Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,303 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top reviews

EG

Jul 1, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM

Jan 19, 2021

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 420 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

By Roy N

Jan 25, 2018

This was a very solid course. It introduced me to perspectives I hadn't heard before. I think my writing has improved because of the course. I am a lot better at setting my scenes.

By Maria-Isabel C

Feb 11, 2021

This was one of my favorites. It helped me understand the importance of observing every detail around me and unleashed my own style on description. I really enjoyed it!

By arya k s

Apr 2, 2018

This course makes you see your surroundings, it takes you back to your childhood and urges you to gather information from everywhere and tell it in a compelling manner.

By Karen R

Mar 3, 2018

At times the assignment title or the assignment itself didn't seem to fit the lesson for the week but the lessons were intriguing and got me thinking and writing!

By Regina

Jun 15, 2022

Excellent Course with an engaging professor! I felt progressively challenged by each assignment and gained excellent tips to improve my writing.

By Sandra D

Feb 17, 2019

Good course overall. Assignments are challenging. I think more study material could be added in the course to make it more interesting.

By ANGEL Y S V

Aug 27, 2020

Me ayudó mucho a mejorar mis descripciones. Siempre he tenido problemas con eso, así que estoy muy contento con el resultado.

By Dawn S

Jun 2, 2016

This is great course for challenging your perceptions of things and encouraging you to try out different perspectives.

By María d P E A L

Nov 16, 2021

I think more examples need to be provided to better understand how to craft a setting and incorporate time

By Sharon

Apr 2, 2016

I enjoyed learning about how to create a vitamin rich unit of fiction and the importance of specific words.

By abrar a

Mar 23, 2018

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

By Ian B

Jul 4, 2017

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

By Nick V

Feb 16, 2021

Great course, it made me discover different aspects for creating a setting that feels alive.

By Lubaba A

Mar 16, 2017

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

By Paula S

Jan 18, 2022

This course was good to remind me of the basics for setting and description.

By Bridgit

Nov 14, 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

By Rima A

Mar 24, 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

By Sumit S

Jan 24, 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

By NICOLAS S

Jun 8, 2021

comments on essays were not developped, great content anyway

By Naomi G

Nov 9, 2020

The course was good and Amity Ma'am is a good teacher

By Pawee S

Jan 8, 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

By Eternally P

Apr 27, 2020

Awesome course, awesome professors

By Perni

Nov 1, 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

By Lisa D

Apr 30, 2018

This class was fun and helpful.

By Ritu G

Apr 20, 2016

Very good course, thanks!