Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
2,017 ratings
519 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches learners how to write a program in the C++ language, including how to set up a development environment for writing and debugging C++ code and how to implement data structures as C++ classes. It is the first course in the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization, and subsequent courses in this specialization will be using C++ as the language for implementing the data structures covered in class....

Top reviews

EQ
Jan 12, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

AR
Jan 31, 2021

Great course, simple and difficult all at the same time. Great introduction to these topics. Every thing that is included is there for a reason as every thing is straight to the point with no filler.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 518 Reviews for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

By Patrick M

Sep 17, 2020

This course is well structured and is paced with a faster teaching style without the unnecessary interruption from other students that should not be there in the first place.

Do not take this course if you never programmed before.

By evan d

Mar 21, 2020

The teaching in this course was excellent. It certainly helped improve my understanding of C++, even though I already utilized it for app development previously. The problems were just right, providing a challenge yet doable.

By Alberto M

Aug 13, 2020

There is a small jump between week 3 and week 4.

It could be worthy that the example of Hanoi tower in week 4 is divided and explained. The part of the c++ building as the logic is very well explained.

Good training to initiate!

By Aviral B

May 25, 2020

This is an exceptionally well-presented course. Since you always have the code at your disposal, you can fiddle around and learn more.

This course is for anyone who has struggled with Pointers and memory allocation in C++

By Godwin E

Oct 5, 2019

Highly recommended course for those new to computer programming, or for experienced programmers getting introduced to C++. Challenging exercises that reflect all course contents taught from course materials. 5 stars!!

By Ian L d A

Aug 4, 2020

Objective, concise and worth it!

I think that learning a little bit of C++ before the course is a good rule of thumb, so that you can focus (almost) entirely on the content itself. You will learn a lot anyway.

By Pramod J

Sep 20, 2020

This course provided one of the best primers on C++ I've ever experienced. I learned more about pointers, references, and memory management from this course than from any previous course or book. Thank you!

By Chris S

Sep 9, 2019

The instructor is clearly passionate about the subject and is able to explain key concepts in a clear and concise manner. I would highly recommend this course for learning the basics of object-oriented C++.

By Nguyen N T A

Jan 26, 2020

Course materials are sufficiently detailed yet understandable, and provide a good introduction to OOP. Help provided in the discussion forums to familiarize students with C++ is also timely and responsive.

By Jonathan M

Mar 26, 2020

Very detailed introduction to C++. Pace is quick but appropriate for someone with prior experience programming. Exercises and quizzes did a good job of reinforcing the concepts presented in the videos.

By Adam R

Jan 31, 2021

Great course, simple and difficult all at the same time. Great introduction to these topics. Every thing that is included is there for a reason as every thing is straight to the point with no filler.

By Joshua C

May 28, 2021

T​he course is really quite good. Sometimes im leaving wanting slightly more depth, but it still does a pretty good job. My favoriate part are the quizes, i think these really test understanding.

By Molderez

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent : in my case, it is the right level to start again with C++. All C++ content is backed up by simple examples that are clearly explained and there is a continuity in their presentation.

By Tian Q

Jan 29, 2021

This course provides a great introduction to OOP. This is perfect for me since I don't know how to start with OOP. The final project also provides a great code base for interested to study.

By Sloppy C

Jan 3, 2021

The instructor did an excellent job on introducing the C++ programming language and OOP concept. The project was fun and inspirational. Hope there are more coding assignments like this!

By Lorenzo B

Dec 29, 2020

Very useful introductory C++ course. I had prior programming knowledge in Python and C, and few months after the end of the course I managed to solve C++ coding tests during interviews.

By Hsuan C

Mar 22, 2021

Great entry-level course for c++. The hints for the coding challenges and project assignments are right to the point. So it's challenging but not too hard to stop you from going.

By Douglas L

Feb 19, 2020

This is one of the best crash courses in OOP you can possibly take. Note it does help move things along easier if you have some fundamental background in programming beforehand.

By Matias A

Mar 27, 2020

Amazing course! I have been working on C++ for a couple of years and yet learned so much.

And prof. Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider is phenomenal, makes everything easy to understand.

By Mahdi E

Aug 29, 2019

There are an infinite number of courses, books, videos, web pages, etc., but , professor Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider of C ++ and David Beazley of Python are best int the world.

.

By Suhas S V

Jul 16, 2020

Top-notch! Great instructor and course structure. A must-take course for people who already have exposure to C and C++. Although, the final project is a bit too complicated.

By ghee l o

Dec 9, 2020

I can understand instructor step by step explanation. I hope he takes his time to craft more advanced C++ topics and I would pay a subscription for it once I find money.

By Shehan K

Oct 31, 2020

The course provides a simplified yet concise insight into the mechanics of a computer program, especially the memory aspects. The assignments were equally challenging.

By Shweta S

May 28, 2020

It was very helpful, Especially week 4 where we were taught Towers of Hanoi problem. Very well organized and Calculatively Executed! Would surely recommend This Course

By Harshvardhan M P

Aug 14, 2020

Courses is nice but they lock my course and i have reset my deadline but nothing happens now I'm trying to restet my deadline something even wrong problem is coming