Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting and Cleaning Data by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
7,653 ratings
1,240 reviews

About the Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

HS
May 2, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
Oct 25, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,200 Reviews for Getting and Cleaning Data

By 倪育飞

Oct 15, 2017

It gave me an overview of how to getting and cleaning data.The course is best suited for anyone who is a novice in data science

By Massimo M

Aug 9, 2017

Great course, everything is well explained ant the exercises are challenging enough to really understand what you are studying.

By Shelby B

Apr 26, 2017

I am so glad this course was available. Otherwise, I would noy have had an opportunity to build a data set in my everyday work

By Brayan S O P

Apr 19, 2020

It is an excellent course with all the basics and more that one needs to get started with the acquisition and cleaning of data

By Ajinkya D

Nov 27, 2016

Good course material. A very good project at the end of the course that gave an idea about cleaning a real life huge dataset

By KELVIN H

Mar 25, 2018

good course for learning about tidy data. But have to say that the instructions for the coursework is not exactly very clear.

By Igor T

Jan 8, 2017

Really great course which helps to understand basics of data tidying. I've also enjoyed regex explanation, it's really clear!

By Victor A d S P

Dec 12, 2019

Great course, some background needed. If you are taking the Data Science specialization program, then this is a great catch.

By William H

Aug 5, 2019

Thank you for the case study, very valuable to me to see how you downloaded all the data and began your exploratory analysis

By Bill S

May 25, 2017

I greatly enjoyed this course and I really got a lot of hands-on practice that I can apply in a real-world work environment.

By Jim M

Apr 26, 2020

The content is very important when working with Big Data, yet I think JHU is unique in the importance paid to the concepts.

By Sebastian O V

Aug 6, 2018

Great course teaches intermediate and andvanced skills to manipullate and clean data. Begginers should make an extra effort

By James L J J

Dec 26, 2019

The Value of the course is in the course projects. I found that working through them really accelerated the understanding.

By xun y

Jul 10, 2017

Great course, providing very useful information. It might be better to provide few examples for codebook and readme files.

By João A P B

Feb 25, 2017

Amazing course! Even after a few years using R in a daily basis, I still learned quite a bit of new / useful information.

By David R

Sep 3, 2018

Great course covering a wide range of data types likely to be encountered in the field of data science. Well explained.

By Anne M

Jan 10, 2016

Really great class. I found the lectures easy to follow. The quizzes and homework helped me master the course material.

By Andrés H V

Jun 28, 2020

I believe it was a very good course ,challenging and interesting. As a beginner in Data Science and R I learned a lot.

By Cathryn S

Jan 2, 2017

A good course, which helped me understand how to get data off the web and from other sources, and improved my R skills

By Nelson S S

Nov 9, 2020

Excelente Curso.

Muchas gracias por compartir sus conocimientos y el gran aporte que hacen en éstas épocas de pandemia

By FARZAD R

Feb 26, 2017

This course is very interesting, useful and practical

I appreciate for all of efforts of my professors in this course

By Pitchayen S

Feb 14, 2017

Very fundamental things that all data scientist must learn. You will know how useful of data.table and dplyr package.

By Anastasia T

Oct 19, 2016

Interesting, challenging course. Opened lots of questions to the topic and gave a good direction to find the answers.

By Cristóbal A

Apr 2, 2016

Entrega conceptos y herramientas útiles. El material es de buena calidad y es presentado de una forma bastante clara.

By Suryadipta D

Mar 28, 2018

Very simple and introductory course that teaches the concepts really well. Forms a brilliant specialization course.