Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting and Cleaning Data by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
7,815 ratings
1,277 reviews

About the Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

HS
May 2, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
Oct 25, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,239 Reviews for Getting and Cleaning Data

By Buddsalakhum R

Mar 1, 2021

I think this one is easier than the R programming but still, more exercises to practice would be good. Also, the assignment's explanation should be more simple.

By Samantha H

May 30, 2018

It would be better if we had practice problems along the way. This course seemed to have a lot of commands that didn't stick until I put them into practice.

By András H

Mar 4, 2018

This is an important course, but many updates will be needed. There are only a few exercise task, there could be more. The swirl part of the course is good.

By Andrew C

Sep 20, 2016

The best course so far (though that's not saying much). This course would be better as a follow up to an example workflow showing an end to end analysis.

By amir a s

Mar 8, 2020

Not on par with the course sets before it, could have been a bit more explaining as cleaning data is one of the most important parts of data science.

By RAMANANJATO R H

Jul 6, 2020

The content of the course is very interesting and useful. However, I found very challenging the difference between lectures and quizzes/assignements

By Bijan S

Jan 30, 2016

The selection of topics is great. However, the course is too abstract. I think some of the materials deserve to be discussed more comprehensively.

By Paymon H

Apr 14, 2016

Toughest class in the offering. There really could've been 2 classes for cleaning data. I struggled with the lecturer's style (spoke too fast).

By Daniel D

Sep 3, 2019

The project description could have been a lot more descriptive for what we were supposed to do. Otherwise, I had a lot of fun with this section.

By Teodor I

Jan 9, 2018

The non-clickable links in the pdf are a major problem. You need to figure it out. Create a link reference field for each video or something.

By Nishi G

Apr 27, 2017

To get value from the class, I used other on-line materials to understand the topic. Thus, I spent about 20 hours/week on this class.

By Paul M

May 15, 2018

I felt I had to teach myself in this course. I feel I would have had the same learning experience if I had purchased a good R book.

By Richard C

May 10, 2018

A lot of things covered in this course in a short time. Probably should have been 8 weeks with more homework done step by step.

By Siarhei K

Mar 16, 2021

great materials but unrelated to assignments. great real life experience "here is link. make it nice. deadline yesterday"

By Diana L G

May 18, 2020

Sometimes I felt the were not evaluating my learning or ability to do things but my ability to read instructor's mind.

By Hassan D

Apr 17, 2020

it gives us good information, but the information sometimes are incomplete or need to be updated( created in 2014!)

By Archana R

Aug 31, 2016

good course. but some concepts are hard to understand for newbies. so felt it was a bit advanced in parts.

By Sudarshan C

Mar 1, 2016

The materiel covered in the course was great, but more assignments instead of quizzes should be added.

By John G

Feb 23, 2017

Materials (video and written) only partially prepare the student for the quizzes and course projects.

By Lam C M

Mar 19, 2018

Not as clear and straightforward as R Programming. But definitely a worthwhile course to look at.

By Teena G

Feb 9, 2018

While the available content is good, I expected this course to take me to a more detailed level.

By Felix R

Jan 31, 2019

Ups and Downs.

Some presented functions are deprecated according to official documentation...

By Mohammadreza A

Dec 20, 2020

Course project was really vague and it took me 3 days to understand what is really wanted

By Brandon W

Aug 11, 2020

The lessons are good, but they do not prepare you for the tests or end-of-course project.

By Nathan H

Sep 17, 2018

The assignments required A LOT of help outside the information provided in the lectures.