Chevron Left
Back to Convolutional Neural Networks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Convolutional Neural Networks by deeplearning.ai

4.9
stars
36,078 ratings
4,654 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you how to build convolutional neural networks and apply it to image data. Thanks to deep learning, computer vision is working far better than just two years ago, and this is enabling numerous exciting applications ranging from safe autonomous driving, to accurate face recognition, to automatic reading of radiology images. You will: - Understand how to build a convolutional neural network, including recent variations such as residual networks. - Know how to apply convolutional networks to visual detection and recognition tasks. - Know to use neural style transfer to generate art. - Be able to apply these algorithms to a variety of image, video, and other 2D or 3D data. This is the fourth course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

RS

Dec 12, 2019

Great Course Overall\n\nOne thing is that some videos are not edited properly so Andrew repeats the same thing, again and again, other than that great and simple explanation of such complicated tasks.

AG

Jan 13, 2019

Great course for kickoff into the world of CNN's. Gives a nice overview of existing architectures and certain applications of CNN's as well as giving some solid background in how they work internally.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 4,607 Reviews for Convolutional Neural Networks

By Arkajyoti M

Jun 10, 2019

Thank you so much for this wonderful course.

I have only one suggestion there's a lot of bugs in the notebooks, especially the last one Week 4 Happy House Face recognition. Please fix that as a lot of weights are missing and completing that exercise involves a lot of hacks.

By Alex B

Oct 12, 2018

The most challenging course in the series so far, it was also the one that helped me best understand how these networks function. I have already recommended this course to colleagues, and think it is the perfect course for an intro to computer vision, tensor flow and Keras

By Arun P R

May 01, 2020

Its is the finest and greatest course I have ever seen on Convolutional Neural Network. It feeds a lot of intuition on the field of Computer vision and CNN impact on it. It goes through many state of art algorithms and revolutionary implementations of Deep neural network.

By Ruthuparna K

Aug 25, 2020

I am thoroughly satisfied with this course, as it gives a very in-depth knowledge into CNN and their applications, while also giving an introduction into TensorFlow and Keras. Andrew Ng is amazing as always. I loved the interesting things we got to do in the assignments.

By aditya g

Mar 17, 2018

Very nicely prepared and presented. Assignments gives good insights into concepts learned while for yolo,neural styles, face recognition problems eagerly looking for building CNN architectures from scratch & training them in future courses. Thanks a lot Andrew & Team..!!

By Serzhan A

Nov 20, 2017

The best course in the series so far. Andrew Ng makes the complicated seem easy and does so by dividing the topics into small digestible pieces. You will binge-learn his courses because of how addicting and gratifying the experience of learning is made by the instructor.

By Danilo B

Aug 09, 2020

This course is perfect at introducing a newcomer to CNNs and at the same time covering many applications of this type of neural network. I like how even though the papers mentioned are sometimes 5 years old Professor Ng and the team is able to create such a good course.

By Elio M

May 03, 2020

Great course once again! It would benefit by having the programming exercises for weeks 2-4 somewhat less trivial, in order to trigger more thinking on the different solutions and how/why they work. It remains still another great piece of work by Andrew Ng. Thank you!

By Mihai P

May 29, 2020

This course exceeded my expectations. It is very robust and covers a lot of state of the art topics that are really used nowadays. I'm really excited about the knowledge i've gained from this course because it offered a great value that cannot be measured. Thank you!

By Priya k

Apr 13, 2020

This course is really amazing. I would highly recommend this course!! It gave me a clear insight into several concepts like Face recognition. The video lectures covered all topics in detail. I would like to thank the instructor for providing such a wonderful course!!

By Leonardo R C

Jun 01, 2019

This is a very interesting and fun course to take. You put into practice all the knowledge from previous coruses from the specialization and apply them in applications that are changing the world right now. As usual, professor Andrew explains every concept perfectly.

By Harold M

Nov 19, 2018

The best course by far in this specialization. This course covers all the important topics in Convolutional Neural Networks, face verification and face recognition.

You have to work very hard to complete it. Thus, it's a great challenge!

Thank you Professor Andrew Ng!

By Yoan S

Oct 05, 2018

These courses are VERY well put together and concentrate excellent concept in little time compared to taking the available Stanford CNN classes online which are verytime consuming for the same result. Andrew is motivating and makes difficult concepts very accessible.

By Xavier S P

Dec 20, 2017

The idea of inserting convolutions into the net and in the back propagation is really cool yet so simple to implement after watching those lectures. It makes sense why image simplification via convolution in layers can greatly help performance in a deep learning net.

By Abhinav M

Jun 06, 2020

I really love the instructor. He is the best teacher and a mentor. He has taught me a lot. I was nothing in Deep Learning, but the way he taught me inspired me of deep learning and machine learning. Now I am seeking my career completely into it. Thanks to Andrew Ng.

By Arash A

Mar 15, 2020

Such an amazing course. Andrew is such a great instructor. Actually, it is thanks to this course and the whole Specialization that I'm making now my own career as Chief AI Scientist for a Health Tech Start Up.

I'm endlessly grateful to Andrew and this Specialization!

By 梁礼强

Apr 02, 2019

this course is pretty good,but the some of these techniques introduced in class are slightly out-of-date,such as yolo v2 and this version of neural style transfer. It's OK as an introduction, but it may be better to mention the latest or general version algorithms.

By Yebei R

Jul 02, 2020

This is an advanced course in the series since the convNet is more complicated than the plain deep neural networks. However, it is very helpful for people who wants to learn more about CNN and its applications on object detection, face recognition and verification.

By Nilanka W

Jan 14, 2018

This course taught how the latest computer vision systems works. The content is really great and the lectures and mentors have put a lot of effort in creating the assignments and notebooks, which are high quality. recommend to anyone who are interested in the field

By Rúben G

Oct 20, 2019

Through this course I understood how modern Computer Vision tasks are addressed with CNN. Also I learn that a CNN can be combined with a FCN. I further understand better the notion of the neural network and the advantage/disadvantage of having more or less layers.

By Hemant J

Jun 26, 2020

Thanks to Andrew Ng for very structured and easy to understand course designed on Convolutional Neural Network design, it really helped not only gaining the CNN understanding but it's application to solve image verification, detection and recognition effectively.

By Michael F

Nov 01, 2018

The best in this series of courses so far. The maths was hard, and the programming assignments were accordingly at a higher level. But the applications of ConvNets are so fascinating, and their implications so profound, that I enjoyed every moment of this course.

By Pavan K V

Jan 19, 2018

the best course out of all 4 in deep learning.The best thing i liked most in this course is the applications such as

1) Image classification/Image recognition

2) Object detection-Automatic Car Driving

3) Face Verification and Face Recognition

4) Neural Style Transfer

By Zhao Y

Nov 25, 2017

This course gives me a deep understanding of CNN and also introduces me some latest information about face recognition. It makes me have an access to learn AI in an efficient way. Words seem to fail me when I want to show my gratitude to the teachers and mentors.

By Gautam K

Jul 08, 2020

This course is awesome. It helps in learning CNN in a very easy way. Concepts are taught in a fantastic way that makes it easily understandable. Programming exercises are designed in a way that makes typical concepts easy and is based on practical applications.