Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
997 ratings
159 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to use key finance principles to understand and measure business success and to identify and promote true value creation. You will learn how to use accounting information to form key financial ratios to measure a company’s financial health and to manage a company's short-term and long-term liquidity needs. You will also learn how to use valuation techniques to make sound business investment and acquisition decisions. Finally, you will learn how to incorporate risk and uncertainty into investment decisions and how to evaluate the performance of existing investments. Upon successful completion of this course you will be able to: • Understand how companies make investment decisions that create value for shareholders • Use accounting statements to measure the financial health of a company • Forecast and manage a company’s short- and long-term liquidity needs • Measure the contribution of a new project or acquisition to shareholder value • Incorporate risk into investment decisions using the appropriate discount rates • Evaluate the performance of a company or divisions of a company This course was previously entitled Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Corporate Finance. The course received an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 177 reviews over the period of September 2015 through August 2016. A detailed breakdown of ratings and reviews received for the prior version of the course, which is identical in content to the current course, is provided in the course orientation page. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SS
Feb 8, 2020

I found this course to be engaging and interesting. The content was explained well. I greatly appreciate what I have learned from this course, and feel it will be helpful in my future endeavors.

AN
Nov 17, 2020

This course helped me to learn a lot about Corporate Finance, especially about mergers & acquisitions, LBO and IRR and many more. Mainly it was thanks to the approachable method of the teacher.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 156 Reviews for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

By Sanket L

Mar 21, 2021

The course is very nice for beginners and experienced both. It provides in-depth coverage of the concept of value creation, from valuation ratios to EVA. The Faculty's practical market examples give an inside practical application of what we have learned in the course.

By Dhinesh A D

Nov 18, 2020

Great course contains valuable insights on how corporate firms functions and decisions made on short and long-term. Materials provided and case studies offered are extremely helpful understanding the financial terms. Highly suggested.

By Aidana N

Nov 17, 2020

This course helped me to learn a lot about Corporate Finance, especially about mergers & acquisitions, LBO and IRR and many more. Mainly it was thanks to the approachable method of the teacher.

By Rodrigo D A

May 21, 2021

This is a very interesting course to Corporate Finance. It provides you with the fundamentals for Project evaluation, Forecasting cash and financing needs, and Merges and Acquisitions.

By Cristina G A

Jul 19, 2021

Great course! Very clear concepts and really useful for non financial profiles. I'm really happy with all the learnings I'll surely use in my role of risk manager.

By Wendy N C S

Jul 6, 2021

I​ like the classes but i thing is a good idea to make different exaples when they are trying to teach a new topic but beside that i loved the course

By Sergio C

Dec 26, 2020

Very interesting course, complex but well explained by Heitor. I recommend this curse of Corporate finance in conjunction with Investment II

By John Y

Apr 10, 2021

The course was more challenging than the typical introduction to corporate finance course, but the topics were interesting and relevant.

By miguel h

May 17, 2021

Good course, simple and clear, the only thing to improve is that there are some misspelling and grammar mistake on some ppt and quizzes

By Jasdeep S

Oct 30, 2020

The professor is very engaging and keeps the course interesting throughout its length. Thank you Professor.

By Gabriel J

Dec 14, 2020

Great information and presented in an engaging way. I really like this course and look forward to Part II.

By Lisa B

Jun 13, 2021

Great supplement to Corporate financing classes I had in my MSHA program. More detalied information.

By Nick N

Mar 3, 2021

Very Good Course!

A lot of important information.

Excellent Teacher!

Thank You!.

By Jobin J

Apr 15, 2021

Best in terms for learning basic financial calculations and terminologies.

By Sachin M S

Mar 18, 2021

It was great experience to listen & understand the whole concept.

By 刘寓伟

Apr 14, 2021

I learned a lot about M&As and how to evaluate them.

By JAMES C

Feb 23, 2021

Great course and professional experience.

5 stars

By Jorge A G O

Oct 28, 2017

Really like itr, nice examples, advance finance.

By Anton A

Aug 3, 2020

Interesting course by easy words. Thanks a lot!

By Frank A

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent course taught by a stellar Professor.

By Dieu P

Apr 16, 2021

Such a great course to recapture my knowledge!

By Stella A

Jan 27, 2019

Thank you, Heitor Almeida. It was very useful.

By Daniel M

Oct 18, 2020

A very insightful course with many lessons.

By Nuno M

Jun 11, 2020

Obrigado Heitor! Great learning experience.

By Ronald v D

Jun 13, 2020

Course material was very will explained!