Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,687 ratings
778 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 765 Reviews for Cryptography I

By abcdalireza

Aug 25, 2019

Before I started this lecture I would not expected it to be that good, but now I feel really good about it and deeply impressed by it's quality. Thank you

By João J

Oct 21, 2017

Thank you very much for this course! It was incredibly helpful. It will allow me to further investigate this topic. I'm looking forward for Cryptography 2

By Simon M

Mar 27, 2019

Great course. It's in depth and requires some effort, especially if working full time, but really great theory based overview of common crypto concepts.

By Pedro R

Mar 19, 2017

Amazing!!! It was long, but totally worth it. I hardly believe that such material is given for free in this platform. Thanks a lot to Dan for the course.

By Divyanshu S

Jan 11, 2020

I started this course just for fun and out of curiosity. By the time the course ended, I was in love with crypto. Very well explained, very good course.

By Ján S

Nov 15, 2018

This course really teaches the theory I was missing while using all the latest crypto tech practically and understanding it conceptually. Thank you Dan!

By Miguel R

Aug 25, 2021

Good material, and great lectures, Dan really manages to make the material understandable and his style is engaging. Loved the article recommendations.

By Herbert K

Nov 28, 2016

The explanations are clear and the topics are relevant, interesting, and well explained. I have a background in computing science and machine learning.

By Ramaswamy I

Sep 21, 2016

This is a fantastic course. It has greatly kindled my interest in cryptography, and I look forward to learning more on the subject from Prof Dan Boneh.

By Aneesh S

Feb 3, 2019

The topics were a bit difficult, but the teaching style made it easy to understand. Next time Please show us the programming section of cryptography.

By Prafull K J

Jul 21, 2020

Exceptional material covered by Prof. Dan Boneh! His lectures are a treasure and I am sure I will keep going back to them to refresh my foundations.

By Ruchit R

Jan 3, 2018

Was fast paced and very well designed course. Enjoyed all the aspects of the course and got to know many things regarding cryptography in practice.

By Chitrang S

Aug 1, 2019

Excellent Course. Requires lot of patience but the rewards are extremely great.

Learned a lot about internals mathematics involved in Cryptography.

By Jing Q

Jun 3, 2017

Great introduction to cryptography. I have learned a lot from it, but still, there is much to study in this field. Surely I would come back again.

By Pierre D

Feb 12, 2017

This course is brillant, with awesome (optional) coding problems to learn who to go from theory to practice! Thanks for these wonderful materials.

By Christian F

Mar 1, 2020

I think this course was an ecelent course. Too short and too many information. High-level teach by amazing Harvard professor. Thanks Dan Boneh.

By Mohamud A J

Oct 8, 2019

Excellent course material with even more excellent Professor. thank you prof. for your generosity. thank you coursera for making this available.

By Algorithm Y

Mar 1, 2017

Thank you very much for anyone that make this course very interactive and fun. Special thank's for Prof. Dan Boneh as Instructor in this course.

By Hkawng D J

Oct 17, 2021

A​ bit hard for a person like me from thrid world at first but when you are into it, it become more clear. A great course. Yes, a great course.

By Bai S

Aug 7, 2016

No matter whether you know what Cryptography is, and if you don't know whether you like it, you'll find the answer after taking this course.

By Simon C

Aug 16, 2017

My background is in mathematics, I found this course had very good explanations as well as a range of optional further reading / exercises.

By Vijai K S

Jun 14, 2016

This time it will be finished. I have such a craze on cryptography and network security. i want to finish the course perfectly this time :)

By Petar P

May 24, 2020

Amazing content, great structure, easy examples even for first-timers, and a handful of extra-reading resources. Recommended for everyone.

By Sangar S

Jun 28, 2020

This course is filled with a great amount of information covered at a fast pace. A must do course if you need to get into Cyber Security.

By Olusola A

Jun 12, 2018

Good pace , reading along the transcribed speeches of the professor.The professor broke down the lesson into easily understandable bits.