2021

Nice overview of converter controls. One gets a lot more out of this course with some background knowledge related to classical feedback control.

If you want to get something out of this course, plan to take a lot more time (than advertised) to complete the assignments.

By Sayantan G

Nov 19, 2020

Along with the asymptotic bode plot it could have been nice if bode plot thru simulation could have been introduced with the help of Matlab/python (preferably python, as its open source tool)

By Maximilian Z

May 4, 2017

Unfortunately this course did not include the discussion feature as the previous two courses. This means if you get stuck there is no way of asking for help. Fortunately I managed.

By David C

Apr 27, 2021

Very interesting way of looking at ac circuit analysis from a graphical perspective. Makes visualizing the ac variations in switch mode power supplies less complex.

By Elyka A

Jun 2, 2016

Very good!

I think week 4 was very time consuming, in contrast with week 3, that was very light. Maybe these contents can be better balanced in the fuute.

By Jacky H

Feb 11, 2018

I spent enormous amount of time figuring out some assignment questions. Hope the idea of these practices makes sense in the industry.

By Andrew T

Mar 19, 2017

Great material however discussion forums is dead (despite hundreds of views), mentors are unresponsive to questions