Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
997 ratings
159 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to use key finance principles to understand and measure business success and to identify and promote true value creation. You will learn how to use accounting information to form key financial ratios to measure a company’s financial health and to manage a company's short-term and long-term liquidity needs. You will also learn how to use valuation techniques to make sound business investment and acquisition decisions. Finally, you will learn how to incorporate risk and uncertainty into investment decisions and how to evaluate the performance of existing investments. Upon successful completion of this course you will be able to: • Understand how companies make investment decisions that create value for shareholders • Use accounting statements to measure the financial health of a company • Forecast and manage a company’s short- and long-term liquidity needs • Measure the contribution of a new project or acquisition to shareholder value • Incorporate risk into investment decisions using the appropriate discount rates • Evaluate the performance of a company or divisions of a company This course was previously entitled Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Corporate Finance. The course received an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 177 reviews over the period of September 2015 through August 2016. A detailed breakdown of ratings and reviews received for the prior version of the course, which is identical in content to the current course, is provided in the course orientation page. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SS
Feb 8, 2020

I found this course to be engaging and interesting. The content was explained well. I greatly appreciate what I have learned from this course, and feel it will be helpful in my future endeavors.

AN
Nov 17, 2020

This course helped me to learn a lot about Corporate Finance, especially about mergers & acquisitions, LBO and IRR and many more. Mainly it was thanks to the approachable method of the teacher.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 156 Reviews for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

By Phuntsho D S

Oct 22, 2020

g

By Francisco I C M

Dec 21, 2020

Pros: Clear and well structured information, Practical exercises. Easy to follow.

Cons: Constantly uses of pet words during the video. Would like more complexity.

Overall: In general I really have enjoyed the course and it has helped me to settle concepts.

By Daniel D

Mar 21, 2018

I like the material and the professor's lecture style. It is very applicable to my experience as a product manager.

There seemed to be a lot of little errors in the notes and questions that should be cleaned up. Otherwise the course is great!!

By Shubham g

Apr 8, 2020

Good coverage of basic concepts of Corporate finance. Not much suitable for professionals / CA looking out for advanced knowledge as we have already studied 90% of what is being taught here.

By Wong Y H

Feb 27, 2021

Great course with good coverage of Corporate Finance. Course was properly planned with Quizes and Assignment in between to ensure that we understand the concept explained in the course.

By Stephanie K

Sep 11, 2017

Great course with a LOT of beneficial knowledge. However, it's a lot of information crammed into 4 weeks. In order to learn the material thoroughly expect to spend a lot of time on it!

By Andrew B

Sep 11, 2017

This course has almost too much information to grasp all the concepts in a four week period. It is a lot of work! I thought it was taught very well for the most part.

By Brandon L

Feb 28, 2019

Course contains some difficult concepts. The main benefit is the honors assignments and professor's explanations, which help students understand these topics.

By Achraf T

Mar 23, 2019

Very good start to refresh old knowledge but also to update it in regard to fast transforming market with innovative metrics and KPi s

By NARENDRA S

Sep 5, 2020

Very Useful and Informative in day to day, Professionally Instruction with helpful examples for better understanding

By Rutuja J

Nov 1, 2020

This course is helpful for increasing knowledge and content of this course is really good.

By SCOTT M

Aug 7, 2017

I would have liked to had a list of formulas as part of the resources for easier reference

By Sourin B

Jul 18, 2020

Fantastic, i have cleared my basic knowledge about corporate finance

By Giulio P

Feb 16, 2020

Very interesting all application and business case

By ANITA A

Sep 7, 2020

It was a very good class and was very useful

By Thekash C N

Jun 24, 2017

Nice introduction to corporate finance.

By Durpetti F

Mar 26, 2019

Very clear and interesting

By NAKKA V S B

Nov 28, 2019

Very nice intro

By Ponciano R

Mar 12, 2019

Great course

By Nida N

Sep 14, 2020

good course

By Anushriya J

May 5, 2020

1

By Dustin C K

Sep 19, 2017

Examples were hard to follow and the amount of information was too long to significantly digest the material. Lectures and slides need to be condensed to focus on the main points. On the other hand, great examples of real-wor

By Jana P P

Jul 20, 2020

it's not practical

By Sagar P

Jun 22, 2020

The course content is too much. Either reduce the content else increase the weeks duration. The exercises given are very good but lengthy.

By Simon M

Jul 6, 2021

I​ did not find the course interesting at all. The instructor's speech is not pleasant to listen to.