Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,079 ratings
1,366 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

LB
Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM
Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 1,357 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Prabhjot K

Aug 31, 2020

Loved the course. The instructor has lucidly explains things at every step. I'd say, it has really helped me.

By Johan F C

Aug 13, 2020

It was an excellent course, it helped me a lot with my writing skills, specially how to structure my stories,

By A. J

May 16, 2020

It was a really fun course! My awaited parts are the peer reviews and when our teacher invites other authors!

By Deleted A

Jul 14, 2020

I am very impressed by the course content and mentors way of teaching. so clear and very easy to understand.

By Tanya D

Jul 12, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. The information I've learned with this course is invaluable. Thank you so much.

By Bhavika D

Jun 1, 2020

This course has helped me level up my skills. It is the most systematic course that I have ever come across.

By Saraid S

May 17, 2020

Realmente excelente curso, me hubiese gustado un poco mas de contacto con los compañeros. De resto todo bien

By Carlos T T R

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent videos, excellent explanations and really clear instructions and examples. I'm loving this course!

By Angelica S

Nov 11, 2019

It challenged me and pushed me to write! I found the teaching very informative and enjoyed the assignments.

By Pierre-Alain G

Mar 10, 2018

I have throughly enjoyed this course. Especially the interviews with authors were very inspiring. Thank you.

By Jeremy M

May 5, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Very clearly articulates a number of consideration when drafting a plot.

By Lucille G V P

Jul 2, 2020

I was able to hone my skills in writing about story plots. I learned a lot from the videos and assignments.

By Barbara L

Jun 18, 2020

Tive uma ótima experiência no curso de escrita criativa, e um ótimo direcionamento para as minhas criações.

By Marie H

Apr 15, 2018

I loved Brando Skyhorse! He was so relatable and unpretentious. His lessons were clear and straightforward.

By T L S

Aug 5, 2017

Brando is a captivating speaker and gives clear instruction that has already improved my writing immensely.

By Thangella S

Nov 6, 2020

This was one of the best courses so far. I have learnt a lot of things which I didn't know before. Helpful

By Egal E

Jan 17, 2018

Love this course. It has re-ignited my will to pursue writing again and ultimate finish a book possibly...

By Ayah B

Aug 19, 2020

This course is magical! the amount of info i got is unbelievable in regard to the simplicity of lectures.

By Amandip s

Dec 26, 2018

It was an amazing experience learning craft of plot. I surely recommend this course to my fellow writers.

By Renee C W

Sep 1, 2018

Learned so much from this very instructive course. Fantastic lectures and great, challenging assignments.

By po n

Jul 20, 2021

Extremely helpful and suitable for the beginner. The information that provided in the course were clear.

By tkalpanabharathi@cvr.ac.in M T K B

May 23, 2020

It is a wonderful course that helped me to improve my thinking ability and imagination skills. Thank you

By Claudia

Jul 1, 2017

So many useful tips and a wonderful structure to follow when creating a plot! I enjoyed all the lessons!

By Joanne H

May 24, 2016

Thanks to instructor Skyhorse for devising a course that is useful, yet not overwhelming to the student.

By PavanVyas

Jun 28, 2021

Very much enjoyed during the course time. Very useful content with varieties of interesting interviews.