Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
3,938 ratings
1,326 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

LB
Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

DA
Nov 30, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Filter by:

1126 - 1150 of 1,310 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Nicole B

Jan 13, 2021

It would be nice to get feedback from professors or graduate students or real writers vs peer since I'm not 100% sure I'm doing the assignments correctly. But the videos/actual lessons are great and super insightful.

By Alexandra L

Jun 24, 2018

I enjoyed it very much. Having tried my hand at writing, this was very helpful to see my mistakes and where I needed to pay more attention to my own writing. And SHOW! don't tell. OMGoodness, makes such a difference.

By Katrina C

Oct 2, 2019

I have enjoyed the course and liked the weekly flow of assignments. i have also enjoyed the tasks each session. i would have liked to receive at least one or maybe two professional reviews, instead of just peers.

By Fred R

Dec 21, 2017

I think I miss somehow contact with teachers, maybe because I have the sensation some of my peers live in a different galaxy. Maybe it would be a good thing to scale the reviews. But anyhow, an excellent course.

By Danielle L G

Dec 17, 2020

I feel like it would've been nice if, apart from peer reviews, we also get insights from professionals from the University on how we can further improve our writing.

But it was a really great experience overall.

By Eyram D

Aug 1, 2020

This course was amazing and the professor gave us the necessary information required to write our stories. Also all the GUEST writers who shared their experiences and opinions with us gave us a stepping stone.

By Francois C G

Sep 17, 2020

A good enough guide for lower-level writers, but all of the information can be found for free by listening to the Writing Excuses podcast. The real value is the crash course in peer review and receiving it.

By Teresa S

Mar 23, 2018

I really enjoyed the course and felt I learned a lot. However, the reviews often were not helpful or very well thought out. I would be nice if there was some type of review from a professor or professional.

By Ramesh I

Jun 18, 2020

many new ideas but with a limited scope. it is an interesting course where one can learn the basics well. I feel it can be stretched a bit more with a couple of more exercises and submissions as an option.

By Cornelia M L

Mar 14, 2016

The course modules are helpful and easy to follow. I wish to give it 5 stars but because we, students, failed to experience the professor's feedback even in some of our thread, I think 4 stars are enough.

By Harsha v r G V S

Sep 27, 2016

I loved doing the course, and especially while doing each assignment of writing a story. The short guiding videos were to the point and interviews with personalities was engaging, Thanks for the course!!

By Naima M

Feb 16, 2016

Extremely innovative exercises and guidelines. Really opens one s brain to think creatively. The intructions for assignments need a bit more clarification.

A worthy ue of hard earned money.

Thanks Coursera

By Victoria C L

Oct 23, 2016

Love the clear direct explanations. Would have enjoyed more examples, more robust practice examples and a longer class overall, to l earn more plotting, but love the prof. Brandon knows how to teach!!

By sebastian o

Aug 30, 2020

Great intro course. Picked up a lot of things an excited to learn more. Only thing is that Brando Skyhorse takes things a bit too methodically for my taste. Good guidelines but would like more freedom.

By Victoria C

Aug 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. I was hoping for some direct teacher contact with the assignments. Peer reviews are great, but it would be nice to get feedback for major assignments from the instructors.

By Hector V

Dec 7, 2020

Course is great, very clear and focused tips to improve one's writing. The peer-review is not that good and there is no instructor's evaluation and feedback. I understand that would be a lot of work.

By Andrea E M

Apr 23, 2018

This course really allowed me to grow as a writer. The content was adjustable for a range of levels and the assignments challenged participants to put into practice that week's lectures. Thank you.

By Deepak S R

Jun 23, 2020

First of all, I would like to thank Mr. Brando Skyhorse for bringing this electric course for aspiring writers. Next to all peers. Meticulously, It is a well organised one. Highly recommended.

By Andrea R C

May 16, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but it can be challenging to peer-review others and to be peer-reviewed when there is such a huge range in terms of writing skill and/or English fluency in the class.

By Andreas J

Jul 25, 2017

It was rather good.

Delivered a lot of information on how to construct a plot, and some good basics on how to build a character.

Learning about the ABDCE structure in particular was helpful.

By David C

Jan 31, 2018

The content of the course is very informative; however, the reviews from peers were, at times, unhelpful. For example, I was told by one reviewer that he/she liked that I used paragraphs.

By Andreas W

Aug 3, 2016

I learned a lot about doing it the better way, than I did. What would have been cool: The essential graphics from the videos and some school material to print out and work with it.

THX!

By Abhinav T

Jan 19, 2017

A very good course on Plot by Brandon Skyhorse. Would have loved to go in more details into scene construction and structure. That is why gave it 4 stars, else it was a clear cut 5 star

By Laura V

Feb 28, 2019

A great, easy-to-follow course that will suit anyone with a tight schedule. Navigating the website wasn't always straight-forward but I found all the information I needed in the end,

By Ashlee S

Feb 27, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would highly recommend it to new writers, old authors, editors, and anyone interested in stories. It was a great recap and refreshed the basics.