Chevron Left
Back to Convolutional Neural Networks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Convolutional Neural Networks by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
36,676 ratings
4,761 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you how to build convolutional neural networks and apply it to image data. Thanks to deep learning, computer vision is working far better than just two years ago, and this is enabling numerous exciting applications ranging from safe autonomous driving, to accurate face recognition, to automatic reading of radiology images. You will: - Understand how to build a convolutional neural network, including recent variations such as residual networks. - Know how to apply convolutional networks to visual detection and recognition tasks. - Know to use neural style transfer to generate art. - Be able to apply these algorithms to a variety of image, video, and other 2D or 3D data. This is the fourth course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AR

Jul 12, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it would be awesome to see al least one training example using GPU (maybe in Google Colab since not everyone owns one) so we could train the deepest networks from scratch

AG

Jan 13, 2019

Great course for kickoff into the world of CNN's. Gives a nice overview of existing architectures and certain applications of CNN's as well as giving some solid background in how they work internally.

Filter by:

4501 - 4525 of 4,714 Reviews for Convolutional Neural Networks

By Emanuel S

Jan 22, 2018

Good explanations of the material but bugs in homework assignments and better explanations of tf usages is required for certain assignments. A refresher of tf via an additional assignment would've been nice.

By Daniel M d C

Jan 27, 2018

Good insights on the YOLO algorithm as well as in Siamese networks and triplet loss. Miss some more deeper understanding both in the lectures and the assignments, but I totally recommend the course anyway.

By Ashwin m

Jul 22, 2019

very good topics discussed ,facial recognition and facial verification assignments do not do justice to the complexity involved.practical knowledge gained is less compared to other modules prior to this.

By Carlos V

Jul 17, 2020

The knowledge is good, and the techniques taught are valuable; however, having to use a deprecated version of TensorFlow is annoying and a lot of this will have to be re-learned to be put into practice.

By Hagay G

Apr 26, 2019

Course is very informative.

Unfortunately, unlike other courses in the spec, there were quite a few bugs in the notebooks and they took quite a while to load due to the sheer weight of the models loaded.

By David v L

Jan 02, 2018

Face recognition is a bit oversimplified, there is more to it that a simple accuracy metric. Priors are involved, which are included in the NN training, but should really be disassociated in evaluation.

By João G V

Jan 23, 2020

In contrast to course 1 and 2, I've found the videos to be rather shallow (no pun intended), in the sense that, in my opinion, they haven't explained thoroughly the techniques' underlying mathematics.

By Joscha O

Jan 03, 2018

This is a very interesting and well structured but the assignments in week 4 got alot of bugs, grading gives zero points for the right ouput (according to the notebook) and ten for a wrong one...

By Swaraj L

Apr 04, 2020

The course starts normal but suddenly gets very confusing from the start of week 2. Also it gets a bit difficult to understand things later on. Otherwise its very good course and i enjoyed it

By George C

Jan 15, 2018

Some frustrating issues with the week 4 assignments. I would also like some explanation on how to download all the related materials so I can play with the models later on my own machine.

By Michael A

Jan 08, 2018

The programming exercises in week 4 have mistakes in them that have been reported over 2 months ago and still not fixed.

I would expect a payed course to exhibit a higher responsiveness.

By Mario S

Jun 20, 2018

Content: good! state of the art!Lecture: to many cut mistakes of the videos such that many sentences are repeated.Exercises: content ok but notebook functionality and grader too buggy!

By Bashyam A

Nov 25, 2017

The lectures were pretty good - however, the programming exercises were rather error-prone. Huge thanks to the Discussion Forum where other students had posted trouble-shooting tips.

By Roya K

Dec 08, 2017

content was good,Yolo was hard and i still does not suggest,wasted too much time on exercises,when the answer was not match it passed! very bad experience with the exercise part.

By Till R

Mar 07, 2019

Would have liked to learn more about why various architectural choices are made when building deep networks. The nitty-gritty details and Python exercises were a little boring.

By Mostafa M

Aug 30, 2019

The last week (week 4) was not explained in enough detail. I was often frustrated because i was finding myself not fully understanding the concepts because of missing details.

By Claire L

Mar 04, 2018

Content was great but the grading issues with the homework assignments made this course very time consuming and frustrating. Will recommend it when grading issues are fixed.

By Aditya K

Apr 16, 2020

The theory part is outstanding, concepts explanation is great but the programming assignments are not updated to TensorFlow 2.x that's an issue else everything was nice.

By Marco L S

Dec 10, 2019

I hoped there would have been a more theoretical explanation and also talks about why some nets are done in this way rather than another; it seems like it's all magic.

By Arjun V

Mar 18, 2020

Liked the concepts overall. The tieing up of basics concepts across different use cases could've been better explained from first principles and for better intuition.

By Amit A

Sep 02, 2020

Andrew Sir explanation is awesome, but please do explain concepts in videos also, as some programming assignments contain data, info that we are not having knowledge

By Sebastien M

Aug 01, 2018

I spend 1 week on the last assignment due of one bug. I am disappointed but the content of the course was good. Please next time react faster for correcting bugs

By Stanislav C

Jan 29, 2018

Grader in the last assignment is wrong. It has been reported in the discussion forums several months ago and still hasn't been. Apart from that, great content

By Jesus A F

Jan 20, 2018

The course gives you a good introduction to NN. However, the grading is buggy, and the content rather superficial. It gives you a false sense of achievement.

By Stefan M

Jun 14, 2019

The homework assignments, compared to the other courses, where pretty low in quality. If these errors get corrected, I'd happily give this course 5/5 stars.