Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance Essentials by IESE Business School

4.8
stars
2,209 ratings
638 reviews

About the Course

Corporate Finance Essentials will enable you to understand key financial issues related to companies, investors, and the interaction between them in the capital markets. By the end of this course you should be able to understand most of what you read in the financial press and use the essential financial vocabulary of companies and finance professionals....

Top reviews

VM
Jul 12, 2019

Being a non-finance background, this course has cleared so many basics and fundamental. Videos are very useful, instructor has tried to make all the concept very simple and easy to understood. Thanks.

OB
Sep 25, 2020

I like the structure and the tests and ease of learning and note taking. supporting documents also were very helpful. the instructor was very well explaining the materials and examples. Thank you.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 627 Reviews for Corporate Finance Essentials

By Mason E H

Aug 2, 2016

Excellent course that really teaches or reviews the basics. The only reason I am giving it four stars (which could be unfair) is that I cannot give it 4.5. The only reason I believe this course deserves a 4.5 is the lack of problem sets or changing exams. I'd love to really master the concepts with different figures and situations. This course is still definitely worth your time and effort and is a great introduction or revision.

By DIVYA R

Jul 2, 2020

This course provides a very good framework to understand the key elements associated with a company's risk and return relationship, it's WACC, evaluation of investment options and creation of economic value addition. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I definitely have a much better and practical understanding of these important topics. Therefore, this course was really fruitful and enriching for me.

By Kapil B

Nov 6, 2016

This is definitely a great course. Prof. Estrada explained the basic concepts very well. Extremely useful for someone who doesn't have a financial background like me. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is that I wished the quizzes were a little more tricky that would help test my understanding of the materials. Overall, pretty good, thanks Coursera and Prof. Estrada for the course!!

By Tom W

Jun 28, 2016

This was a very good course for a down and dirty review of WACC, NPV, IRR, EVA, etc. The instructor covers the material well and I found that the reading material was a very good compliment to the lectures and helped embed the material for use in the assignments. I recommend this course for those looking for a review or an introduction to Corporate Finance.

By Carlos E B

Feb 29, 2016

It is a very good course. It explained very clear the fundamentals and principles of finance.

Also is free if you do not need a certificate.

It does not have very deep explanation of the formulas, so it is only good for people who only want to know and understand the principles.

By Mostafa

Oct 6, 2020

Was pretty useful and clear throughout all sessions except session 7 ( EVA ) the instructor was dealing with us as if we we had previous background knowledge of some sort and keep in mind this is an " Essentials " course it's supposed to be fundamentals.

By Jigar S

Nov 20, 2018

This is a course that focuses on the foundations of corporate finance. If you have no experience with corporate finance, I would suggest you to go for it. The instructor has explained concepts in a really easy-to-understand way. Definitely recommend.

By Abhinav A

Jun 17, 2017

The understanding provided by Prof. Javier is near perfect. His ability to make you understand what he wants to convey is commendable. However, the grades and quizzes can be made more challenging and interesting. They are way too easy right now.

By Juan J C T

Sep 24, 2020

Great course to acquire basic concepts on corporate finance and project evaluation. No matter your profession or job role, If you want to prepare yourself to a managerial position or work on your own entrepreneurship, this course is for you.

By Yalla S T c

Aug 17, 2020

The explanation was really good and it would have been much better if during class questions were asked in the course. I would appreciate if a quiz is prepared based on whole course at the end which helps our understanding on the whole.

By YUTING H

Jan 22, 2021

Content, materials, and exercises of the course are great. However, professor's language is not that logical and clear, and also fast and difficult to follow. The slides are also not that easy to catch as well.

By 李文倩

Mar 8, 2016

As the name implies, this course covers the very essential materials of corporate finance. And it focuses on the interpretation and application of WACC. The whole course is a preliminary for Corporate Finance.

By Didier C

May 8, 2021

Very good course, very clear, very practical and that focusses on the "why" and "what for" instead of the "how".

Too many repetitions during the presentations which is why I put 4 stars instead of 5

By Jorge V

May 11, 2020

Algunos ejercicios tienen errores que se deben corregir. En general el curso es muy bueno, dinámico, aunque en algunos temas se debe profundizar más, y creo que ya es tarea de cada uno hacerlo.

By Amirhosein B

Jul 23, 2020

this course is very helpful for students who have a beginner skill in finance. professor Javier Estrada delivers the points clearly and in the best way. I really enjoyed taking this course.

By Victorina H L

Feb 3, 2018

This course has accomplish my goals . I just wanted to refresh and update my financial knowledges , but this course has awaken my interest for the markets and for continuig learning.

By Arun V J

May 2, 2020

Contents are very well organized and explained. The quizzes could have been a little more challenging, that really tests if we understood the concept and can apply going forward

By Hayden M

Dec 9, 2018

Great introduction and overview of corporate finance. Some minor wording mistakes in the videos, but overall very high quality information at an appropriate level for beginners.

By Adeniji O

Sep 13, 2017

More complex than expected. I didn't have any prior knowledge to finance and struggled a bit. But its an overall excellent learning experience. Thanks Estrada for the lectures

By Daniel R

Jul 7, 2018

Professor Estrada gives a nice, but very basic overview of the concepts in corporate finance and how things are connected. The assignments should be more challenging though.

By BIBIN J

Mar 4, 2017

My opinion about this course is very helpful for people who are in the corporate finance field.As a Finance specialization student it has been created practical knowledge.

By Militsa T

Mar 7, 2017

Good explaining, very basic stuff. Readings are basically the same as lectures, but maybe help to really remember the knowledge. I recommend it for beginners in the area.

By Mark C

Nov 27, 2016

soon...basics of the introductory course for corporate finance.

And highly recommend the suggested book written by the speaker Prof. Javish <understanding finance>

By Harish S

Mar 29, 2020

The Course was very useful learned all the basics happening in the corporate World. How stably we need to take the Company's decision on the Financial Aspects

By Natalia S

Jul 7, 2020

The course has been amazing! at the beggining it was super fast and I was so lost but with each module its get better and better, super recommended! Love it!