Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,004 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how to use key finance principles to understand and measure business success and to identify and promote true value creation. You will learn how to use accounting information to form key financial ratios to measure a company’s financial health and to manage a company's short-term and long-term liquidity needs. You will also learn how to use valuation techniques to make sound business investment and acquisition decisions. Finally, you will learn how to incorporate risk and uncertainty into investment decisions and how to evaluate the performance of existing investments. Upon successful completion of this course you will be able to: • Understand how companies make investment decisions that create value for shareholders • Use accounting statements to measure the financial health of a company • Forecast and manage a company’s short- and long-term liquidity needs • Measure the contribution of a new project or acquisition to shareholder value • Incorporate risk into investment decisions using the appropriate discount rates • Evaluate the performance of a company or divisions of a company This course was previously entitled Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Corporate Finance. The course received an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 177 reviews over the period of September 2015 through August 2016. A detailed breakdown of ratings and reviews received for the prior version of the course, which is identical in content to the current course, is provided in the course orientation page. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

SS
Feb 8, 2020

I found this course to be engaging and interesting. The content was explained well. I greatly appreciate what I have learned from this course, and feel it will be helpful in my future endeavors.

AN
Nov 17, 2020

This course helped me to learn a lot about Corporate Finance, especially about mergers & acquisitions, LBO and IRR and many more. Mainly it was thanks to the approachable method of the teacher.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 159 Reviews for Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

By Michael G

Mar 3, 2019

Great Course the teacher is great and he is very dynamic. I am a CFO and I felt I still learned new things from this course.

By Anuar

Feb 8, 2019

Great course! Everything is understandable and easy to learn. I feel so excited about my new knowledge after this course.

By Jakkampudi S

Jul 27, 2020

Thank you very much coursera for the knowlledge been value added for me. great explanation by the professor.

By Sagar B

Jun 24, 2020

Great coursw ityh nice real life examples and their implications. Ample preactice of the same over the Excel

By Juan J T L

Jul 13, 2020

Excelente course! The professor is clear in the explainament and the examples are of real world.

By Atul K

Apr 8, 2018

Course was very interesting. The syllabus was itself a lot so that it gets easier tot understand

By Subrat G

Sep 14, 2017

E

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t course for corporate finance. The professor is great. I highly recommend this course.

By FILIPPO P

Apr 16, 2020

Prof. Almeida's way to teach is very clear. He gives a lot of practical examples, very useful!

By Ann M

Jul 5, 2018

Great course and instructor. Learned a lot that I believe will help me on the CFA exam.

By Kunal g

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent course and Proffesor is simply superb in making understand critical concepts

By Michael E

Mar 14, 2017

A lot of information in a short period but well done, I enjoyed the experience.

By Saiprakash R

Jun 20, 2020

One of the best financial courses and a great professor. Thoroughly enjoyed.

By Noman M A

Oct 7, 2017

An excellent course being thought by one of the best professors on finance

By Hercules C

Oct 17, 2019

Exceptional and already applying to real use cases at work! Thanks again!

By Sai K S M

Aug 3, 2020

This course helped me to look at the things in a difference perspective.

By 欧明兰

May 12, 2019

I think this course is very useful and the professor is pretty good

By Hussein A S

Mar 12, 2017

Great professor and great material; applied for everyday use at work.

By Fabrice M N

Aug 26, 2020

The course was very interesting i have learn a lots thank you all

By Pierre L

Sep 9, 2017

Excellent course. Very challenging and intense but rewarding.

By Ziba H

Sep 18, 2020

Information i got will be so useful for me.Thanks in advance

By Jacques P

Dec 14, 2017

Interesting material and covered well for the most part.

By Rishav K

May 13, 2020

Well Taught and Recommended to Beginners in Finance

By Kemi O

Mar 30, 2020

I learn a lot from the lecturer. Thank you Cousera.

By Artem A

Feb 6, 2020

Thanks for the awesome course on Corporate Finance!

By Luikaren M R C

Apr 7, 2019

Excellent professor, great examples and materials.