Chevron Left
Back to Dairy Production and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dairy Production and Management by The Pennsylvania State University

4.9
stars
977 ratings
313 reviews

About the Course

With the world's first MOOOOO-C, you will gain a broad and comprehensive understanding of all aspects of dairy management such as genetics, nutrition, reproduction, animal health, farm economics, and sustainability of dairy production systems. There's something here for everyone whether you are just looking for the basics or have years of experience in the dairy industry. This is an eight-week course. Each week consists of four to nine video lectures, additional reading materials, and a multiple-choice questions quiz. Estimated study time is between three and five hours per week. Learners have the option to purchase a Course Certificate for 49.00 USD. The certificate can be purchased at any time, but you must verify your identify before taking the course quizzes in order to be eligible. For those who cannot afford the certificate fee, financial aid is available through Coursera. Why is producing milk efficiently and sustainably so important? Milk provides humans with over 16 essential nutrients, such as: Energy, Protein and Essential Amino acids, Vitamin A, Vitamin D, several B vitamins, including B12, Pantothenic and Folic acids, and essential minerals such as Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc, as well as other minerals. Did you know that one glass of milk provides a 5-year old child with 21% of his/her daily protein requirements and 8% of their energy needs? Most milk in the world, about 85%, is produced from cattle. However, water buffaloes, goats, sheep, and camel are also dairy animals. The United States, India, the European Union, Brazil, and New Zealand are among the largest dairy producers in the world. Yet among these dairy-producing countries there are varied methods to generate milk with highly variable productivity and efficiency. Dairy production is vital for the survival of billions of people. Globally, around 150 million small-scale dairy households, equivalent to 750 million people, are engaged in milk production. The number and size of dairy farms varies among countries, but in India alone, there are estimated 78 million dairy farms! In the United States, one of the leading milk-producing countries in the world, total milk production has been steadily increasing in the last decades, reaching over 205 billion pounds (93 billion kilograms) in 2014. This was accompanied by a steady increase in average milk yield per cow, reaching 22,260 lb (over 10,100 kg) per lactation in 2014. How has this efficiency been achieved? What methods are necessary to ensure production of high quality milk? How do we balance milk production efficiency with animal health and environmental protection? This course will provide the student with information to better understand dairy production systems and their role in feeding the world population. In this MOOOOO-C, you will learn about the dairy enterprise from internationally recognized dairy science professors who have delivered highly regarded dairy education programs within the United States and internationally. Course lectures are translated into Portuguese and Chinese; PDF files of these translations can be found under each course week. The Dairy MOOC team thanks Dr. Antonio Branco (Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil) and Ms. Yuanyuan Zhang (Pennsylvania State University) for translating the lecture materials. Course Sponsors This course was supported by the generous contributions of Innovation Center for US Dairy at Silver Level and Pancosma North America, RP Nutrients, Inc. and Arm and Hammer, which provided funding support at a Bronze Level. The Pennsylvania State University has final responsibility for the academic content of this course....

Top reviews

MF
Jul 30, 2021

Overall good but in health sections more diseases should be discussed with their treatment. Feed management should be simplified like how much forage, grain, feed needed for per 100 kg of weight etc.

AC
Nov 14, 2020

The course gave a clear and detailed view of all the compartments of the dairy industry with specific number and studies that give a clear message of the development and the cycle of the industry,

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 312 Reviews for Dairy Production and Management

By Amin M H D

Jun 27, 2020

Nice Course and valuable information with very qualified and experienced persons.

Thank you so much for this valuable knowledge, and all these efforts for preparing this course full with information and knowledge.

By Mahdi E f

Jun 11, 2018

Thank you for all instructors for making all this profound technical information simple and understandable. This dairy course provided me with very useful information on how to manage a successful dairy farm.

By Salim V S

Dec 5, 2020

The most valuable course releted with dairy management , complete and very informative, everybody must learn this before planning to work in dairy farm related industry I feel proud to be part of this course

By Muhammad Y

Sep 26, 2020

It was a great learning for me because the course contents was so nice, up to date & comprehensive. I wish everyone who is the part of dairy production in any way either owner or employee should do it.....

