Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
1,292 ratings

About the Course

This course will introduce you to the foundations of modern cryptography, with an eye toward practical applications....

Top reviews

EB

Nov 18, 2016

Very interesting course. I would like programming assignments to be mandatory, not optional. Or at least there should be a way to get some information that the assignment is passed on Coursera page.

LY

Nov 3, 2016

Wonderful and well organized course, it is really recommended to take it for those who are interested, which will definitely provide you with really understanding of cryptography!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 230 Reviews for Cryptography

By лион д T

Jan 9, 2021

lalala

By Jasmine B

Sep 12, 2023

super

By Tomiris I

Oct 19, 2021

good

By Emmanuel B O

Mar 16, 2021

Great

By KONDAPALLI D

Nov 27, 2020

great

By Bakdaulet S

Mar 27, 2023

cool

By 121910304030 D B

Oct 21, 2021

good

By 121910306014 S M

Sep 29, 2021

Nice

By muhammad h

Sep 5, 2021

lol

By HET P

Sep 3, 2021

nice

By DALLI P R

Aug 27, 2021

GOOD

By POORVI. B

Feb 27, 2021

Good

By PURUSHTAMA P R

Dec 24, 2020

good

By MATTHURTHI P V D R

Dec 12, 2020

good

By KAMMADANAM S V G

Dec 7, 2020

Good

By KOTA V

Dec 6, 2020

Good

By THALLURU S P

Dec 1, 2020

good

By MARURI S T

Nov 29, 2020

good

By 121710308009 B G

Nov 21, 2020

good

By 321710306056 K N N

Oct 29, 2020

Good

By Manal D y

Aug 9, 2020

good

By Patrick M

Apr 5, 2016

This course was enjoyable and challenging. Early lessons cover historical ciphers, along with some fun programming challenges to attack them.

Later lessons dive into modern cryptography. This is more challenging and you will need to study some number theory if you have not done so previously. I ended up buying Prof Katz' book and also Concrete Mathematics to fully get my head around the subject matter. The treatment is not superficial.

This is where I dropped one star from the review - I thought that the course could have done a better job of covering the theory in this space, or at least pointing to sources to study it, or mentioning it as a pre-requisite.

I also thought that the course could have done a better job of describing how all the pieces come together - the discussion is there, but it is light and somewhat assumed you will get it. The only thorough discussion is specifically for SSL / TLS late in the lecture series.

Overall, a good and challenging course. This is not an easy MOOC - so only take it if you are interested in a challenge and don't mind extra study time.

By Daniel R

Jul 31, 2022

It is good but I have to do extensive research of what is being thought and I have to study your book like Introduction to Modern Cryptography and attend other Cryptography online courses, only them I am able to understand this course. If more examples and solved problems will be provided then it will be very helpful. Samples programs are very good and able to solve. Thank you.

By Danny B

May 2, 2016

I needed an introduction course for cryptography.

finding coursera was amazing, registering and participating in this course was just what I was looking for.

Explanations and examples are clear and understood.

Keeping the pace for 7 weeks was a straggle worth paying !!

Thanks for the effort invested to bring it public, will surly participate in more classes.

By E.J.

Sep 26, 2016

Course provides practical understanding for cryptographic primitives without delving too deeply into the maths. I found the accompanying book (optional) to be of great value in enhancing the depth of material. Would have been helpful to spend a bit more time on SSL/TLS to solidify the knowledge.