Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting and Cleaning Data by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
7,776 ratings
1,269 reviews

About the Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

HS
May 2, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
Oct 25, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,228 Reviews for Getting and Cleaning Data

By Waleed A

Jan 31, 2018

Another brilliant course from Johns Hopkins University in the data science specialisation. Data preparation is a step where an analyst may spend considerable time before beginning any analysis task. I found this course useful and practical. It provided

By Daniel M D V

Sep 3, 2019

Excellent! From my point of view, this is the best course so far. The general concepts that are thought here can be applied to any programming language you use for data analysis. The specific R concepts really shows the power R has to manipulate data.

By Kunal P

Dec 15, 2019

This was one of the best class. Recommend more side reading material on data. SWIRL has a reading link but the link is not provided anywhere else on the board. Also, it would be beneficial if the links can be made clickable in lecture slides. Thanks.

By Martin H

Aug 14, 2016

Exellent course, which brings you to the next level of a Data Scientist.

Getting and Cleaning data principles can be used in alot of situations. I found the build up of this and the assignment at the end to be very well tought trough and important.

By Oleksandr K

Apr 14, 2018

Very good course and lectures. However, it would be good to have a book covering all of the material in this course. That would make work on final project much easier. In my opinion, it is impossible to finish final project in just 2 hours.

By Kristin K

Aug 4, 2017

This course solidified any gaps that were left from the R Programming Course and opens the world of data science to everyone in a very practical way. I really enjoyed the presentation of the material and am very happy I took the class.

By 강인배

Jun 8, 2017

This was so hard to me, because I didn't know anything about 'Making tidy dataset'. So, when I took a course project, I was struggling to find 'what should I do'. Comprehending raw data is so hard then you think, newbies! Be careful!

By Jan K

Mar 7, 2017

Covers a wide range of topics without loosing transparency. In my opinion requires more work than the other courses, but is really worth a go. You end up having a firm basis for working with data and learning more about the process.

By Tomer E

Jun 21, 2020

Very nice course.

helped to understand how to find sources of data (I found that extremely important), and strengthened my R skills.

It would be nice though to have the links which were shown in the slides available for the students.

By Miguel C

Dec 20, 2017

This is a very complete course. It covers the basics of what you have to know to adquire data from different sources and filter that data to be used in further steps of data analysis. It offered great notions on Data Mining also.

By Tim S

Sep 17, 2017

I learned a lot. The videos were clear and helpful. The assignments were just the right level, not too easy and not hard but still challenging.

The swirl package for interactive practice/learning is also very helpful. I Love it!

By Dmytro D

Mar 15, 2016

I am happy now with the single file HTML Documentation for the whole course, generated from md-Files in the cloned repo

https://github.com/DataScienceSpecialization/courses/

It is much handier than the standard downloadable PDFs.

By Thomas F

May 4, 2021

Great introduction to getting and cleaning data. Good exercises to practise the tools and concepts learned. The lectures were very focussed and informative. I liked the accompanying interactive tool swirl very much. Thank you!

By Dominic C

Aug 1, 2016

Using R with training through your course seemed almost too easy, your book also greatly helped, thank you for such a well designed course which is so practically based and geared towards commercial programmers like myself.

By Орехов А И

Mar 12, 2020

This course is very interesting and not as difficult as it seems. I learned many new stuff about data analysis in R, as well as how to work in swirl, something I have never encountered before. Otherwise, awesome course! :)

By Vinayak N

Jul 26, 2019

Great content, challenging assignments and quality videos. Loved the coursework and grateful to have learned from such highly experienced professors. Thanks Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for making this happen!

By Abhiram R P

May 17, 2017

Good course design, challenging material. I love the fact that the course doesn't spoon feed everything, we are encouraged to learn more on our own. This course gives you almost everything required to handle data in R.

By Eduardo R R S

Apr 9, 2021

es muy buen curso recomendada al 100% la ruta solo que siento que deberían hacer una introducción, a purr ya que los bucles de este paquete de tidyverse son mas efectivos que algunas de las funciones que enzeñan.

By Angie M

Jul 19, 2020

One of the most useful courses I've taken so far in Coursera from a beginners perspective. The course does need some updating but overall I was able to complete the assignments with the information provided.

By Francisco M M

Oct 20, 2017

Me pareció un excelente curso, muy didáctico y con mucha información adicional para poder estudiar por nuestra cuenta para lograr una mayor profundidad en algunos temas en especial. Lo recomendaría sin duda.

By Nikolai A

Oct 3, 2017

I really enjoyed this class. Cleaning data is not very difficult, but it is a very important aspect of Data Science. This class taught me the importance on making data easily readable on top of the process.

By Herson P C d M

Dec 6, 2016

Excepcional, estes cursos estão abrindo completamente minha mente para novos horizontes, novas possibilidades. Enfim, estou cada dia mais motivado e mais entusiasmado com tudo de novo que tenho aprendido!

By RONAL O R G

Sep 24, 2020

It´s a good course to learn how to sort and get a tidy data, the course project it´s a good challenge but it took time to get the 4 perviews, I think many people have problems with the Git Hub account.

By Nima A

Jun 8, 2020

A very useful course. The audio quality of some lectures (especially those by the main instructor) was not good. This course completes the sister course of R programming and they work together.

By 현 허

Mar 3, 2018

I really really loved this course. Some of courses before were outdated because there are lots of changes in packages or others. However, materials in this course were not changed that much.