Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,587 ratings
757 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 743 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Howard ( R

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent material. As usual with computer science courses, some of the material could be presented a bit more clearly. But I am really happy to finally understand this material now.

By Marcos E K

Apr 29, 2017

Great intro to a complex topic.

It could be improved by having the programming assignments be:

+ Mandatory

+ More related to actual cryptographic algorithms/libraries (only some are)

By Kris J

Feb 9, 2020

Interesting and learned a lot, but probably need a greater foundation in hex and mod math than I had. I suspect there are prerequisites re in the formal program.

By Tristan B

Nov 17, 2019

Good overall course, it could use an update on some minor points. Theory is a strong part of the course. I hope the Crypto II course will be up one day.

By Ameer T

Oct 29, 2018

Best cryptography course ever!! Detailed and clear explanation, fun, nice quizzes. But it would be better if the pace was a little bit slower.

By Mohammed R U

Jul 30, 2017

Excellent Course to understand the Crypto Construction, Possible Attacks, Semantic Security and pplications of crypto in real world scenarios

By Bruno V

Jul 1, 2018

Great course. Not easy to sustain the rhythm, I prefer "at your own pace" kind of course, where you have time to dig into the subject.

By Shrihari S

May 29, 2018

The contents are presented in a super good way, this is the best way for anyone to learn basic and essential concepts on cryptography.

By Thierry L

May 12, 2016

Very good course with a level accessible without the need to be a mathematical guru. Maybe some videos are a little beat too long.

By Nicholas J

Jul 2, 2017

Above all, the clarity, quality and engaging nature of Professors Boneh's videos made this a great learning experience. Thanks.

By Quentin D

Apr 6, 2017

Very interesting but sometimes too detailed. Courses often needs good knowledge in mathematics althought there are some reviews.

By Zhe Z

Sep 20, 2017

A bit hard to follow some of the math stuff if you don't have a background it in, but pretty informative course overall

By Unai E

Sep 8, 2017

Course is very interesting but, in my opinion, it is a bit theoretical. I would like the course were more practical.

By Simone B

Oct 16, 2016

Fantastic course that gives the basic notions of cryptography. Both practical a theoretical tests are very useful.

By cyril m

Jun 9, 2016

Great course, but a bit disappointed by the fact that I'll have to do it all over again to get a certificate.

By Nitin

Apr 14, 2017

The Course has been more about knowing about and implementing them and has been more helpfull in doing so.

By Shashank V

Jan 21, 2018

Exceptional Course .. Especially he lectures were clearly explained. But the exercises were a bit tough.

By Roland d B

Nov 20, 2016

Very thorough, lot's of math. A bit too academic for my taste, it's not really useful in practice.

By Nathan M

May 14, 2019

Pretty good, though needs more basic understanding. Quite a bit of prereq's for this course!

By Alessandro D C

Apr 28, 2019

(+) Really good training also for beginners.

(-) Sometimes the teacher talks very quickly.

By Deleted A

Apr 3, 2020

given videos is not helping to do the given problems in the quiz (not all, some problems)

By Ratnabh k r

Jun 17, 2018

this course has really helped me to build the basic knowledge in the field of security.

By Adeen A

Jan 8, 2018

Really enjoyed taking this course. Hoping to learn more, Inshaa Allah(God willing).

By Enrique P

May 22, 2017

Excellent course!

I have learned Cryptography, Python and Number Theory

By Antariksha M

Sep 1, 2019

Great , Enjoyed the complete session ,waiting for the next session :)