Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.6
stars
2,873 ratings

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

MB

Mar 10, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

AG

Dec 22, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 668 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Todd B

Feb 27, 2017

Great overview of Bitcoin, solid foundation in Blockchain. This industry is fast moving so its a bit dated with its content -- for example, this was done before Ethereum so it is not mentioned at all. Needs to be updated. Plus -- no certificate dings it one more for me...

By Shivom S

May 25, 2020

A proper forewarning about the heavy programming should be given. This course turned out to be harder than expected. There is no mention of such coding assignments in the instructions.

And there is no certificate provided for the efforts which is kind of disheartening.

By Denise R

Apr 17, 2020

very math based I recommend the Wharton university course if your not very mathy and just want a good amount of information introducing you to crypto so you can decide wether to invest or not. this one guess into way more unnecessary detail in my opinion

By Pietro D

Jan 5, 2018

The course is great!

The teachers very prepared, but there are some things to change like, for example, the assignments (that are difficult and not consistent with the contents of the course) and some contents that, nowadays, are partly obsolete.

By Joseph L

Oct 2, 2017

Interesting introduction to the subject matter. The assignments could use some refinement to make their goal a and the testing a little easier. There were also some errors in the economic analysis presented during the course.

By Cédric T

Dec 18, 2022

Deep dive into bitcoin and cryptocurrencies (more bitcoin than any other). Programming skills are a must, so you need to learn basic Java. Very technical but gives a wider perspective and understanding.

By Angel G

Mar 11, 2018

It's a good course to get a grip on the fundamentals of cryptocurrency, beyond pure technology.

But the content must be updated, and practices are no well designed according to the flow of the course.

By Isaac Y

May 21, 2018

I love the assignments (better than any other classes I knew) but the instructions and also helps weren't clear.

The materials are a bit out-dated. Some of the materials from Week 8 aren't useful.

By Phillipe S S R

Jan 3, 2018

Should have more lesson about alt coins and develop a Blockchain. Also tell more about concurrences of blockchain (tangle, hashgraf and so on).

Should have explicit the need of java programming.

By Ivan G

Jun 20, 2017

1 Very poor preparation of programming assignments

2 Poor preparation of video content (like switching to video from camera just to demonstrate laser pointer)

By Dragos S F

Feb 11, 2018

Good information even if it could be explained in a better manner. The labs are very poorly designed with vague requirements and poor grading logic.

By Eugene T

Sep 8, 2017

It was very hard to figure out what is required to complete assessment tasks.

I did't find much correlation between lectures and practical tasks.

By Alan N

Jul 8, 2019

Great course , very informative and a good general introduction to bitcoin, and blockchain technology Thanks for lecturers highly recommended.

By Telmo J P P

Sep 10, 2017

A good introduction, but could be better. The assignments' code is poorly documented and the assignments themselves are not clear.

By Bryan B

Apr 9, 2018

A little dated (2014) and not enough technical detail, coverage a little too broad. Java homework exercises are great, though

By Dhruva S

Apr 15, 2018

Assignments were vague and too much time had to be spent on unnecessary things like browsing forums.

By Jose M S M

Jul 5, 2017

Good introduction to blockchain and cryptocurrency, simple and to the roots, to start to know.

By Marco S

Jan 7, 2018

I had troubles in understanding assignments. I think they should be more descriptive

By dahshanm

Dec 15, 2022

Too much talking make the student distracted

The course info is old since 8 years

By Stefano E C

Mar 13, 2018

Contents are referred to 2014 status of bitcoin and of the related topics.

By Pawan K G

Jul 4, 2020

Its an amazing course but a certificate could have been motivating

By Mark X

Oct 22, 2017

i would like more practice, i.e., more programming assignment

By Pablo A B

Jul 18, 2017

Needed a Certificate of Accomplishment to be really worthy

By Kin M L

Oct 22, 2017

the homework is not very well structured.

By Serjey G I

Mar 9, 2017

Nice course with troublesome assignments.