Chevron Left
Back to Creative Problem Solving

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Problem Solving by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
2,008 ratings
623 reviews

About the Course

This course deals directly with your ability for creativity which is a critical skill in any field. It focuses on divergent thinking, the ability to develop multiple ideas and concepts to solve problems. Through a series of creativity building exercises, short lectures, and readings, learners develop both an understanding of creativity and increase their own ability. This course will help you understand the role of creativity and innovation in your own work and in other disciplines. It will challenge you to move outside of your existing comfort zone and to recognize the value of that exploration. This course will help you understand the importance of diverse ideas, and to convey that understanding to others. The principal learning activity in the course is a series of "differents" where you are challenged to identify and change your own cultural, habitual, and normal patterns of behavior. Beginning with a prompt, e.g. "eat something different", you will begin to recognize your own = limits and to overcome them. In addition, you are encouraged to understand that creativity is based on societal norms, and that by it's nature, it will differ from and be discouraged by society. In this course, the persistence of the creative person is developed through practice. At the same time, these exercises are constrained by concerns of safety, legality, and economics, which are addressed in their creative process....

Top reviews

EN
Jan 17, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative and easy to follow. The videos were clear and the graded sections were great. The course as a whole was enjoyable and would recommend to others.

AF
Mar 1, 2016

SO INTERESTING AND FUN. Have you ever took a stranger'S secret and propose another stranger to take that secret in exchange of one of his? This course is an opportunity to do crazy stuff like that!

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 622 Reviews for Creative Problem Solving

By Sara I A

Feb 13, 2016

Very intelligent approach of incentivating the creativity. Maybe the videos shall give even more activities to do. But it is a very interesting course.

By Joshua F K

Jun 28, 2020

I think it is too short, but it is good enought to have the insight and main ide of how to be more creative. Thanks for the instructor God Bless u all

By Azim S

Apr 12, 2020

Its a very fast pace course and the confidence you build up is rewarding. Now after completing this course I keep finding creativity in each thing.

By Deleted A

Feb 14, 2016

This type of course I was looking for, which is fulfilled. It will help to explore and polish my creative abilities. Thank you for providing it.

By Smit M

May 19, 2020

This is very good course , the sir who was teaching was a littlebit scary but overall course is nice,it also improved my typing speed as well.

By SHIVANSH S

May 8, 2020

Good course, would have liked more practical exercises. Also a video conferencing /discussion online would have been cherry on top.

By Daniela A C L

May 1, 2020

It is a good course. However, it is a little bit short but nice. And also you will have fun doing some assignments. Good luck!

By Jyra L T

Jun 17, 2020

Thank you for guiding me to be more creative! I enjoyed my short journey and I also learned a lot. Keep up the good work!

By KAREN J S 1

May 11, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. This course pushes you to come out of your comfort zone and expand your range of thinking.

By Prathamesh R

Jul 14, 2020

Performing the activities are really very effective!

Huge Thanks to the instructors

Mr. Brad Hokanson & Ms. Jody Nyboer

By Krzysztof M

Feb 23, 2021

Good course, interesting performative approach to creative problem solving but not enough deep-reaching.

By Anna S

Jun 13, 2020

I would expect videos and photos of examples be more creative and different. Videos should be updated.

By Mohamed A A Y

Dec 13, 2020

Actually this course is very unorthodox it really inspired me to open up and think in a different way

By Yuki H

Jul 13, 2020

Interesting course projects that allowed us to use our creativity in generating new, fun ideas!

By Tennille G

Jul 27, 2017

This is a fun course that makes you step out of your comfort zone and embrace your creativity.

By Attila É

Jun 12, 2020

Very interesting and useful course, I love it. Some times the voice recording was not so good

By Arij G

Feb 14, 2016

Such a great MOOC, I really enjoyed it a lot!! My life is not the same after it anymore.

By S. M R U

Jul 13, 2020

i have learn many information and have a skill to improve my work in critical situation

By Sergio F

Mar 23, 2017

Un muy buen curso para entender y desarrollar la creatividad necesaria en un proyecto.

By DHANESAN M

Jan 1, 2021

Nice... But u need to make quizzes and assignments for free.. Otherwise itz good....

By Mo H

Sep 13, 2020

It was really refreshing and well-balanced between theory and practice. Thumbs up.

By Armstrong O O

Jun 19, 2020

Amazing tour to the influence of creativity to the human mind, i loved it so much.

By Jayson C

Oct 6, 2021

Video content could have been made more creative and lively to get the 5 star.

By Dawn R

Jul 13, 2020

Great course that has encouraged me to continue developing my own creativity.

By Md. T N

May 6, 2020

This course is amazing. But I think some thing should be updated.