Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.6
stars
2,710 ratings
636 reviews

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

AG
Dec 22, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

MB
Mar 10, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 622 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Mali N M

May 6, 2020

My previous course Basic of blockchain help me a lot to crack this course. all assignments are very difficult but provided code will help us to solve the rest of implementation. as i am teaching java since last 7 years it is difficult to find solution of some code.

By Virgile G

Aug 9, 2017

Great course about crypto-currency. With technical detail understanding and non-technical (ethical,...) considerations. If I may, I feel the assignments may be a turn-off for people that don't know how to code (Java) and assignments explainations could be improved.

By Jorge H F

Jan 31, 2017

Well structured, good explanations. Tests require java programming skills, could be a good idea to divide them into smaller pieces and combine them with other type of tests, so they can be distributed every other week instead of having 3 big programming exercises.

By Milan B

Jan 8, 2018

Havent done any programming part as it was too technical for me.Also was lost in same parts. But generally it is a great introduction. The biggets problem i see is that its developing so fast that it would need to do updates of the course almost every year

By Paulwk

Jun 15, 2018

A bit dated now but a good course. There should be an option to turn off the programming assignments requirement; given that in the introduction the course coordinator explains that programming and doing the programming assignments is not required.

By Mikołaj M

Feb 28, 2018

Gives a good basic knowledge of how cryptocurrency works. Assigments were interesting, although in my opinion the first one could have a better description. I liked the grading system. Would be great if there were more of those assignments.

By Vignesh C

Jan 29, 2017

Course is good. Content wasn't updated after its initial run in 2014, so doesn't include recent developments. Could include a section on ethereum. Programming exercises could be structure better and unit tests could be exposed to students.

By Francisco C G

Nov 4, 2018

Overall it is a very detailed course. A bit though sometimes to follow. At least I needed to view more than once many parts of quite some videos. Apart from that, it gave me quite some good knowledge about Bitcoin and Blockchain

By Gil

Apr 6, 2018

Great course overall, my only complaint is that there are a few bugs on the assignment test scripts that makes it difficult to debug your assignments since you don't have access to the test code. Barring that course is 5/5

By Eivind

Jul 11, 2017

Very good course and good material.

The programming exercises are not too difficult, but the code setup given is not very easy to get into, and could use a clearer purpose and direction.

Could do with a credit exam as well.

By Alexey S

Jun 13, 2017

I enjoyed lectures from this course, but assignments were not well discussed in lectures, also the scoring code on coursera server produces some mistakes. All in all, my opinion is that this couse is worth being studied

By SungJae C

Mar 15, 2018

Not as technical as I have thought at the first sight, but still gives pretty deep insight into the field considering the course was taught 3 years ago and the cryptocurrency community has undergone a massive change!

By Oliver S

Sep 18, 2017

I enjoyed the lecture series. As many have stated previously, I do think that the assignments assume a sizeable amount of technological knowledge that is not necessarily cohesive with the lectures.

By Dimitris T

Jun 4, 2017

Learned a lot about Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies. Struggled with the Java exercises; I am not a programmer. Struggled with crafting local test harnesses for the code and resolving Java exceptions.

By Jiayu J

Feb 4, 2018

The coding exercise required a bit of time to fully comprehend. Other than that, it was pretty helpful for a beginner to get into the world of Crypocurrency and the foundation theory of Bitcoin.

By Jack M

Jul 23, 2021

Excellent course covering the fundamentals of crypto currencies. Only improvement I'd suggest is if it could be updated with some of the more recent developments over the past several years.

By Kosol N

Sep 1, 2017

Interesting course. Good points: material is interesting and comprehensive, lecturers are knowledgeable. Not so good points: assignment specifications and test code is poor (or non-existent).

By praful b

Mar 13, 2017

Good overview of crypto currency. The programming assignments are interesting (can help if there is some support on the forum). overall good program for someone wanting to learn blockchain

By Dimitri P

Feb 19, 2017

The theory part is quite good: you get a rather strong in-detail understanding of the technology behind Bitcoin. The Java programming assignments, however, are an organizational disaster.

By Deepa

Feb 14, 2017

There is quite a bit of material within this course. Having the supplementary book and Princeton online material helped substantially especially when debugging the assignments.

By Guillermo C

Feb 2, 2020

I feel this course to be very interesting. However, the programming tasks can be a little bit difficult to understand, thanks to the debate forums that was much easier. Thanks

By Animesh S

Feb 10, 2017

Good course but I found it a little difficult to follow. The prof. speaks very fast. It becomes a little uneasy to follow the slides and I need to pause the video frequently.

By Akshit A

Dec 14, 2017

Would have been much better if more coding problems & assignments were there in Python similar to Udacity.

Current course is more of theory based rather than practical.

By Albert G

May 26, 2017

Great course the amount of info i learnt from this as well as the cryptocurrency talks @thebandwidthbarn makes this worth while, note you need some java dev skills

By Alberto M V

Mar 11, 2018

Assignment code is a little unclear, and could be better documented, providing unit tests to the students could also help improve the quality of the submissions