Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,229 ratings
223 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the foundations of modern cryptography, with an eye toward practical applications....

Top reviews

EB

Nov 18, 2016

Very interesting course. I would like programming assignments to be mandatory, not optional. Or at least there should be a way to get some information that the assignment is passed on Coursera page.

LY

Nov 3, 2016

Wonderful and well organized course, it is really recommended to take it for those who are interested, which will definitely provide you with really understanding of cryptography!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 220 Reviews for Cryptography

By D B

Oct 21, 2021

good

By 121910306014 S M

Sep 29, 2021

Nice

By Muhammad H

Sep 5, 2021

lol​

By HET P

Sep 3, 2021

nice

By DALLI P R

Aug 27, 2021

GOOD

By POORVI. B

Feb 27, 2021

Good

By PURUSHTAMA P R

Dec 24, 2020

good

By MATTHURTHI P V D R

Dec 12, 2020

good

By KAMMADANAM S V G

Dec 7, 2020

Good

By KOTA V

Dec 6, 2020

Good

By THALLURU S P

Dec 1, 2020

good

By MARURI S T

Nov 29, 2020

good

By 121710308009 B G

Nov 21, 2020

good

By 321710306056 K N N

Oct 29, 2020

Good

By Manal D y

Aug 9, 2020

good

By Patrick M

Apr 5, 2016

This course was enjoyable and challenging. Early lessons cover historical ciphers, along with some fun programming challenges to attack them.

Later lessons dive into modern cryptography. This is more challenging and you will need to study some number theory if you have not done so previously. I ended up buying Prof Katz' book and also Concrete Mathematics to fully get my head around the subject matter. The treatment is not superficial.

This is where I dropped one star from the review - I thought that the course could have done a better job of covering the theory in this space, or at least pointing to sources to study it, or mentioning it as a pre-requisite.

I also thought that the course could have done a better job of describing how all the pieces come together - the discussion is there, but it is light and somewhat assumed you will get it. The only thorough discussion is specifically for SSL / TLS late in the lecture series.

Overall, a good and challenging course. This is not an easy MOOC - so only take it if you are interested in a challenge and don't mind extra study time.

By Danny B

May 2, 2016

I needed an introduction course for cryptography.

finding coursera was amazing, registering and participating in this course was just what I was looking for.

Explanations and examples are clear and understood.

Keeping the pace for 7 weeks was a straggle worth paying !!

Thanks for the effort invested to bring it public, will surly participate in more classes.

By E.J.

Sep 26, 2016

Course provides practical understanding for cryptographic primitives without delving too deeply into the maths. I found the accompanying book (optional) to be of great value in enhancing the depth of material. Would have been helpful to spend a bit more time on SSL/TLS to solidify the knowledge.

By Maarten B

Dec 12, 2016

Pretty nice course, on par with the more popular Coursera course Cryptography I by Dan Boneh - more of an introductory course for applied cryptography while Cryptography I is somewhat more theoretical. Useful introduction to DH and RSA. Purely optional programming assignments - .

By Randy D

Jul 1, 2020

Love the logic teaching part of the course, but the practical... All my life I have struggñe with math, so this course was particularly difficult for me. The good thing is, I'll dive more about cryptography since I barely understand the math part. But overall, is a great course.

By Nelson d V O

Sep 2, 2018

Great course. I learned a lot. It won't go deep enough for you to be able to implement the algorithms yourself, but it will give you a good understanding of how cryptography works. I realize it does not require a great deal of math, but it helps to have a mathematical mindset.

By László H

May 1, 2016

Nice course! The private-key schemes part was especially well structured. I would consider plus one or two weeks to have more time for public-key part too. This way the practical implications of public key cryptography, like the lecture on SSL, could be more detailed as well.

By Jimmy

Oct 26, 2017

I learned a lot in this course. I really appreciated. What I miss in several parts of the course is more examples. There are only a few examples in each lesson and with more examples it would be much easier.

By Elliott K

Jan 14, 2017

Interesting course, the math was certainly complex. I would have liked to know a little more on how the equation itself worked.

Also more hands on work is also nice and paints a more clear picture.

Thanks

By JITENDRA C

Jun 10, 2016

Awesome course those who wants to learn more thing about cryptography should go for it.

I really appreciate work done by Prof. Jonathan Katz.

Thanks Jonathan Katz for sharing your valuable knowledge.