Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,532 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

LB

Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 1,519 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Juan S P S

Aug 16, 2020

This course is enlighting, I strongly suggest that everyone interested in crafting his/her first story take it.

By Zakia S

Dec 6, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved the heat of anxiety when i had to meet my deadlines. Phew. Thank you coursera.

By Hiobi H

Aug 20, 2017

J'ai trouvé le cours vraiment instructif et aspire à terminer cette spécialisation. Merci encore aux enseignant

By Arianna C

Mar 12, 2016

Really enjoyed it. The teacher makes learning fun and interesting. Also the assignement are pretty challenging.

By Erica C

Mar 14, 2023

This course was exceptional. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it will 100% contribute to making me a better writer.

By Baiba R

Apr 22, 2022

What I loved about this course is that it actually gives you the tools on "HOW"!

Exactly what an amateur needs.

By Lata P

Sep 30, 2020

I watched all the videos but could not access any assignments as I took this course just for seven days trial.

By Björn S

May 19, 2020

This was a lot of fun to complete and the reviews made me chuckle a couple of times. Loved every minute of it!

By Melissa S W

Apr 13, 2017

This is a great course. Although I have an MFA in Writing already, I learned valuable skills from this course.

By Eula C

Feb 17, 2017

Step by step instructions with excellent examples of the various elements used in writing and crafting a plot.

By Prabhjot K

Aug 31, 2020

Loved the course. The instructor has lucidly explains things at every step. I'd say, it has really helped me.

By Johan F C

Aug 13, 2020

It was an excellent course, it helped me a lot with my writing skills, specially how to structure my stories,

By A. J

May 16, 2020

It was a really fun course! My awaited parts are the peer reviews and when our teacher invites other authors!

By Deleted A

Jul 14, 2020

I am very impressed by the course content and mentors way of teaching. so clear and very easy to understand.

By Tanya D

Jul 12, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course. The information I've learned with this course is invaluable. Thank you so much.

By Bhavika D

Jun 1, 2020

This course has helped me level up my skills. It is the most systematic course that I have ever come across.

By Saraid S S M

May 17, 2020

Realmente excelente curso, me hubiese gustado un poco mas de contacto con los compañeros. De resto todo bien

By Carlos T T R

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent videos, excellent explanations and really clear instructions and examples. I'm loving this course!

By Angelica S

Nov 11, 2019

It challenged me and pushed me to write! I found the teaching very informative and enjoyed the assignments.

By Pierre-Alain G

Mar 10, 2018

I have throughly enjoyed this course. Especially the interviews with authors were very inspiring. Thank you.

By Vidhi

Jun 16, 2022

It was fun! I loved how the lectures held so much information and covered it all in a short amount of time.

By Susan C

Mar 1, 2022

This excellent course not only taught me the basics of writing a plot, I now read with much more enjoyment

By Jeremy M

May 5, 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Very clearly articulates a number of consideration when drafting a plot.

By Lucille G V P

Jul 2, 2020

I was able to hone my skills in writing about story plots. I learned a lot from the videos and assignments.

By Barbara L

Jun 18, 2020

Tive uma ótima experiência no curso de escrita criativa, e um ótimo direcionamento para as minhas criações.