Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting and Cleaning Data by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
7,840 ratings
1,281 reviews

About the Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

HS
May 2, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
Oct 25, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,243 Reviews for Getting and Cleaning Data

By Xun Y

Jul 10, 2017

Great course, providing very useful information. It might be better to provide few examples for codebook and readme files.

By João A P B

Feb 25, 2017

Amazing course! Even after a few years using R in a daily basis, I still learned quite a bit of new / useful information.

By David R

Sep 3, 2018

Great course covering a wide range of data types likely to be encountered in the field of data science. Well explained.

By Anne M

Jan 10, 2016

Really great class. I found the lectures easy to follow. The quizzes and homework helped me master the course material.

By Andrés H V

Jun 28, 2020

I believe it was a very good course ,challenging and interesting. As a beginner in Data Science and R I learned a lot.

By Cathryn S

Jan 2, 2017

A good course, which helped me understand how to get data off the web and from other sources, and improved my R skills

By Nelson S S

Nov 10, 2020

Excelente Curso.

Muchas gracias por compartir sus conocimientos y el gran aporte que hacen en éstas épocas de pandemia

By FARZAD R

Feb 26, 2017

This course is very interesting, useful and practical

I appreciate for all of efforts of my professors in this course

By Pitchayen S

Feb 14, 2017

Very fundamental things that all data scientist must learn. You will know how useful of data.table and dplyr package.

By Anastasia T

Oct 19, 2016

Interesting, challenging course. Opened lots of questions to the topic and gave a good direction to find the answers.

By Cristóbal A

Apr 2, 2016

Entrega conceptos y herramientas útiles. El material es de buena calidad y es presentado de una forma bastante clara.

By Suryadipta D

Mar 28, 2018

Very simple and introductory course that teaches the concepts really well. Forms a brilliant specialization course.

By Steven C

Mar 15, 2017

Great coverage of useful R libraries for retrieving and tidying up data, and difficult but valuable course project.

By Peter

Mar 22, 2016

Very good class for a beginner. Helps become more comfortable with R programming and aspects of getting data into R

By Vivek G

Nov 8, 2019

Challenging course for working professionals from time perspective but very educative and useful. I learned a lot.

By Vipin J

Nov 20, 2018

A must take course for data science carrer... Very good concept explaination with really good hands on with Swirl.

By Philip S

Jul 9, 2018

Excellent survey of data cleaning methods, good grounding in tidyverse tools, builds nicely on previous 2 courses.

By Matheus L N

Jun 6, 2018

was a hard module for whose isn't a programmer, but was well done structureted to easy learning with hard studying

By ayush j

Apr 18, 2018

Many tricks and tips tools, many good functions. its really way completing my need on R at initial level i needed.

By Ekta R

Jun 27, 2017

I am very much enjoyed the course. However, a lot of dedication is required as a beginner to complete this course.

By Aman G

Jun 15, 2017

Really helped me learn the different sources of acquiring data into R and methods to transform data into tidy data

By Medha B

Sep 22, 2020

Really great course and i feel a necessary one as it connects and covers many points of the previous 2 courses.

By 坂本幹次

Sep 8, 2020

the course provide useful functions and methods and tell us why we should use them in a way easy to understand.

By Francisco M

Jul 12, 2020

A very demanding course. It took me more than a month to end it but It was worth the effort. I learned a lot.

By Thomas G

Jun 6, 2020

Each quiz made me learn something new. The final assignment was just the right amount of challenge for a MOOC.