By Navjodh k

Jul 16, 2020

I have enjoyed this course and it was very helpful for gaining knowledge in the field of Dairy Production and Management.

Thanks for providing great opportunity to be part of this knowledgeable platform.

By Juan J M E

Jul 27, 2020

Un curso muy completo que me ayudo a entender muchas situaciones y problemáticas de la producción lechera, ademas de aportar muchos mas conocimientos que puedo comenzar a aplicar en mi vida profesional.

By Misbah A C F

Jul 31, 2021

Overall good but in health sections more diseases should be discussed with their treatment. Feed management should be simplified like how much forage, grain, feed needed for per 100 kg of weight etc.

By Marlon b

Oct 28, 2020

Excelente curso , seria muy bueno lo puedan en un futuro dar en idioma Español. Y puedan incluir razas genuinas que acá en Latinoamérica se hacen cruces entre brahaman y pardo suizo o Gyr y Holstlein

By Antoine C

Nov 15, 2020

The course gave a clear and detailed view of all the compartments of the dairy industry with specific number and studies that give a clear message of the development and the cycle of the industry,

By Thisura d S

Sep 25, 2021

H​ighly practical oriented and you can always download the pdf carrying the relevant teaching material which is so helpful. Very nice course, not easy, not har but just right. Valuable.

By M F K

Nov 14, 2020

It was an amazing experience as i learned alot about dairy production and management under the supervision of great teachers and i will apply my knowledge in my practical life. Thanks

By Dr A A M

Aug 6, 2020

I would like to thank all the professors and mentors for guiding me about different aspects of dairy production and management with applicable examples (wherever required ) in depth.

By Carlos G

Jun 16, 2020

Gracias por tan valiosa informacón proporcionada, nos sera de gran ayuda para complementar con nuestra experiencia, y así compartir con el desarrollo productivo de nuestro país...

By Erwin P R

Oct 7, 2020

Thank you PENNSTATE for the special course it will help me to understand what dairy is.

and to the instructure to the different module the topic you delivered is so informative.

By Mohamed F X

Aug 2, 2020

its a very comprehensive module to educate the new comers in all the aspects for Dairy Framing. I found it very easy to learn, understand and relate to the topics very easily.

By Ibrahim S K

Oct 7, 2019

A very good resource of knowledge, I have learnt many things not about what I do but also about enviromental management which we barely have time or grazing which we do not do

By Tran Q H

Jun 20, 2020

this cours really benefit for my major after i graduate. it provide for me mutible knowledge about how to raise ruminant, how to operate a farm to have maximum profit

By MOHAMED Z

Jun 27, 2020

In fact this is one of most beneficial and organized coarses i have ever studied. I want to thank all the staff and i wish all great achievements for all of you.

By Yldegar B

Mar 25, 2021

Un curso muy interesante, dictado con mucha pedagogía . agradezco mucho esta oportunidad en esta época que no podemos viajar, en verdad fue excelente el curso.

By Gonzalo D P

Mar 7, 2019

Muy completo el curso. En un mismo curso se encuentra una variedad de temas que por lo general se requiere ver varios cursos, esta todo en uno!!!. Excelente.

By Augusto R K

Sep 18, 2018

GREAT COURSE!! INCREDIBLY COMPACT BUT COVERING ALL MAIN ASPECTS OF DAIRY BUSINESS. RECOMENDATIONS, SOLUTIONS AND WARNINGS READY FOR IMPLEMENTATION. THANK YOU

By Elia S G G

Dec 24, 2020

Very complete introduction to how dairy farms work. I was considering a master's degree in animal nutrition and this has convinced me to follow that path.

By Jose F A

Aug 3, 2017

this course give me more knowledge about the dairy industry. I hope you can give us more courses like this but in other topics as beef for example. thanks

By Mensey C

Oct 18, 2020

Above excellent, I have gained tremendous knowledge specially on dairy nutrition and diseases management. Looking for android based dairy applications.

By Luigi C

Jan 12, 2021

interesting.

thanks for all the informations you gave me. I ll make sure everything I learned by this course will be there at the farm where I work...