Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
2,742 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches learners how to write a program in the C++ language, including how to set up a development environment for writing and debugging C++ code and how to implement data structures as C++ classes. It is the first course in the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization, and subsequent courses in this specialization will be using C++ as the language for implementing the data structures covered in class....

Top reviews

EQ

Jan 12, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

AR

Jan 31, 2021

Great course, simple and difficult all at the same time. Great introduction to these topics. Every thing that is included is there for a reason as every thing is straight to the point with no filler.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 671 Reviews for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

By Yuxin W

Oct 19, 2019

Very nice illustration of memory management, passing by reference, by pointer, by values etc. Coming from a Python programming background, the key idea is not hard to grasp and the assignments are not hard to complete, but overall the introduction was great.

By KANG J H

Aug 28, 2021

As from Java background was great to be able to experience what C++ is like and was definitely impressed with how the class had been organized to demonstrate the strong points of C++. Still this class seem to require you have some background in programming.

By Alonso

Nov 9, 2021

Very well put, challenging enough to make you stick to the concepts, little bit of googling sometimes for clarifications. The professor is good at explaining and keeping it concise and short. Recommend it as an intro to anyone who is starting to learn c++.

By Ahmed M

Nov 23, 2020

Lectures were very clear and easy to understand. The professor's teaching style is excellent for walking you through things from the ground up. I do feel as though there should be more hands on exercises, but besides that it's been a great course so far.

By Suhas A B

May 19, 2020

I would initially feel that the weekly challenges were too advanced vs. the course material itself but if you really put in the needed effort and go through the videos/readings with attention to detail you soon realize the course is structured perfectly.

By Syed Q

Mar 23, 2020

I would say excellent content! I already have some experience in programming still had problems in C++. The course address the topics important for the professional development in C++. We need more great and amazing learning experiences. Thankyou again..

By James H

Mar 18, 2023

Fantastic quick way to get up to speed on C++ and object oriented design! Highly recommended for anybody with at least some background in programming already. Be warned, the course can move very quickly so pay attention, none of the material is filler.

By Bharatha R S

May 9, 2021

This course was helpful, I have learnt the basics of Object oriented programming, and also practiced it through assignments and projects which are crucial for learning. Thank you for the course. I wish to complete other courses in same specialization.

By TAN X D K

May 25, 2020

Even for someone with some background in C and Python, I've learnt tons! The Professor/ instructors' explanations were clear and concise. This course is highly recommended to facilitate a solid foundation for a rather complex programming language.

By HOSSEN, M R

May 26, 2020

It's was a great experience that I finished this course. I love this course about everything. this course was well designed. almost every problem was challenging for me I learn so much from here. Thanks professor Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider and Eric!

By Christoph H

Apr 2, 2022

Especially after looking into other, similar coursera and/or online courses, I have to say that the course quality and teaching quality of this course and the other two courses, is by far the best. Thanks, it was a lot of fun & I learned a lot!

By Hoang D D A

Feb 10, 2021

This course is a great start if you want to be familiar with programing in C++, especially C++ classes and basic C++ functions. It is concise but detail, and it give a brief, clear meaning of C++ and C++ classes concepts. Highly recommended!

By Patricia S S

Oct 5, 2019

Good teaching and course structure. I would recommend for people who already have coding experience (not necessarily in C++, I've been doing most of my stuff in C), otherwise it would definitely take more time to go through the assignments.

By Pieter v W

Jan 15, 2020

Excellent course. The lectures are well prepared. I especially appreciated the emphasis on the c++ memory model. My only complaint is the environment setup for being able to do the programming projects. Overall, highly recommended.

By Fielding I

Jan 9, 2021

This was a great course, finally demystifying references and pointers, which I've always had trouble with. The Image Transform project followed logically from the material. Quizzes made sense and didn't have any odd curve balls.

By Insaf B

May 25, 2020

I find this course very complete and elaborate. It's nicely explained. However, I think that the assignment could be a bit more complicated in a way that would allow those concepts that presented in the quiz to be put to practise.

By Patrick M

Sep 17, 2020

This course is well structured and is paced with a faster teaching style without the unnecessary interruption from other students that should not be there in the first place.

Do not take this course if you never programmed before.

By evan d

Mar 21, 2020

The teaching in this course was excellent. It certainly helped improve my understanding of C++, even though I already utilized it for app development previously. The problems were just right, providing a challenge yet doable.

By Alberto M

Aug 13, 2020

There is a small jump between week 3 and week 4.

It could be worthy that the example of Hanoi tower in week 4 is divided and explained. The part of the c++ building as the logic is very well explained.

Good training to initiate!

By Aviral B

May 25, 2020

This is an exceptionally well-presented course. Since you always have the code at your disposal, you can fiddle around and learn more.

This course is for anyone who has struggled with Pointers and memory allocation in C++

By Jeffrey C

Feb 11, 2022

Not for beginners, but great review for those already somewhat familiar with C or C++ and classes, pointers, and the stack/heap. This feels like the first third/fourth of an acutal full course one might take in college.

By Timothy W

Feb 2, 2022

The course is very thorough at building up your basic skills with C++. In my own case, I had an academic background in C++ that I haven't used for 15 years. This course helped me rapidly refresh my knowledge of C++.

By Godwin E

Oct 5, 2019

Highly recommended course for those new to computer programming, or for experienced programmers getting introduced to C++. Challenging exercises that reflect all course contents taught from course materials. 5 stars!!

By Ian L d A

Aug 4, 2020

Objective, concise and worth it!

I think that learning a little bit of C++ before the course is a good rule of thumb, so that you can focus (almost) entirely on the content itself. You will learn a lot anyway.

By Pramod J

Sep 20, 2020

This course provided one of the best primers on C++ I've ever experienced. I learned more about pointers, references, and memory management from this course than from any previous course or book. Thank you!