Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Sustainability. Understanding and Seizing the Strategic Opportunity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Sustainability. Understanding and Seizing the Strategic Opportunity by Università Bocconi

4.6
stars
466 ratings
118 reviews

About the Course

The achievement of a balanced economic, social and environmental development - as expressed in the UN Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development - is recognized as one of the major challenges humanity is facing today. What is less clear is whether and how organizations can generate business opportunities and value for their stakeholders while tackling such challenges. In this course, thought leaders in a wide variety of management and economics fields illustrate how to assess and seize the opportunities offered by these global emergencies. They will offer new ways to understand the purpose and the logic of success of the business enterprise in this new context, providing ideas and examples on how to manage the transition process to realize the value creation potential from corporate sustainability for all involved stakeholders. Learning objectives The course will allow you to: - Understand What the macroeconomic and microeconomic consequences of both climate changes, poverty, hunger, gender or race discriminations, lack of communication between the State, Civil Societies, and businesses, etc are. - Understand Why it is important for businesses to tackle sustainability issues in order to create more and better business opportunities; - Learn How each individual, organization and system can start to analyze its behaviors and change towards more sustainable practices and models....

Top reviews

EP
May 25, 2020

This is an extremely detailed and informative course, ideal for someone looking to expand their knowledge of sustainability issues and the strategy required to address them in a corporate context.

CL
Aug 25, 2020

I enjoyed this course, it was very detailed in explaining what exactly Sustainability means and how it partners with a successful business. Great course and good information!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 118 Reviews for Corporate Sustainability. Understanding and Seizing the Strategic Opportunity

By Mostafa M A E

Mar 25, 2019

How can I receive my certificate!

By Silvia R

Sep 13, 2019

very intersting and very useful

By David D

Apr 30, 2019

Well put together, very helpful

By Slavisa D

Feb 29, 2020

Great! Thank you very much!

By Juan H

Apr 19, 2020

Excelente, muy completo!

By Isabela M

Oct 31, 2019

Great course!

By Dr V K S G

Oct 28, 2020

excellent

By Matteo U

Apr 15, 2018

Love it!

By Crony C

Feb 4, 2021

Awesome

By Mona A A

Jul 19, 2020

good

By TUSHAR U

Jan 27, 2021

-

By Marco R

Nov 16, 2020

Interesting course. Not all of it was news to me as I am involved in various CSR efforts in the workplace, so be warned that experienced people may be somewhat bored at times. But some of it was indeed unknown to me, In some cases very stimulating, I particularly recommend Frank Boek's classes and the conversation between Zollo and other specialists. I am satisfied to the extent that I advised people I taught in testimonial to a master class about CSR to enroll here. I think it unfair to say - as mentioned in another review - that the quality of English could be improved. It is perfectly understandable English, somewhat accented (with various European-like accents), but mostly actually high quality. Be warned that the 80% threshold for passing tests usually means all answers must be right bar one, and sometimes the questions are about something mentioned in passing so you may have to review the lecture. My advice is to search the text.

By Sadie W

Jun 29, 2020

The content was excellent and very in depth. Really excellent scope to receive for free. However, I think the quizzes at the end could be improved - the questions are a little abstract and do not always refer to the course content, which can trip you up. However, this does mean you do more research, so maybe not a bad thing! The essay title also could have been worded slightly better as when I was peer grading, I found quite a lot of variety in the understanding of the question. However, fantastic course where I really feel I have learnt a lot of value - and a lot which is applicable to my daily work life. Thanks!

By Bradley M

Jun 25, 2020

A well put-together course in which I felt a lot was learnt. Having a range of tutors run the 'lessons' was very useful in avoiding the course feeling repetitive and also beneficial in getting different views and opinions on how best to tackle the issue of corporate sustainability. Bringing in company founders was especially interesting, as well as some of the readings from well-known professors.

My only piece of constructive criticism would be that some of the videos weren't as easy to understand and or follow. The voice-text function worked well though and helped to limit this slight problem.

By Carolina B

Dec 21, 2020

Overall the course included a wide range of very well put together content. It delved into Interesting topics with good speakers and definitely provided me with a lot of very interesting and useful knowledge. The only constructive criticism i would like to point out would be the fact that the quizzes could have focused more on understanding if the student understood the subject studied instead on the capacity to retain small details from a wide range of videos. Moreover, in my opinion, the essay directions were quite vague and confusing.

By Roberto G

Jan 27, 2020

I really liked the course. Specific:

- The number of participants, with different points of view.

- Real examples, 100% counted by the protagonists.

- The approach of the final work.

I would suggest, to improve as much as possible:

- A greater focus on the Business Case - would greatly help participants build Business Case in their work environments/companies. If companies with good sustainable performance are profitable, won't there be more tools to make a powerful approach?

By Timothy L

Jun 8, 2020

I really enjoyed the course as an introduction to Corporate Sustainability. The course gives a good overview of the whys towards a transition to sustainability and how to prepare for one. I think a deeper emphasis on the concrete actions to be taken while pursuing a transition towards sustainability would be useful as a add-on to the course.

By Giulia P

Jan 23, 2021

I enjoyed the course very much, although some of the concepts are repeated too extensively and, sometimes, the lessons may sound redundant. Overall, I really appreciated the different points of view proposed by the diverse teachers and their practical examples. Thank you Bocconi for this complete course.

By Natalia N

May 22, 2020

Very informational course! A lot of useful and trustworthy websites were provided. All of the articles and books were very interesting and engaging. It would be helpful to see some course managers' responses to the final work though. Thank you very much for the course! It was a pleasure!

By Giuseppe M

Jan 5, 2021

It's a very structured course, interesting, engaging and comprehensive. I've had some difficulties following some lectures because of the limited ability of the lecturer to deliver his/her content in front of a camera...but I could read the transcript anyway...

By lea h

Sep 21, 2020

The course covered a very wide range of topics on CSR from accounting to discrimination, closed-loop economies. It was very interesting but there was a lot more work to provide than is first stated. Some lectures were a lot more interesting than others too

By Luca C

May 16, 2020

My First course on Coursera. It is well organized and the content is very understandable and interesting.

If you have just a little interest in sustainability I suggest you try this course. You'll find it a good starting point in understanding the topic!

By Jio P D

May 18, 2020

The course is very interesting and overall well structured. Some lectures could be improved, but definitely worth the effort for everybody interested in sustainability and sustainable business.

By Yana B

Jun 14, 2020

I recommend this course to all those who are interested in the topic of sustainability and corporate management. It will be great to have more practical examples and case studies.

By Serena B C G

Oct 7, 2020

The content and insights of the course are really good and relevant in the context of Corporate Sustainability, but some videos are too long which ended up demotivating me