Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,118 ratings
1,376 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

DA
Nov 30, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM
Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 1,367 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Alina L

Feb 12, 2016

All the videos contain necessary information. The assignments are clear and very well structured. It is really a great course!

By Teresa H

Dec 13, 2021

I enjoyed taking this course and the information provided is truly assisting me with learning more about my craft. Thank you.

By Muhammad F

Aug 17, 2020

This course is helping me to be a good writer started with plot, and this course can improve my skills in writing in English.

By Frankie W

Feb 3, 2019

Brando Skyhorse's lectures were perfect. I truly hung on every word and I feel already I am a better writer for it! Thank you

By anant t

Jun 27, 2020

it was amazing. I wished to study more. I don't wanted to end it. Thank you so much for this opportunity you provided to me.

By AMY B

Dec 4, 2019

Very informative and the assignments are fun, thought-provoking adventures. I'm on the next course, the Craft of Character!

By Luz E R O

Mar 14, 2019

I did expect teachers to review the homework, waiting for peer review is not fun, but it was a good course and I enjoyed it.

By Marti J

Jul 14, 2020

I found the videos informative and entertaining, and the exercises fun and challenging. Thank you for this engaging course!

By Cordelia I

Apr 22, 2020

The course was very educative and the interviewing of established writers made it more interesting and applicable to life.

By Bengiamin M H

Sep 14, 2019

I enjoyed Brando Skyhorse's lectures as well as the overall organization of the first lesson. Looking forward to the next!

By Kathy K

Dec 26, 2018

This was the first Creative Writing course that I have ever taken and I thought it was fun and good a teaching the basics.

By Robert J G

Nov 8, 2021

V​ery informative and useful! A well-paced course focussed on a specific part of the creative writing process. Well done!

By Amnah M d P Z E

Feb 18, 2020

I liked the course and I think it's a very good beginning for aspiring writers, I really loved it and it helped me a lot.

By Irene V

Jan 9, 2020

First Corse of the specialization in Creative Writing. Very interesting and helpful. Can't wait to go on with the others!

By Richard O

Jul 23, 2019

Great course on how to develop plot! If you are looking for the how to specifically do it, I would recommend this course.

By Alfred K

Nov 27, 2018

Fantastic lessons on how to plot. teacher was very knowledgeable and I feel very able to go to the next level in writing.

By Angelo L F

Oct 22, 2020

I taught me a lot of stuff I keep on missing whenever I write. It's a great course for beginner and intermediate writers

By Luisa F S R

Jun 14, 2020

The classes are short but very clear. The development of the exercises allows the application of the acquired knowledge.

By sarveno i

Apr 2, 2020

I love the course!there were lots of things to learn and share with others.thanks a lot for every thing.nice syllabuses.

By Linda S E A

Jan 29, 2020

I completely adored this course. It gives you the basic tools in such a way that it allows you to gain knowledge easily.

By Paul M

Nov 13, 2016

This course filled in the blanks for me as a writer. I love the way it is delivered and presented by Brando.

Thank you.

By Shaz Y

Nov 10, 2016

This course is what I was looking for. I wanted to learn the main aspects of story and plot structure and now I know! :)

By Ilya N

Mar 7, 2016

Very well lead, clear explanations and great content. I found this course both useful and delivering to my expectations.

By sally g

Mar 11, 2016

Very educative with the knowledge I have gained from this I feel I've come out with much more than just valuable notes.

By Holly K H

Jul 25, 2021

T​his is what I needed to move my writing forward. This helped explain why my stories were good, but not well-written.