Chevron Left
Back to Cyber Attack Countermeasures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cyber Attack Countermeasures by New York University

4.8
stars
526 ratings
118 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of cyber defense starting with foundational models such as Bell-LaPadula and information flow frameworks. These underlying policy enforcements mechanisms help introduce basic functional protections, starting with authentication methods. Learners will be introduced to a series of different authentication solutions and protocols, including RSA SecureID and Kerberos, in the context of a canonical schema.   The basics of cryptography are also introduced with attention to conventional block ciphers as well as public key cryptography. Important cryptographic techniques such as cipher block chaining and triple-DES are explained. Modern certification authority-based cryptographic support is also discussed and shown to provide basis for secure e-commerce using Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) schemes....

Top reviews

DE

Aug 25, 2019

Really good content especially in explaining public key cryptography. Not sure why there is peer review for the final (it's a short multiple choice quiz), but it worked out ok since I finished early.

Y

Mar 1, 2020

This course is exactly what I was looking for. Dr. Edward is absolutely phenomenal at explaining every single point with great detail and his unique style of teaching makes him one of a kind!

Filter by:

101 - 120 of 120 Reviews for Cyber Attack Countermeasures

By Алексей И

May 20, 2018

Perfect!

By MARIOS T

Feb 26, 2021

Perfect

By peter

Sep 5, 2019

awesome

By I G P K J

Dec 9, 2020

cool

By Atichat P

Nov 8, 2018

Good

By Kuldeep s

May 26, 2018

osm

By Randall

Feb 8, 2021

Dr. Amoroso is very personable and enthusiastic, and brings a wealth of experience. Some of the material is very historical, useful I think but maybe the balance should shift a little more to the present.

Great detail expected to be understood on public and private keys, on which is which and where. Given that detail that is required, more time should be taught on teaching it simply rather than reading the historical mathematical papers.

It was not helpful to have to grade others. First, it is the blind leading the blind. Second, the grading software did not seem to work well. I could not give more than one point for a particular question, even though it seemed to invite us to do so (one for correct answer, a second for a good explanation).

Finally, for a go-at-your-own-pace course, there seem actually to be deadlines with consequences, like not having your paper marked, if you don't meet deadlines.

By Weston B

Jun 3, 2020

I give it a 4 out of 5 stars. I liked this course more than the previous course and I also decided not to read the optional TCP/IP book since I felt it was detached from the material. As before, the content was good and the presentations were clear and informative. I felt like I made some good connections with this course as it helped flesh out some things I've been working on at work. The lost star comes from my previous compliant on the first course- the content and links do need to be reviewed. There were a few broken links and one of the modules had an incorrect transcript where just a large portion of the transcript was missing. The quizzes were better this time around and I kinda liked the peer review assignment. Will be doing the next step in the course!

By Heinz D

Jul 4, 2021

G​ood course with an enthusiastic lecturer. However, the English transcripts need some rework, at least "Amoroso" and "cryptanalysis" should be spelled correctly. One transcript does not contain what the lecturer is saying. Reading "Non-Secret Encryption" in week 4 does not open. It would be diligent to amend these weaknesses. At the end of the day this course is still a worthy experience.

By Dzaharudin B M

Jun 12, 2020

If you want to clearly understand public key cryptography, this is a good course to take. However I think the course could be improved further if the Diffie-Hellman Key Exchange algorithm was contextualized. At the moment, I am assuming this is another added layer of protection in the public key cryptography protocol.

By Christian P

Apr 10, 2021

Excellent course to delve little by little into this vast universe called "Cybersecurity"! Thanks to the practical examples of Dr Amoroso, it not only brings you closer to technical concepts but also introduces you to the people behind it. Authentic heroes that often go unnoticed. We continue on the route.

By Eliot C

Sep 12, 2021

G​reat info, well-chosen readings, wish there were more practice problems. Assignments and quizzes are good for a Coursera course, but not great.

By Amy S

Jul 18, 2020

Would like to see more current videos (within last 5 years!) though I do appreciate that the information shared is still relevant.

By EKLAVYA B

Jul 19, 2020

Great course , terms are very well explained by Prof.Ed Amoroso especially public key cryptography.

Thank you sir

By Marc C I P

Aug 18, 2021

Quite good for non-especialized learners

By Hari P S A

Jun 1, 2020

Ed Amaraso is always great

By Muhammad A A

Jul 27, 2020

It was good.

By Isabelle B

Mar 7, 2021

The videos are very clear in explaining the module content, but the follow-up reading could be difficult to understand, especially for someone who would be completely new to computer networks. Also, many of the links to papers and videos don't work anymore. Sometimes other classmates would help provide working links in the class discussion forums, but most of the time we just can't find the required reading material.

By Manfred K

Jun 28, 2021

Wish the links were refreshed as some were broken and the peer grading process in the final is not working well.

By Fer C

Jun 23, 2020

just an introduction